We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The extra mile...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown
Ranked #57 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The extra mile...”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Unfortunately, this trip was because of a family emergency. My father was airlifted to Phoenix Baptist Neural ICU. Based on location and short notice I chose this hotel and ended up with more than expected. This wasn't just a clean room with a free breakfast in the morning, this was a lot more. When I arrived around 10 pm for check in, my day had already been long and draining. Instantly the front desk clerk picked up on this and did a great job getting me checked in and answered all of my questions. Every evening when I returned he was genuinely concerned in asking if I had eaten or if I needed anything. All the employees I encountered were amazing. I will be back because of that service! The room was super clean and quiet and housekeeping was attentive. The breakfast had a great variety and their pancake machine rocked! As far as the property... it was downtown and I took a short walk every morning around the hotel. I did see an AMC about a block away, so that is good to know for next time. Thank you Eric and also all your amazing coworkers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrstheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisol G, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thanks so much for your wonderful review! We are so proud of our staff for their continous dedication to serve our wonderful guests like you! We're glad that you experienced the best of the best and it can only get better! We look forward to seeing you in the future, the next time you're in town. Thanks again for your time and thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    75
    26
    1
    4
See reviews for
38
48
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

I am writing this review As I am staying here today. This is my second visit in the past couple months. I wrote one review complaining about the air conditioning environmental controls and how hot it was in the room. Again I am in this room for business and the temperature in my room is still 78 degrees after i have been trying to cool it down past 4 hours. I am done complaining about the temperature in this room. I accept the fact that I should just not bother staying here ever again . I am NOT able to access the internet from this room. I have to go down to the lobby you access the wireless internet . I guess this is what I get for complaining on Tripadvisor on my last review. I will pay more to stay at a better place next month.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank fedjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisol G, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, however in your situation it looks like we have failed. I will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve future stays.
Please accept my invitation to contact me to further discuss these issues at (602) 452-2020 or via email at Assistant.manager@hiephx.net.
Again I apologize for the inconvenience and I hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were in town a short time to visit ASU. The walk to the downtown campus was very short & easy to get to too. We also walked to Chase Field for a Diamondback game - also a quick & easy walk. The hotel & room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was more than enough to get our day started, was hot & items were replenished quickly. ALL of the staff were very friendly & accommodating. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisol G, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so proud of our staff for their continous dedication to serve our wonderful guests like you! We're glad that you experienced the best of the best and it can only get better! We look forward to seeing you in the future, the next time you're in town. Thanks again for your time and thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I had to travel to Phoenix, Arizona with some business and I made a reservation one week before my arrival. When trying to check-in, apparently, no reservation has been registered on my name. It took me about 30 minutes to solve this mix-up and prove that I did make the reservation.
Pro's: the rooms are clean and quite comfortable. The location of this hotel is very good, providing each visitor with easy access to any point of interest in this city.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisol G, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
First and foremost I want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel,
I am deeply sorry for the mix up and the long wait at check-in. We always try to provide a great stay for our guest the moment they walk through the door, I am disappointed we were not able to do so for your stay. Aside from the check-in experience it’s good to hear everything else with the hotel was to your liking. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed for three nights in February, on our first trip to Arizona. Chose this hotel mainly because its a ten minute drive from the airport, has free parking, a pool and free WiFi.
It was clean, quiet, comfortable and convenient. Its a few blocks to walk into downtown, and easy to get onto the highway.
Its in an area which seems safe and quiet, mostly University buildings and offices, not much street life of any sort.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisol G, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
We are great location withing minutes to airport, highways and entertainment. You are right there are alot of buildings in downtown and not much of a street life, it is mostly business except when there are events being held at the ballpark or US Airways Arena.

Regarding your stay we are pleased that it was comfortable, clean and convenient.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope you stay with us again on your next trip out to Phoenix!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Agood location if visiting downtown Pheonix, close to the baseball stadium but far enough away for comfort, rooms a very clean and its in a quiet area with free car parking which is a big plus. It is within walking distance of the city center overall a good base.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisol G, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Mr. John H.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am glad to hear the rooms were nice and clean and it sounds like you enjoyed yourself.

We are in a quiet area, located within walking distance to many of the Downtown entertainment, if you are back in the area in the future, we hope to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I can see why this hotel has the 2013 Certificate of excellence. Have stayed at numerous Holiday Inn Express' because you know what you are going to get. This one goes the extra mile. The rooms and common areas are not just clean, but sparkling clean, the staff is friendly and accommodating. They easily altered our reservation and got us in adjoining rooms upon check in. The location is excellent and within walking distance to the Arizona Center/nearby restaurants and movie theater. Special thanks to their breakfast hostess, Yadira who gets coffee refills for you, removes your plates and a friendly smile. Her extra mile service help set this Holiday Inn apart. Slight traffic/construction noise, but not bad. Looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisol G, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear RebeccaGlobe,
Thank you so much for your sweet comments. Our staff strives to provide exceptional customer service and I am sure they will be very happy to hear their efforts have paid off. Also, thank you for mentioning Yadira, she is such a wonderful employee we are so lucky to have her as well as the rest of the staff, we have a great team here.

Regarding the construction, we understand it could be disturbing at times, we always try to place guest on the other side of the hotel, but there are a couple of nights where we are not able to do so. I apologize if this caused you any trouble, unfortunately there are some things that are out of our control. But again I just want to thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience during your stay, and we are looking forward to have you stay with us on your next trip out to the sunny valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Phoenix Downtown
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel
0.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#19 of 174 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#27 of 174 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Phoenix Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown
Address: 620 N 6th St, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#34 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#65 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located only four blocks from the US Airways Center, home of the NBA AllStar game and week end.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix Downtown - Ball Park is a beautiful hotel located in downtown Phoenix. We are within walking distance to Chase Field, home of the AZ Diamondbacks, Arizona Center , Phoenix Convention Center and the US Airways Arena. You will appreciate that the entire hotel is non-smoking.Travelers visiting APS, Dodge Theater, Orpheum Theater, Saint Mary's Basilica, TGEN, Bio Science High School, Phoenix City Hall, Chase Field, Phoenix Suns, AZ Diamondbacks, Phoenix Courthouse and the Federal Building will find the Holiday Inn & Suites the perfect location. We offer newly renovated spacious guest rooms including executive suites featuring a sitting area including fold out couch. All guestrooms include high-speed Internet, 32 inch flat screen TVs, microwave, refrigerator, and cable TV including free HBO. Enjoy our complimentary breakfast buffet that is offered every morning. For your convenience you can print your boarding pass or check email in our free business center. You can work out your frustrations in our workout room or dunk some baskets on our outdoor sports court. Many restaurants are within walking distance.Airport shuttle is not provided.Visit Phoenix and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix Downtown - Ball Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing