We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix
Ranked #65 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Tucson
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super Bargain”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I only needed a room for the night since I was seeing a show at the Crescent Ballroom. Read the positive reviews on this place and they were spot on. Very clean. And only 2 blocks away from my destination. You cannot beat the price of this place if you are visiting downtown Phoenix and will only be in your room to sleep and shower.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firewx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    190
    38
    15
    17
See reviews for
73
157
71
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

When we got tickets to a Diamondback baseball game, we selected the Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix because it is affordable, comfortable, clean, and convenient. It is within walking distance of Chase Stadium and our favorite dinner restaurant--The District. We also walked to Corner Bakery Cafe for breakfast one morning and drove to Matt's Big Breakfast another morning. We felt safe at this location.

Room Tip: We chose the second floor. There is no elevator, but we like to take the stairs for a cardio workout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLJewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I found the budget lodge online and thought there had to be a catch, the price was just too good. I decided to book anyway and save a few dollars during my couple of days in Phoenix, I have stayed in budget motels before and understand that "you get what you pay for" so I had no expectations.

The budget lodge, however, far exceeded all expectations. It was spotless clean, everything worked, the air conditioning was good, there was a microwave and even a fridge (something I have noticed to be missing from much higher priced hotels throughout the U.S.A), the bed was comfortable and the wifi worked.

The owners will go out of their way to provide an excellent service, my flight from Anchorage was delayed and overbooked, so I arrived on a red-eye to find that they had been waiting up all night for me to arrive. If you are a non-smoker you will also be re-assured to know that the owners have taken measures to ensure the environment remains smoke-free, I was required to fill in and sign a document acknowledging that a hefty fine will be imposed for smoking in the room.

The lodge is located just a few blocks from the main light rail station and 10-15 minutes walk to everything downtown Phoenix.

Yes, the furnishings are basic and the view out the window is a parking lot (keep in mind the price you are paying for the room), but unlike many other similarly priced motels this one is clean, everything works, the owners are good people and it is in a central location.

I am now on the other side of the country staying in a supposedly more "up-market" hotel and paying triple the price for not even half the quality and level of service that the budget lodge provided.

Overall the budget lodge is one of the best value for money places I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoowhami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yuma
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This place was Clean,quiet, and 3 minutes from the event I went to. In the near future I will be staying at this hotel again and I know that I will get the same service I received the first time. I recommend to book it online then to just show up and get your room. Another thing is that its in the middle of a lot of businesses. That means you don't have to drive very far to get food or anything else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bernardino, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stopped in Phoenix for a 3 day stay and selected the Budget Lodge. It was an excellent choice. Mr Patel was very pleasant and helpful and the hotel was in a great location for getting to downtown. The room was very good and the hotel was very quiet. I will stay there any time I visit Phoenix.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 476douglasb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I arrived for a 2 night prebooked stay. Our check in went great and the staff was very friendly. We got to our room and we were pleasantly surprised at the level of cleanliness! It was spotless! We had a fridge, a microwave and a balcony! The balcony is over an alley but what can you expect for $50 a night? The price and the location can't be beat! We're walking distance to everything in downtown Phoenix. I recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennLynn1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayern, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

On a Road Trip trough the Sout-West USA we stay at the Budget Lodge Downton Phoenix. A warm Welcome from Mr. Patel and everything ist perfect. A nice clean "cold" Room after 6 hours at the Highway. A oasis of tranquility. Coffee, Juice, Muffins during Breakfast Time in the Lobby. Excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juergen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Residence Inn by Marriott Phoenix Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix

Property: Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix
Address: 402 W van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85003-1635 (Formerly Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
#15 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#29 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#51 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Description (provided by the hotel) Welcome to Rodeway inn Downtown Phoenix. Everything we do at our newly renovated hotel is driven by our desire to provide exceptional guest service and a clean comfortable environment. We offer a free daily continental breakfast. Appreciate the convenience of our on-site guest laundry facility and our 24-hour front desk and lobby. Relax and unwind in the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, 40 inch LCD flat panel cable TV with HBO and ESPN, hairdryer, table with chairs, desk with lamp, iron, ironing board, free local calls, and wake-up service. Our hotel's centralized location makes it easy to jump into the excitement, fun, and entertainment of Downtown Phoenix while also experiencing its history and culture. Rodeway inn Downtown Phoenix is close to Arizona Diamondbacks Chase Field,Talking Stick Arena, Phoenix Convention Center, CityScape, and Arizona State University. Comerica T heatre, Orpheum Theatre,St.joseph Hospital,Phoenix childrens hospital and Arizona State Fairgrounds are also nearby. Spend some quality family time at the Phoenix Museum of History, Children's Museum of Phoenix, and Arizona Science Center. Play a round of golf at Encanto Golf Course and Phoenix Country Club. Enjoy a walk in the fresh air at the Japanese Friendship Garden, Desert Botanical Garden, Camelback Mountain, and Phoenix South Mountain Park. Seamus McCaffrey Irish Pub, Cibo Restaurant and Subway are all within half a mile of our hotel. At Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Budget Hotel Downtown Phoenix
Budget Motel Downtown Phoenix
Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing