We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown
Ranked #56 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Agood location if visiting downtown Pheonix, close to the baseball stadium but far enough away for comfort, rooms a very clean and its in a quiet area with free car parking which is a big plus. It is within walking distance of the city center overall a good base.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisol G, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Mr. John H.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am glad to hear the rooms were nice and clean and it sounds like you enjoyed yourself.

We are in a quiet area, located within walking distance to many of the Downtown entertainment, if you are back in the area in the future, we hope to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    74
    26
    1
    4
See reviews for
38
48
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Globe
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I can see why this hotel has the 2013 Certificate of excellence. Have stayed at numerous Holiday Inn Express' because you know what you are going to get. This one goes the extra mile. The rooms and common areas are not just clean, but sparkling clean, the staff is friendly and accommodating. They easily altered our reservation and got us in adjoining rooms upon check in. The location is excellent and within walking distance to the Arizona Center/nearby restaurants and movie theater. Special thanks to their breakfast hostess, Yadira who gets coffee refills for you, removes your plates and a friendly smile. Her extra mile service help set this Holiday Inn apart. Slight traffic/construction noise, but not bad. Looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisol G, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear RebeccaGlobe,
Thank you so much for your sweet comments. Our staff strives to provide exceptional customer service and I am sure they will be very happy to hear their efforts have paid off. Also, thank you for mentioning Yadira, she is such a wonderful employee we are so lucky to have her as well as the rest of the staff, we have a great team here.

Regarding the construction, we understand it could be disturbing at times, we always try to place guest on the other side of the hotel, but there are a couple of nights where we are not able to do so. I apologize if this caused you any trouble, unfortunately there are some things that are out of our control. But again I just want to thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience during your stay, and we are looking forward to have you stay with us on your next trip out to the sunny valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel is very clean, nice outside area, great breakfastrooms were comfortable and the staff amazing I needed more pillows and wow there were pillows everywhere no time at all !!! I will stay here again for sure

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmo201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I recently had to cancel my business trip to Phoenix due to illness. When I called the front desk to cancel I was greeted by Herminia (sp?) who promptly told me that this was an advanced purchase and that they are "unable to refund" the charges. When I explained that could send a doctor's note she responded "you made this reservation early and had plenty of time to review the policy." That's just lovely, blame the customer. Clearly the front desk staff has had zero training in customer service. I am a frequent traveler and over the years have had to cancel due to illness and have never had a problem receiving a credit. Even United Airlines gave me a credit on an advanced purchase when I supplied a doctor's note. This hotel has no interest in customer retention and I will certainly steer clear on my next trip to Phoenix and will advise my colleagues do the same.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InfiniteOcean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Infinite Ocean,

I wanted to address your review regarding your recent conversation with my hotel and the non-refundable reservation. When you booked your reservation, there were several rate options available including refundable and non-refundable reservations. Our hotel, and other IHG properties, are trying to put the guest in control of their rate/deposit options. A guest will usually receive a discount if they commit to certain terms (non-refundable deposits). However, a guest is always welcome to book a refundable reservation and pay a slightly higher price. These options put the guest in control of their rate and gives them a choice.

I apologize that we are unable to refund your deposit; however, if you need me to change the dates on your reservation, I would be more than happy to. As far as my front desk agent, I promise to work with her on explaining why the reservation was non-refundable to help our guests understand the terms they agreed to.

Thank you again for your comments. I truly appreciate them and I will use your review to help better train my staff to ensure a positive guest experience.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

This facility should easily rate a 4 based on the potential. However, they are lacking in the cleanliness area. In my four day stay, the floor in the room was never vacuumed and the floor in the bathroom was dirty from previous use. Additionally, two of the front desk clerks (younger females) were not fully engaged in my interactions with them. However, the afternoon clerk (an older, distinguished looking gentleman) was extremely courteous, attentive and helpful. The person taking care of the breakfast in the morning was also lacking in having everything out and ready. I had to ask for several things that should have been prepared and ready for guests. Attention to detail is lacking in this facility.The rooms are nicely appointed and comfortable. If they can get the details taken care of, this could be a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkoPolo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianne P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I do apologize about the issues you encountered with housekeeping and the front desk staff. I will most definitely be bringing this up to their attention as well as the breakfast staff. Thank you so much for your feedback I do greatly appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel in Oct,this hotel is very clean,rooms have small fridge and microwave,staff was very nice and friendly,beautiful pool,but the location however is not the greatest,other than if you're here on business. There is construction going on in front of hotel and there is not much around,best to have a car if you want to see things and go to nice restaurants.
But the staff and sunshine made up for the not so great location!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear guyjo,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level and friendliness of our staff, facilities and room amenities at our hotel. However, I am very sorry that you found our location ideal for business purposes only. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Another reliable Holiday Inn Express! The room was larger and more comfortable than some others and the service better with friendly and very helpful front desk staff. Best to have a car or be prepared to walk for a nice dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarlzL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianne P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you here again on your next trip to Phoenix!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Phoenix Downtown
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel
0.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#18 of 175 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#27 of 175 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Phoenix Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown
Address: 620 N 6th St, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#35 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#66 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located only four blocks from the US Airways Center, home of the NBA AllStar game and week end.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix Downtown - Ball Park is a beautiful hotel located in downtown Phoenix. We are within walking distance to Chase Field, home of the AZ Diamondbacks, Arizona Center , Phoenix Convention Center and the US Airways Arena. You will appreciate that the entire hotel is non-smoking.Travelers visiting APS, Dodge Theater, Orpheum Theater, Saint Mary's Basilica, TGEN, Bio Science High School, Phoenix City Hall, Chase Field, Phoenix Suns, AZ Diamondbacks, Phoenix Courthouse and the Federal Building will find the Holiday Inn & Suites the perfect location. We offer newly renovated spacious guest rooms including executive suites featuring a sitting area including fold out couch. All guestrooms include high-speed Internet, 32 inch flat screen TVs, microwave, refrigerator, and cable TV including free HBO. Enjoy our complimentary breakfast buffet that is offered every morning. For your convenience you can print your boarding pass or check email in our free business center. You can work out your frustrations in our workout room or dunk some baskets on our outdoor sports court. Many restaurants are within walking distance.Airport shuttle is not provided.Visit Phoenix and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix Downtown - Ball Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing