We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Phoenix Downtown
Ranked #5 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
usa/Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Beautiful hotel. The decor was clean but interesting and the rooms were spacious. The pictures you see on their website are 100% accurate. It was on the pricey side but we were only staying for one night...the splurge was worth it.
The only complaint, which really isn't a complaint, is that they advised the arena to be within walking distance. Maybe during the day in sneakers but not at night in heels. Taxi was only $6 and valet called them for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nik128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    166
    36
    13
    13
See reviews for
109
172
40
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

i love westin. we are starwood people. this one is probably one of the best though. so spacious with really high ceilings. small pool on the roof. restaurant looks empty. but we were there on an off-season. staff very nice. gym decent.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbee1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Great stay. I was greeted at the front desk by friendly and courteous staff and immediately welcomed to the hotel. The front desk manager was very pleasant and because of my Gold status I was upgraded to a beautiful suite overlooking the city. The rate was very reasonable and the accommodations fantastic. If you're staying downtown, this is the hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: If you can get upgraded or can afford it, the suites are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

They have to be kidding. They do not know what service is in their bar area has to be a joke? Terrible service after 15
minutes got a manager no one interested least of all bartender I guess tips don't matter!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davedorsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdellergo, Director of Operations at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Davedorsey,

I am deeply apologetic that this is the experience you had with us. Our Province leadership team is truly passionate about delivering excellent experiences to all of our guests. If you feel you received anything less, I would love the opportunity to speak with you further. Please e-mail me at brian.dellergo@westin.com or via phone at 602.429.3510 so that we may discuss your experience in more detail.

Once again, I am very sorry and I hope to speak with you soon.

Respectfully,

BRIAN R. DELL'ERGO
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pole
Level Contributor
249 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

I am so glad I got to stay here before it got too popular and expensive! Granted if you are coming to Phoenix for a getaway or vacation, it would be hard to sell a downtown location. It was the first time I got out of a car and explored downtown in 20 years. My initial reaction was this is a very different place from a generation ago, and at least Phoenix is trying to develop smart urban planning and renewal. It has a light rail service which is excellent, and major campus projects with both ASU and the Univ. of AZ. The hotel itself is a modern mixed use building with a parking garage, office building and hotel. The hotel rooms are "the bomb"! I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED them! Huge ceilings and floor to ceiling windows. The service is also nearly flawless with some pretty aggressive hospitality. I ate at the restaurant and it was above average. My only complaint would be the small pool, which would have been appropriate if the hotel were in Montreal or Boston. I don't come to Phoenix often, but this place would make me want to return!

Room Tip: ask for an odd numbered room, they have better views to the north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viking94708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

I generally like Westins for business travel, but was very disappointed with the service at their Downtown Phoenix hotel. The hotel itself was very nice, with updated decor. Other than the pool, which was much smaller than the pictures suggest, both the room and common space were lovely. And the folks that work there were friendly and eager to help; they just didn't get anything right (despite the fact that the hotel was mostly empty). A couple of examples -- my ($36) eggs did not arrive in the morning in the time slot I had chosen. After calling down to room service, I finally got my breakfast with only 5 minutes to eat before I left for my court argument that morning. I had a similar problem the next day: two hours before I needed a cab to get to the airport, a very friendly employee at the reception desk assured me he would arrange for a cab. Unfortunately, he never relayed the message, and it took the valet guys twenty minutes to find me a cab, causing me to almost miss my flight. My experience at the restaurant was much the same -- well-intentioned staff, but mediocre results.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetsyLex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdellergo, Director of Operations at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
BetsyLex,

I appreciate you taking a moment to tell us about your experience. I am saddened to read your response as typically, we pride ourselves as a smaller hotel that is able to deliver nimble, efficient, one-on-one service to all of our valued guests. We did not meet that expectation for you, and for that I sincerely apologize.

I have shared your feedback with our leadership team and we will grow from your experience. If we may have the opportunity to re-earn your faith in us, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at brian.dellergo@westin.com and I would take pleasure in ensuring that we exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

BRIAN R. DELL'ERGO
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Westin Phoenix Downtown and had a fabulous stay. They staff were very helpful, gave me a nice upgraded suite for the week, and were always smiling whenever I passed the front desk.

The room itself was large and had nice windows (with black out curtains) and of course, has those heavenly beds - what a treat.

I had meetings off site all week, so parking on the street at night was no problem (pick your car up by 8 AM).

I would have no hesitation in going back to this hotel if in Phoenix. Perhaps they can move the hotel to my next destination??

Room Tip: Great business hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelTraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#18 of 175 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#6 of 175 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#27 of 175 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Phoenix Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Phoenix Downtown

Property: Westin Phoenix Downtown
Address: 333 N Central Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Phoenix Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown hotel is conveniently located near Phoenix's Convention Center. Onsite, we offer comfortable hotel rooms and large event space perfect for weddings, conferences, and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Phoenix Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Westin Phoenix Downtown Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing