We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly Sleep in the Desert”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westin Phoenix Downtown
Ranked #5 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Miami
Level Contributor
324 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Heavenly Sleep in the Desert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

My sister and I stayed here for a convention she was attending. We arrived near check-in time (3 pm) and the room wasn't ready, so we went to the bar and had a drink. We were then told our room was ready, however, when we went up to it, the room hadn't been cleaned yet. We trekked back down, went to the front desk and told the female staff member the situation. She immediately apologized, gave us another room and credited us 20,000 Starwood points and a free late check-out, which was much appreciated. She did this without having to call in a manager for the matter. The room, 1316, was a handicap room, with 2 queen beds and accomodations for handicap guests. It had a fridge, safe, coffee maker (with Starbucks coffee). The hangers in the closet were hung low, for handicapped guests. The hotel is located in a convenient spot, and is within walking distance of the Convention Center. The workout room is nice, very spacious and overlooking downtown Phoenix and the pool, which is located on the second floor, up from the bar, was very nice as well, although it was too chilly to go swimming. My nights sleeping the Heavenly Beds were heavenly- nice, quiet and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesseca m, Director of Operations at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for sharing the details of your stay. I am sorry your arrival to the room was not up to standard, but I am pleased to know the team assisted you. The Heavenly Bed makes for a wonderful night's rest! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    166
    36
    13
    13
See reviews for
109
172
40
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Pros:
Easy 3-blocks to convention center or the Arizona Center building
Large rooms with nice big comfy beds
Quiet
Across from the light rail station (about 20 min ride to airport for $2!)
Friendly helpful staff
Decent on-site restaurant
Green rewards (see below)

Cons
Did not notice any convenience stores or coffee shops in close walking range
Small bar and a bit of a snoozer after dinner
Alarm clock was confusing and therefore useless - I unplugged it


Here's an idea for Westin - and all hotels- how about having housekeeping turn off the previous guest's alarm setting before they arrive so the next guest doesn't have to be woken up at an odd hour trying to figure out an alarm they've never used... Really no hotel does this that I know if but maybe Westin can start...

On the big plus side - one thing I thought was great is they have a green rewards program which provides you 500 daily starwood points in exchange for not having housekeeping. Great idea. I've always thought of housekeeping as intrusive and overkill for short stays.. Plus, much better on the environment. Bravo to Westin for this.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevator and try to get a room not facing the train
See more room tips
Green Features: Awesome! Best if housekeeping only refills your free water and toiletries and then leaves you alone anyway...
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesseca m, Director of Operations at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate the pros and cons, and will work with the housekeeping to team to ensure they are adjusting the alarm clocks accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Will be my only place to stay whenever I'm in Phoenix from now on. Valet parking is $28 per day but that doesn't really matter if you're staying here. The perfect location in the city for everything you need to do around town.

Room Tip: Get a corner room on a top floor
See more room tips
Green Features: 5 star quality on all levels the staff was very professional
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exaktoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesseca m, Director of Operations at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled you have made us your downtown hotel of choice. For future visits, we often have parking packages available on-line that may suit you. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenham, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived late into Phoenix so we booked a room at the Westin. Quick and easy drive from the airport. Beautiful rooms. Nice and quiet on our floor. Really comfy beds. Everyone was super friendly. If you are coming in to town for a NFL or NBA game, this us a perfect location. You can see both of these stadiums from our rooms.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MollyGracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesseca m, Director of Operations at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for noting we are the perfect downtown location. We enjoy being close to both sporting venues and it is an easy walk or light rail ride away. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
173 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

If you are looking for a modern hotel with excellent very large rooms, book the Westin Downtown Phoenix. The hotel had great comfortable rooms, with surprisingly high ceilings (which made the rooms feel even larger). The service was excellent and there are lots of restaurant venues within a short walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonR_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesseca m, Director of Operations at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for highlighting different aspects of the hotel. We are thankful you joined us and look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Staff was courteous and helpful. The room was big, clean, bright and had nice amenities, big windows, nice views. Hotel was quiet. Elevators were fast. Had breakfast there once, typical hotel fare. Right on the light rail so easy travel around town and to the airport. I would recommend to others and stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kk4cornersMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesseca m, Director of Operations at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for noting many of the niceties the Westin Phoenix Downtown has to offer. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

My finance and I stay here every year for a work function of hers and always have a great time, excellent service, etc. When it was time to pop the question, I chose the Westin for the place to stay after the engagement party. I did not request anything special and we ended up getting a HUGE corner room, with great views and awesome amenities. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great place to stay! On a side note, the heavenly beds are HEAVENLY! would love to have one of those at my house. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttummond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesseca m, Director of Operations at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Wow, we are thrilled to have shared such special celebrations with you! We hope you'll celebrate future anniversaries with us! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#18 of 175 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#6 of 175 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#27 of 175 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Phoenix Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Phoenix Downtown

Property: Westin Phoenix Downtown
Address: 333 N Central Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Phoenix Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown hotel is conveniently located near Phoenix's Convention Center. Onsite, we offer comfortable hotel rooms and large event space perfect for weddings, conferences, and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Phoenix Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Westin Phoenix Downtown Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing