We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown
Ranked #52 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good value for your money”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

When we want a really nice accommodation experience we usually book B & B's, but when we want a dependable, inexpensive overnighter, we always look to the Holiday Inn Express chain.
We have not been disappointed. Breakfast is included, and to give the chain credit they do try to offer a selection from sugary cinnamon buns, sausage patties, some kind of premade egg omelet, toast, cereals, yoghurt and a fresh fruit and juice from mix and weak coffee. None of this appeals to me personally but I noticed that it was very popular. Now in Germany, where a traditional European breakfast of breads, cold cuts and cheeses are offered, the Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport breakfast is tops. This location even had complimentary wine and beer happy hour. Wifi and parking are included and there is a high standard of cleanliness at each one we've stayed at. Prices are usually 80-90.00 per night and you can build Holiday Inn points.



Folks at the front desk always available and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emengee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisol G, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am very happy to hear Holiday Inn contiues to deliver the brand . In regards to the breakfast it is different in every country. Here we have the traditional american breakfast the pancakes, biscuits, gravy and orange juice.

Thank you very much for your review and thank you for your loyalty to IHG properites Holiday Inn's in specific.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    77
    26
    1
    4
See reviews for
39
49
17
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This place was very reasonable, friendly staff, nice facility, and centrally located to the downtown corridor with easy access to the freeways. The continental breakfast was excellent. Especially, the cinnamon rolls.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisol G, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you very much for your sweet comments regarding our staff and breakfast. We do have very good breakfast options and the cinnamon rolls are to die for!

Please visit us again on your next trip out to the sunny valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stopped thru in Phoenix to attend a Diamondbacks game. Was not familiar with Phoenix, but after purchasing game tickets, GPS showed us closest hotels. Be aware that at this time there is construction going on next door to this facility. That being said it is a little messy in the area, but not at the hotel itself. We were not disturbed, at all, by the construction. The motel itself is a HI Express and holds true to there standards. Comfortable, clean room. HI Express breakfast and courteous helpful staff. Very safe streets to walk to and from Chase Field, about 1/2 a mile or so away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eccl5v18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisol G, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel, we really appreciate you sharing your experience with others. Thank you for the sweet comments on our staff, they all work very hard to maintain the high level of service for our brand.
In regards to the construction across the street , I have to say it could be a bit intimidating as it can make you unsure if you’re choosing the right place to sleep.
To our surprise, the construction has not been a bother at all these past few months, it’s almost like they are not even there.

Thank you so much and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for Comicon 2014, which was good. Not great because it's about a 1/2 mile walk to the convention, but when I booked it the price was much better than hotels right near the con. Parking is free, and the breakfast is very good. They have a pancake machine. You press a button, and a minute or two later two pancakes, cooked perfectly, come out the other end. Pretty neat. Hot breakfast, eggs, bacon, etc. Bagels, toast, muffins, and even cinnamon rolls, hot and fresh. the room was adequate, clean and ready for us. We had no issues with the room, there was enough space for the four of us, and we had guests both nights we stayed, ordering pizza and inspecting our Comicon swag. In the breakfast area guys played table top board games in the evening, which was nice. We used the pool and hot tub which are small but nice. Towels are provided. I'd stay here again, but next year I'm going to try to stay at a one of the three hotels right at Comicon just to avoid the walk. They're more expensive, don't have free breakfast and you have to pay for parking, but if you buy parking weeks ahead, it's only $20 for the whole weekend. Stay at this hotel for Comicon and you have a clean comfortable and reliable place to flop, but you have to walk for 10 minutes in the evening, and again in the morning.

Room Tip: Pool closes at 10pm. We got back pretty late, I went in the hot tub at 9:45 and the guy there worki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisol G, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. Yes, you are correct, we are about a 10 minute walk to the convention center. Many don’t mind as the amenities out weight the walk into downtown, but it is completely understandable especially with the hot days in full effect, ten minutes seem like forever!
Regarding the Breakfast I have to agree that it is pretty neat! We do have what is considered a continental breakfast but we also do include hot items like eggs, bacon, ham, gravy and many more options.
I am happy to read you had a great room and the only downside was the location as it 10 minute walk to the Convention Center.

Thank you again for reviewing our hotel, we appreciate you sharing your experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and on entering my room i was struck with how spotless it was, it also smelled very clean. There is ample on sire parking and a complimentary breakfast including bacon, sausage and eggs in addition to the usual fare offered by places of this type. The bed was comfy and i got a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rich2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisol G, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Rich2112,

Thank you very much for your glowing review! It makes me very happy to hear your room was spotless upon arrival and you had a great night sleep during your stay. Our entire staff works really hard to deliver great service, it will be the highlight of my day to let them know their efforts are being recognized not only by management but by our guest as well. Thank you very much for sharing your great experience with others, and we hope to have you back here on your next trip out to Phoenix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was where I was booked for a business trip. With local construction, it isn't the most friendly of entry ways. That will change. The rooms are clean and comfortable, although the mattress in my room was showing signs of fatigue. I definitely appreciated having a choice of firm and soft pillows (the former were also aged, so less firm).

Rooms for improvement : The A/C is a little noisy (and you need it in Phoenix!) and the hot water was not sufficiently warm to properly shave.

No luxury, but good enough.

Room Tip: Based upon comments from others -- higher is better (avoid the pool side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRWMETMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear DRWMETMAN,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We truly appreciate any feedback you give us. We are happy that you found our rooms clean and comfortable. However, please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your comments about the Air Conditioning unit and room facility will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to be taken into consideration for future upgrades. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed here for a business conference for a few days. It wasn't my first choice, but the hotels that were closest to the Phoenix Convention Center were all sold out.

The property itself is in great condition, as was my hotel room. It was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. One very nice touch that I've never seen in any other hotel is the option to use a firm pillow or a soft one. The pillowcases are each embroidered with "Firm" or "Soft" on the ends of them. I'm very picky about my pillows because I'm a light sleeper. The firm pillow was just perfect. I also like that the pillows are normal size. So many hotels now offer pillows that are like 12"x12" or thereabouts. I end up rolling right off of them in the middle of the night.

The staff was very friendly. I needed to call a cab each morning to get over to the convention center. They promptly took care of that for me. Everyone was very accommodating and friendly.

I had some friends that stayed at a high-end hotel right across from the convention center. When they saw my room one night before dinner, they commented that it was much nicer than theirs. Yeah, Express was a fit further from the Convention Center, but the cab rides were cheap, and Express was right near the Arizona Center, which had several nice restaurants.

I would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisol G, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very happy to learn you had a great experience during your stay. I am ecstatic that the front desk did a great job in accommodating your needs, after all, our guest are our number one priority and we are always happy to assist in anything we can.

Please visit us again on your next trip out to Phoenix!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Downtown
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#27 of 174 in Phoenix
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#20 of 174 in Phoenix
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown
Address: 620 N 6th St, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#34 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#65 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located only four blocks from the US Airways Center, home of the NBA AllStar game and week end.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix Downtown - Ball Park is a beautiful hotel located in downtown Phoenix. We are within walking distance to Chase Field, home of the AZ Diamondbacks, Arizona Center , Phoenix Convention Center and the US Airways Arena. You will appreciate that the entire hotel is non-smoking.Travelers visiting APS, Dodge Theater, Orpheum Theater, Saint Mary's Basilica, TGEN, Bio Science High School, Phoenix City Hall, Chase Field, Phoenix Suns, AZ Diamondbacks, Phoenix Courthouse and the Federal Building will find the Holiday Inn & Suites the perfect location. We offer newly renovated spacious guest rooms including executive suites featuring a sitting area including fold out couch. All guestrooms include high-speed Internet, 32 inch flat screen TVs, microwave, refrigerator, and cable TV including free HBO. Enjoy our complimentary breakfast buffet that is offered every morning. For your convenience you can print your boarding pass or check email in our free business center. You can work out your frustrations in our workout room or dunk some baskets on our outdoor sports court. Many restaurants are within walking distance.Airport shuttle is not provided.Visit Phoenix and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix Downtown - Ball Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing