We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Great Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport
Ranked #26 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Southern California
Level Contributor
672 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Great Location and Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2008

I recently stayed here and it is probably the best hotel I have encountered in the Phoenix Area. Now if you are doing business on the West end of town this maybe a little challenging but if you have business either downtown, Chandler, or Tempe; this hotel offers a great value and great location. The rooms are a little cramped but you wind up with a separate bedroom and kitchen/Front room. I don't know what the individual was talking about being loud on the highway side as you would have to have superman's hearing to hear the highway. The insulation must be great because I did not hear a thing, including activity in the hall, the only time I heard someone was when they slammed the door. The breakfast was great and was cooked to order it is not free but you can get a deal that includes it in the price. I was so impressed with this location that I will be staying here again.

  • Liked — Clean, Comfortable, and very quite
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heumanntouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    203
    96
    34
    16
See reviews for
117
191
76
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2008

This was a very clean, nice hotel. My room on the third floor was renovated with a flat screen TV and a new bed. This hotel looked brand new. The outdoor area wasn't resort like, however the large pool was much nicer than your standard pool. The airport was also very close by.

Overall, nicer than I expected.

  • Liked — The large pool.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikwitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
158 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2008

This HGI is very close to the airport. My room was recently updated with nice work area, flat screen TV, kitchenette, new bedding.... very nice. Room service was great - I asked for something a little different than was on the menu (shrimp instead of chicken with my pasta) and it was no problem. Water pressure was a tad low in the morning. I had an even numbered room and heard quite a bit of traffic noise through the night. Even with that, wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Liked — Recently refurbished and upgraded room
  • Disliked — Traffic noise during the night
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EduardTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2008

Finding a relatively inexpensive yet nice place to stay near the airport for a quick stop in Phoenix is a little challenging. I ended up staying at the Hilton Garden Inn and was pleased with my choice.

The shuttle service to and from the hotel is quick and easy. I called the hotel from the hotel courtesy phones at the hotel and within ten minutes the driver had picked me up. The trip back to the airport was just as quick, with scheduled service every half hour. I came down about 15 minutes early and the front desk person was willing to have him make a special trip, although I told her it wasn't necessary.

Check in/out was rather simple as they had all of the information they needed before I arrived. The front desk clerk greeted me by name (we spoke earlier to arrange the shuttle) and continued to do so for the rest of his shift, which was a nice touch.

The rooms are quite spacious, with a small kitchen area (mini fridge, microwave, sink), living room, and sleeping area. I noticed in another review that they had a flat screen television, however, my room did not. The room was clean and decorated in cheery yellow and blues. The sofa was a little worn, but I didn't spend a lot of time in the room, so it was not a big deal.

There is a business center available 24/7 with free internet access, so you can print your boarding passes before heading to the airport. The pool area was nice with fresh towels placed on the lounge chairs. Several other chairs and tables, both in the sun and shade, were also available.

As a HHilton rewards member, I had a letter and a small gift of thanks in the room, as well as vouchers for two free bottles of water. I left the gift but did quite appreciate the water, just make sure to drink it before going through security at the airport!

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lkbphmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2008

The rooms here are quite nice and large and the location near the airport is obviously the main attraction. But I am not sure it's worth $160 a night, which is what I paid for a Sunday night in March. The whirlpool when I was there was out, though a sign said I could use the one next door at the Holiday Inn Express. They have an airport shuttle that runs every 30 minutes starting at 4 a.m. There is a full-service restaurant in the hotel, including a bar. The rooms have very nice erg chairs and desk, a microwave and a refrigerator. My room also had a flat screen television, but it did not appear to have high-def channels accessible. A definite step up from a Hampton Inn, my usual choice of hotel in this general service-and-price range.

  • Liked — Location and a full-service restaurant
  • Disliked — Price seemed a little high
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryKarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
264 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2007

OKay, now yes granted the hotel is nicely located only a mile from the airport.

There is another hotel right next to the Hilton Garden Inn and a Waffle House right out the front door to the Hotel.

The Pool Area is Nice, Despite some cracking along the pool water area. A good size fitness center and a nice restaurant staff.

However, here are the bumps in the road.

I came in on 6th of August and tried to check-in however no rooms were available so i asked the Front Desk since i'm a Gold VIP that i would like an upgradeable room if available. I was told they were sold out for the night.

So, i decided to check the hotel website to see if they really were. To my dismay, the hotel had a number of different rooms available for the night.

So i had to cancel my original reservation and rebook at a higher rate for a better room than what i would of had.

I stayed in Room 226 a One-Bedroom Suite a nice room, however turning on lights in the bedroom can be quite tricky and they had to come exchange one of my lights since it wasn't working right.

Check-Out was a breeze and directions given were great.

Though, i probably wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — Proximity to Hotel
  • Disliked — Front Desk, Internet Speed
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank caneshockey31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2007

I have been a fan of Hilton Garden Inns so booked a night here before flying out the next morning. Even though I am a Hilton Honors Silver I seem to have been given the worst possible room in terms of location. The room itself was nicely designed and decorated. The staff was very friendly. However we were on the first floor within 25 feet of a Waffle House restaurant. All night long there were motorcyles revving their engines. Also we could hear extremely loud hip hop and rap music from the cars that were pulling into the Waffle House all night. We travel often and this was without question the most sleepless night we have ever spent in any hotel the world over!
Also there was water leaking through the recessed light fixture over the tub at 3am when the person in the room above took a shower. This was in room 104. I think this room never should have been assigned as this is a definite hazard.
Overall a nicely decorated and friendly hotel, but not a place to get a good night's sleep!!!

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — not able to sleep due to Waffle House traffic all night!!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank travelalotPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North
Hilton Phoenix Airport
#15 of 174 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Mountain
Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Airport (University Drive)
Camelback East
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport
Address: 3422 E Elwood St, University & I-10, Phoenix, AZ 85040-1626
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > South Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#18 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mediterranean ambience, modern in room amenities for the business or leisure traveller; near I-10 & University Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Phoenix
Phoenix Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing