We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sadly disappointed, but not surprised” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin Phoenix Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westin Phoenix Downtown
Ranked #5 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointed, but not surprised”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

When a Westin hotel cannot follow through with a basic turn down service and fresh towels when requested four hours earlier, what else are the staff unable/unwilling to do?

Guess this is a "sign of the times"; even in a upscale hotel, poor or no service is good enough. A pity for younger people who will never experience what good and trusted service was all about.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rbmedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesseca M, Director of Operations at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent visit. I apologize for not following thru on a basic request for turndown and towels. This absolutely should have been provided seamlessly. I have taken your feedback to our team in order to improve and not miss basic expectations such as this in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    165
    36
    13
    13
See reviews for
108
170
39
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at the Westin Downtown for the weekend.
Room was great! We had a room facing north and had nice views of the mountains.
The staff were very helpful - good breakfast recommendations and a nice bartender.
Was a very good deal - would definitely recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesseca M, Director of Operations at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Aren't the views spectacular! Thank you for recommending us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Had to travel to Phoenix in the middle of July for work. Prior to the stay I reached out to the hotel and inquired about my stay. I was upgraded to an amazing corner suite upon arrival. The staff and employees were extremely friendly, helpful, and made the stay enjoyable. Jesseca Malecki was fantastic, and provided a nice note in my room upon arrival. The pool is very relaxing and has one of the best views of downtown.

The room was clean, comfortable, and had great views of both downtown and the mountains. I will definitely be coming back to this hotel when out in Phoenix again!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have great views of the city and mountains.
See more room tips
Green Features: Westin's "Choose Green" initiative offering extra points for enrolling in the program.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesseca M, Director of Operations at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights while in Phoenix to see her beloved Cubs play the Diamondbacks at Chase Field. Very friendly staff, very clean, huge room, all in all it was a great weekend. The Hotel restaurant, Province, was one of the better hotel restaurants I've been in. Decent prices and excellent food/drinks. If we ever come back to Phoenix we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesseca M, Director of Operations at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the staff and accommodations. You will definitely have to return when the Cubs are here for Spring Training!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I recently stayed at this property, and the hotel is just new, everything is trendy and stylish. The room was also very spacious, in my opinion. Phoenix Westin's lounge is also by far one of the best in terms of the space, the service, and the food it offered. Also, I would like to name Veronica at the executive lounge and Keith M. at front desk, both of them were very friendly and helpful. I really had a good time there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jefferson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesseca M, Director of Operations at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for recognizing our associates, Veronica and Keith! We too agree that our Province lounge is a wonderful place to celebrate, relax and enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Today, I contacted the Westin Phoenix Downtown regarding an upcoming stay. The initial call taker, Kelly, was pleasant; however, she did not follow through on what she told me that she would in a timely manner. She stated that she was busy and would complete my request later in the day, which is horrible customer service. I called back and spoke with Saundra. She was very pleasant and assisted me without hesitation. She exemplified what excellent customer service should be.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank IIICritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesseca m, Director of Operations at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for the feedback regarding your experience. While I am disappointed to hear of your first communication not meeting your expectations, I am pleased Saundra assisted you and provided excellent customer service. We value our guests and look forward to welcoming you on your upcoming visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is great!!!! The staff is very friendly from valet, front desk and housekeeping. I had a great spacious room. The Heavenly Bed is PRICELESS. All my Phoenix business trips will take me back to the Westin.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are much more spacious. I'd pass on the concierge upgrade.
See more room tips
Green Features: Skip housekeeping and earn an extra 500 SPG points.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbrownpumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesseca m, Director of Operations at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We love to hear AMAZING! Thank you for your review. I am thrilled you had a great experience and we appreciate you mentioning our staff! The bed is truly Heavenly. If we can provide more information on our Heavenly Bed just let us know. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#20 of 174 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#29 of 174 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Phoenix Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Phoenix Downtown

Property: Westin Phoenix Downtown
Address: 333 N Central Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Phoenix Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown hotel is conveniently located near Phoenix's Convention Center. Onsite, we offer comfortable hotel rooms and large event space perfect for weddings, conferences, and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Starwood, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Westin Phoenix Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Westin Phoenix Downtown Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing