We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Hilton Garden - Expect more from Garden Inn.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North
Ranked #26 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Ok Hilton Garden - Expect more from Garden Inn.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

I am a diamond Hilton Honors member. Stayed here on Nov 3 thru 5th. Check in for me was a challenge. I arrived a little early at 1:30pm and inquired about check in and was told my room wasn't ready. I told the front desk that would wait in the restaurant part of the lobby and work using their wifi. While waiting, the front desk staff came over to another traveler who was also waiting bringing along his key and registration. Then, I watched 5 or 6 people walk in and check in without a delay. I waited for more than an hour and then inquired and was told my room was ready. Why no one came over to tell me, not sure. The breakfast is a free-forall, very crowded, dirty tables, no clean silverware out on the tables. The place appeared to be overwhelmed. The room service was excellent. The neighborhood was not nice and was warned not to walk after dark. The AC was pretty loud, but worked. The room's cleanliness was OK, the room wasn't vacumed while I was there. Very close to the airport and the staff for the most part were good, with the exception of the confusion at check in.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daskoterzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
We sincerely appreciate you posting your comments after your recent stay with us. Thank you very much for your loyalty to Hilton. Please accept my apologies for the experience you had at check in, you should have been given your room key as soon as it was ready. Your comments have been shared with the entire staff, and the specifics have been addressed. We hope that you will give us another chance to put our best foot forward and provide you with a comfortable and memorable stay.
Please feel free to contact our General Manager, Mike Leaverton directly and he will personally take care of your resevation.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    305
    122
    40
    22
See reviews for
164
241
101
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homer, Alaska, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel for two weeks while attending a class in Phoenix. The room was very comfortable. The breakfast was great and the weekend bartender Janessa was very nice and would go out of her way to make things enjoyable for someone far from home. I enjoy a couple drinks in the evening to break up the grind of being on the road. I avoided the bar during my stay during the week because the weeknight bartender seemed to be only interested in a tip and didn't have the customer service skills like the weekend bartender Janessa. This is a great place to stay just eat out during the week.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Thank you very much for posting your comments after your recent 2 week visit with us. We are pleased that you found the room to be comfortable, that you enjoyed your breakfast, and that you recieved friendly, professional service from Janessa in the lounge.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the less than stellar service you received from John, our weekday bartender. Your comments were shared with him as well as the Food and Beverage Manager, I hope that should you choose to stay with us again, you will experience the excellent customer service that we pride ourselves on.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Nice hotel, however the rate which our travel department got compared to the rest of a 2 week itinary was not good value for money in my opinion. Coupled with the noisy room airconditioning (mentioned elsewhere) I scored this hotel down.

Noticing a trend that Hilton Garden Inns have noisy air conditioning units in the bedrooms, certainly starting to influence my hotel selection when travelling.

Parking was easy (and free), check-in was pleasant, loyalty card guests get a couple of bottles of water thrown in also.

My room was on the 7th floor, directly off the elevators, I'd normally head straight back down and ask to change room but it was getting late, I'd had a long trip and just wanted to get some rest before an 18 journey the next day. Pleased to say that I never heard any noise from the corridor (maybe in part due to the room air conditioning:-) )

Room itself was very good, clean with everything I needed. Internet worked fine (adequate speed) and there was a good selection of decent TV channels.

I did order room service, thought the selection was a bit thin & a little expensive, however the food delivered was very good.

Alarm call next morning was on-time.

Breakfast was a really good experience, totally unexpected. Selection of food was excellent and the cooked to order food was very good. Special mention also to all the breakfast room staff, chef was jovial & the waiting staff were very attentive (not too much) and worked very hard to clear & clean tables etc. Plenty of smiles. The lady who seemed to be in charge of the area was very friendly also, offering to top up coffee & go and get additional items etc. for guests. Only slight concern for the hotel is that I could quite easily not paid, but was happy to make sure I did (think it was $12.99).

No issues with check-out, fuss-free.

Room Tip: Make sure you have breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertNags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us.
We are pleased that you found the room to be clean and comfortable, and that you were able to start your day off right with a delicious breakfast served by a friendly and professional staff.

I am truly sorry that the A/C was noisy, and that it did disturb your otherwise restful sleep.
As this is an issue we are aware of with a few of the units, our maintenance staff works diligently to rectify the situation. I hope that should your travels bring you back to the Phoenix area, you will stay with us again, please feel free to contact Mike Leaverton, our General Manager, and he will personally take care of your reservation.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

New Hilton hotel is clean and convenient. For early morning phx flits this is the place to stay. Great for business travelers" free wifi, business center and gym. Inouse restaurant is good for breakfast. Only a short shuttle ride to Mill Ave. near ASU

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlnlots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
We appreciate you posting your comments after your recent stay at our hotel. We were pleased to read that our airport location suited your needs, and that you found the accommodations to be clean and comfortable.

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

nice clean hotel except 2 problems; aircon very loud (compared to others in area that I could not sleep) and there's no room service.

Room Tip: after complaining, they said the higher the floor the louder the aircon, I did not change room becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank explore2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Pro's
Very nice staff, except dining room staff; allowed early check-in; would call for transportation; held baggage after check-out until ready to depart for airport; internet reception was good, room service/dinner was very good, bed was comfortable.

Con's
1. Bad neighborhood (staff advised not to walk after dark)
2. No bench/seats out front to wait for taxi's - transportation
3. Not convenient to downtown convention center as stated when I called - have to take a taxi or light rail. Light rail quite far from hotel, even though staff stated it wasn't far after I arrived. Nothing located closeby - within safe walking distance for meals, shopping, etc.
4. Restaurant only open for breakfast and dinner. Bad part of town and no place close/safe to walk to eat.
5. King rooms do not have a bath tub.
6. Hot water not hot, barely warm.
7. Maid service, even with tip was less than desirable. Coffee cups/single drinking glass in room never washed/exchanged for clean. One cup had a distinctive chip in it so it was easy to tell they were not changing them out. Didn't clean coffee pot either.
8. Only use VIP taxi service. Long wait for taxi 35-40 minutes and fees were much higher than the other companies I contacted on my own for transportation to same destinations. Must have a contract or get a commission from the company.
9. Breakfast dining staff acted inconvenienced when arrived for breakfast 10 minutes before closing, tried to discourage usage. (staff were boxing up food for what I believe was for personal use as they were putting it in disposable containers) Staff made comments such as "do you have a coupon" when I answered no they attempted to discourage me again by saying the breakfast was $11.95 and they were in the process of putting it away. Toaster had been shut off, etc. Again, it was 10 minutes before the scheduled closing.
10. Very small pool, hard to call it a pool. Just enough of one to say they had one.
11. Very small work-out area. Again, just enough equip. to say they had one.


Would have given it a 1, but the staff were nice. Almost felt sorry for them having to work in such a hotel because they were nice people. I'm not sure how they received the higher ratings unless it was just based solely on the staff being nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alanndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments after your recent stay with us. Although we are an airport hotel, we are conveniently located only one block north of a Light Rail stop which does provide easy access to restaurants and shopping in Tempe and downtown Phoenix. Gateway Community College, which is undergoing a large expansion project, is located directly across the street.
Please accept my apologies for the substandard housekeeping service that you received during your stay. Our head housekeeper has read your comments and addressed the issues with her staff. In addition, our kitchen manager has discussed the hours of operation with his staff, and they understand that a delicious, complete breakfast will be served to each guest that arrives during the hours of operation.

We would love the opportunity to have you as a guest in the future, please feel free to contact Mike Leaverton, our General Manager, and he will take care of your reservation personally.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

I stayed here the evening before flying out of sky harbor. The staff is beyond professional, the bar and restaurant are awesome, and the pool and spa were lovely. Great for the traveler and also the tourist looking to explore the Valley via light rail. There are a lot of airport properties. Go with this one, though, and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernAZTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments after your recent stay with us. We were pleased to read that you felt our airport location was ideal, and that you found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and the staff very professional.

We hope to be your hotel of choice in the Phoenix airport area.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
South Mountain
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport
Camelback East
Aloft Phoenix-Airport
Aloft Phoenix-Airport
#35 of 174 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Phoenix Airport
#15 of 174 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Camelback East
Hampton Inn Phoenix-Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North
Address: 3838 E van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85008-6918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#34 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#43 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel - free shuttle, free internet,free business and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing