We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Phoenix Downtown
Ranked #9 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Westin is a perfect new Hotel. With nice rooms and a beautiful panorama view if you receive on of the high floor rooms. The rooms are very clean and are everything but small. The only thing negative I can tell about this Hotel is that the WIFI is not free. Besides this everything is just perfect. Just a great Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marantz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesseca m, Director of Operations at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We agree the views out the floor to ceiling windows is magnificent! Next time you are in town, let me know. I would be pleased to offer you WIFI complimentary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 839 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Much smaller than I expected. Went to a business conference and they offered good pricing to stay here. I had called in questions before I arrived and received some wrong info, so was pleasantly surprised at how good it was once I arrived. Pleasant staff and clean comfortable room. The day I arrived was hot and would have liked access to a store to purchase snacks and a few things, but there was no real access and the one they had, you had to call and it had very little.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pwebb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesseca m, Director of Operations at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for the feedback. I am sorry you received incorrect information, but I am pleased your arrival was good. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Wonderful desk service, quick check in, great value, good bar service, five star restaurant, steak was beautiful quality & cooked exactly medium-rare. Bed, very comfortable, great pillows, large and roomy, good city views. Valet parking for a fee but worth it after a long haul from LAX. 10/10.

Room Tip: Ask for city views high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozdivergt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesseca m, Director of Operations at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Don't you just love a perfectly cooked steak?! I know we do! Thanks for the 10/10!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Check-in was unfriendly and cold: we booked a Corner-suite and could arrange lounge access after a long discussion with the Reservation Manager, as they offer on their website these suites with or without lounge-access for the same rate! So they try to charge you extra for the lounge, which we refused. That gives the guest a bad feeling and is Westin-unlike.
We felt happy with the most beautiful location on Central Ave. high floor, with very beautiful views, but the cold welcome remained and gave us all the way a bad feeling.
Housekeeping is unorganized: all over the carpet, there were small elastics when we entered the room and they remained there all the time; if you ask for some items from their list in your room, it takes much too long before you get it, or they do not have it or even you have to phone twice and insist very hard. The 2nd day, our room was not cleaned when we arrived at 12.30- noon and again we had to phone to get it done
The swimming pool is rather a bigger bathtub than a pool; It might be better not to mention this pool.
Check-out was possible at 1.00pm, afterwards they charge you extra, which we refused. We do not understand this policy: In the real 5 star hotels, all suites get a later check-out on request.
We choose this Westin, believing it was up to The Westin-standards. We had a good room, but we keep bad feelings about this hotel. The hotel is a money-making-machine without attention for the guest.
This Westin was not a good choice.

Room Tip: corner-suites Central Ave with lounge access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vondel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesseca m, Director of Operations at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for the detailed review regarding your stay. I apologize we disappointed you in many aspects of the hotel. Please contact me directly should you return to Phoenix and I will ensure you enjoy all the niceties we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My sister and I stayed here for a convention she was attending. We arrived near check-in time (3 pm) and the room wasn't ready, so we went to the bar and had a drink. We were then told our room was ready, however, when we went up to it, the room hadn't been cleaned yet. We trekked back down, went to the front desk and told the female staff member the situation. She immediately apologized, gave us another room and credited us 20,000 Starwood points and a free late check-out, which was much appreciated. She did this without having to call in a manager for the matter. The room, 1316, was a handicap room, with 2 queen beds and accomodations for handicap guests. It had a fridge, safe, coffee maker (with Starbucks coffee). The hangers in the closet were hung low, for handicapped guests. The hotel is located in a convenient spot, and is within walking distance of the Convention Center. The workout room is nice, very spacious and overlooking downtown Phoenix and the pool, which is located on the second floor, up from the bar, was very nice as well, although it was too chilly to go swimming. My nights sleeping the Heavenly Beds were heavenly- nice, quiet and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesseca m, Director of Operations at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you for sharing the details of your stay. I am sorry your arrival to the room was not up to standard, but I am pleased to know the team assisted you. The Heavenly Bed makes for a wonderful night's rest! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Pros:
Easy 3-blocks to convention center or the Arizona Center building
Large rooms with nice big comfy beds
Quiet
Across from the light rail station (about 20 min ride to airport for $2!)
Friendly helpful staff
Decent on-site restaurant
Green rewards (see below)

Cons
Did not notice any convenience stores or coffee shops in close walking range
Small bar and a bit of a snoozer after dinner
Alarm clock was confusing and therefore useless - I unplugged it


Here's an idea for Westin - and all hotels- how about having housekeeping turn off the previous guest's alarm setting before they arrive so the next guest doesn't have to be woken up at an odd hour trying to figure out an alarm they've never used... Really no hotel does this that I know if but maybe Westin can start...

On the big plus side - one thing I thought was great is they have a green rewards program which provides you 500 daily starwood points in exchange for not having housekeeping. Great idea. I've always thought of housekeeping as intrusive and overkill for short stays.. Plus, much better on the environment. Bravo to Westin for this.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevator and try to get a room not facing the train
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesseca m, Director of Operations at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate the pros and cons, and will work with the housekeeping to team to ensure they are adjusting the alarm clocks accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Will be my only place to stay whenever I'm in Phoenix from now on. Valet parking is $28 per day but that doesn't really matter if you're staying here. The perfect location in the city for everything you need to do around town.

Room Tip: Get a corner room on a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exaktoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesseca m, Director of Operations at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled you have made us your downtown hotel of choice. For future visits, we often have parking packages available on-line that may suit you. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#24 of 174 in Phoenix
2,066 reviews
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#17 of 174 in Phoenix
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#1 of 174 in Phoenix
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Phoenix Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Phoenix Downtown

Address: 333 N Central Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: £93 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Phoenix Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown hotel is conveniently located near Phoenix's Convention Center. Onsite, we offer comfortable hotel rooms and large event space perfect for weddings, conferences, and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westin Phoenix Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Westin Phoenix Downtown Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing