We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pizza and Lemoncillo”

The Parlor Pizzeria
Ranked #59 of 3,059 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reedville, Virginia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good pizza and Lemoncillo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

The food and drinks were fresh made and delicious. Our server, Greg, was knowledgeable and enlightened us on the in house vermouth and the many food items. One of the great buys, for $25, is a pitcher of beer and a 12 inch pie. We had the sausage, Salsiccia, which was delicious. The Winter Manhattan drink was exceptional with homemade cherry purée, and homemade vermouth. We had the calamari and shrimp appetizer which came with a roasted lemon and was served piping hot. This unassuming restaurant, from the street, is quite eclectic and calming once inside. I will go again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Duke001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    47
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
176 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“How Restaurants get greedy.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We have been a long time fan of this Restaurant, but last nights' experience has drastically altered our thinking.
We were a table of five. I ordered the large Parlor salad. Mentioned to the server that I would probably take 1/2 home. She suggested salad dressing on the side, which I thought was smart . I said bring two ,and I would take one home with my take out bag. I also asked if they could put some parmesan cheese on the salad, her reply "no problem".
In all candor the salad was not worth take the remaining amount home.The bill arrived and to my shock the chef charged $2.50 for the cheese and $.50 for the ounce of dressing.
It was not the amount of the extra charges ,it was the nerve of the management to charge any amount when the salad with Chicken was already priced at $20.00. Their excuse was that the cheese was imported.I am wondering whether there are new owners or a new Chef.
They may have "imported"cheese, but they have lost loyal local customers, who have eaten at, and recommended this Restaurant to friends many times .

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jefftimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
236 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“But I expected better--”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

I had not eaten at The Parlor for several years but remembered the very delicious roasted beet salad. Our friends had that when we went recently on a Saturday night, and it was as good as ever. My sweet potato salad was also very good, and the two pizzas we enjoyed had crispy crusts and high-quality ingredients.
However, my husband's pizza was delivered and then taken away because the wait staff could not confirm that it was the correct order. By the time he got it back, it was cold--ugh! By the time he got a beer to go with his pizza, it was really cold! Initially our friends were brought a pizza they did not order, and it quite a while to straighten that out.
Maybe we should not have gone on a Saturday night; maybe they were short-staffed; maybe it was just an off night. I am not sure we will return--

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JARPHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Don't apologize”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

The food, let me say was great. We had the cauliflower appetizer, the spinach salad, and then 3 pizzas. All were sooo delicious and then we had stuff to take home. Drinks, and for 4 people, it was less than a hundred. Our waiter, Greg was terrific. But, we waited forever to get seated. Don't understand what was going on at the hostess desk. There were empty tables. We were quoted 20 minutes. But the hostess, actually told me after it was an expected 45 minutes. We got tired of hearing, "I am sooooo sorry." Yes, we would go back again. But would not put up with the song and dance to get a table.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SuZyPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
161 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great pizzas and salads”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We had just arrived to Phoenix and were hungry. The service was great, the pizza of course and the salads we had were great as well. I was not impressed with the outside of the building but when we entered the restaurant I was surprised how nice the environment was. I definitely recommend it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oswelia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Parlor Pizzeria also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Parlor Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing