We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Canyon was Fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westwind Air Service

Westwind Air Service
Book In Advance
More Info
US$237.99*
and up
Sunset and City Lights Aerial Tour of Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Westwind scenic air and air/ground tours depart from Phoenix/Scottsdale, the Grand Canyon and Page, Arizona. See the best of Arizona in a Day! Every passenger has a window seat every time on all of our aircraft. Come Fly With Us!
Seattle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Grand Canyon was Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

This was a great excursion with the teenagers. The flight to Grand Canyon from north Phoenix was super fun. The helicopter ride to the bottom of the canyon was pretty short but still fun for a family who had not ever been on one. Overall the trip was popular in our household an we were back in phoenix by 3pm in the pool. Great service and much appreciated.

Helpful?
Thank JOEG47Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    6
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The excellent service began when we were picked up at our hotel. Originally, our flight was cancelled due to high winds, so we rescheduled for a morning flight on another day. (FYI: Apparently, the morning is less windy.) Our flight was smooth, and the scenery was amazing. Our pilots were Rose and Bill. We took the three-hour flight over the valley, Sedona, and of course, the Grand Canyon. Everyone loved it, incl. the kids. I highly recommend Westwind!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jlctrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grand Canyon Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Loved every minute of it. Flight and narration was great. This is the way to see the Grand Canyon. We were picked up and dropped off at our resort in Phoenix. The people were all very nice.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank karen19622014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
459 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“West Rim Canyon - fun in a day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We opted for this tour as a last minute replacement for a white water trip that was cancelled. We chose the West Rim because it would be warmer than the South Rim in March. This was the best way to see the some of the Grand Canyon in one day from Phoenix! The Cessna took us up to the rim area in just over an hour and the approach to the Grand Canyon is truly spectacular. After landing we did the helicopter ride to the floor of the canyon. This was by far what we enjoyed the most. The boat ride is quite short but dipping toes in the Colorado and looking up the canyon walls makes this enjoyable. The Skywalk is the most commercial part of the West Rim and we felt photographed as if part of a wedding group but you could easily say no thanks after a few photos or opt out all together (no personal cameras allowed). The photo price is steep ($60 per photo or $80 for USB), however; I will treasure the excellent photo I purchased of my son and I. Guano Point is the last stop for a lunch that we thought was decent and the scenery is beautiful. To do the Grand Canyon justice you need more than a day but if you only have the day from Phoenix - this is the way to go. The staff of Westwind was first rate. We loved traveling in a small group. Lastly if you can go off season (before the end of April) you find great weather at the West Rim and no crowds!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“grand canyon trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

flew from deer valley airport up past sedona and out over the arizona plateau and on the grand canyon. the views from the plane were first class . the red rock canyons were unbelievable. w3hat can you say about the grand canyon. until you stand at the railing and look in you havent experienced the canyon. thisd trip is highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ronald b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Westwind Air Service also viewed

 

Been to Westwind Air Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing