We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hike”
Review of Piestewa Peak

Piestewa Peak
Ranked #9 of 228 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“A Great Hike”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The second highest peak in the valley, the summit trail afford a great workout and outstanding views, especially to the south and west.

It is not as famous a hike as Camelback but much more accessible because of access to parking

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DAW038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    181
    31
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Good hike; so-so instructions”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The brochure we got from the hotel published by the city of Phoenix listed the Perl Charles Trail (1A) as 4.8 miles. Two GPS's and only a couple of short wrong turns later, we had hiked a full nine miles over five miles. The instructions were vague and the trail not as well marked as all the others we did in the Phoenix/Scottsdale area. That said, it was a good workout, and we were lucky to have good weather.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kobenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dusk Hike”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Picked the perfect, clear, calm night to watch the sunset. Came back with awesome pics!!
The trail is quite rocky so wear good shoes! Was about a 40 minute hike or so.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank pgenevieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a work out!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Be prepared for some stairs! This peak has a wonderful view of the valley and it's great cardio all the way up to the top!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent workout, excellent views; but be careful”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

When we lived in Phoenix years ago, we hiked up the peak on a pretty regular basis for exercise. While on vacation, we brought our teenage daughter to see if we still had it to make it to the top. After all these years (16), we made it! But it was much harder on the knees and ankles this time! If you have issues with your joints, or with breathing, this may not be the trail for you. The path is uneven and rocky; it is rather steep in a lot of areas. But the views from various points along the way, and especially from the top is spectacular! Go in the morning before the heat of the day, and bring enough water.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisLglegl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piestewa Peak also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Piestewa Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing