We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
briniquimi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice!”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We went to a wedding at this resort. The grounds are attractive and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The resort is very close to restaurants and other amenities. There is also plenty of parking.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briniquimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,632
    685
    183
    55
    43
See reviews for
682
522
58
906
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We have stayed here too many times to count and we always have an outstanding stay....Very pleasant and helpful staff members. Front desk staff was very welcoming upon our check in. She commented several times they appreciate our return visit and our loyalty as a Marriott Rewards Platinum Elite member. This stay we used Marriott Rewards points and our room was the very last room on the 3rd floor overlooking the golf course. The walk was a bit much but most likely because of the use of points on a Friday and Saturday night and not a “paying” guest. Could not figure out why they only have the live music until 10pm on Friday and Saturday nights. The outside patio was pretty busy both nights and it would have been nice for the music to go on a little longer as people really seemed to be enjoying listening and some were even dancing, but 10 came and they packed up. Roy’s Hawaiian Fusion was great as always! Upon check out everyone said Thank you for staying with us. Very nice touch…. We will definitely return to the JW, but if we use points again, we will make sure to ask for a room a little closer.

Room Tip: If using Marriot Rewards points, ask when checking in where the room in located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naperville, il
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Love this resort. We spent the entire time at the adult spa pool. You feel like you're in another world. This was my second time back in one year. First with my husband, then with a friend -had wonderful experiences both times. Would be a great place to bring kids as well. The pool area is massive.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naperville4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
267 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I like this hotel. It's large with the first glance, and it is actually really amazing there.

I used my points for a night stay there. They offers good free spa for whole day for their member.

The room is large and look pretty new for me. Also, I like how it designed to have a patio outside to see the nice nightview of the highway, further buildings, and hotel facilities. I like it so much. It is definitely a 5star experience for a spa resort hotel.

I will come back if I have points or more money later in my life to enjojy =)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhotoTrekkerWalomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My husband, daughter, and I stayed at the JW Marriott in November 2011. I was traveling for business and they came along to enjoy the weather and property. I'll break down the main categories.

Rooms: The rooms are fabulous, tastfully furnished and spacious. There was plenty of room for us to sprawl with all of the baby gear and we didn't feel like we were cramming a crib into a corner. The crib provided by the hotel was modern and felt pretty safe. The bathrooms were enormous and our daughter enjoyed a few 'swims' during our stay.

Dining: The food at the hotel is terrific. Starbucks was a morning staple, and convenient for most rooms. The bars and restaurants have great happy hours and we enjoyed some early drinks most nights in the warm fall evenings. We had dinner at Blue Sage twice and it was delicious both times. The prices are reasonable and quiality high. The sushi at Roy's was a big disappointment - but drinks were delicious. My husband also ate at the Vista Lounge for a burger and it was great. Throughout the business meetings the catered food was also amazing, especially the breakfasts!!

Location: You are in North Scottsdale so it's a bit of a drive to get to any main attractions. We took an ATV over to Fountain Hills and into the Saguargo National Park, which was really cool to see. I'd highly recommend one of these trips - ours was organized through Expedia's Destination Services. If you're looking for shopping, drive ~20 minutes south to Scottsdale Fashion Square or head over to Kierland Commons (~15 minutes). You'll find every shop imaginable between these spots.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Krista N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Thanks to the atmosphere and accommodations, I could tolerate the conference. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean coupled with great nightly entertainment ~ who could ask for more.
My plan is to return and get an opportunity to see some of the sights off the resort. Had a great time and looking forward to my return trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linthicums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed 12/8-11 and I don't know that I've ever had the extra special attention like I did at JW's Desert Ridge. We ate at all three restaurants and whether it was a well timed refill, a perfect suggestion or an incredibly gracious staff everything was beyond special. The same thing can be said at the front desk, especially when it came to making sure I was completely satisfied with the room and all the other amenities. If you want to golf the course crew was phenomenal at working with T-Times and accommodating last minute changes. Everyone at the shoppes were a delight as well.

Lastly the value was incredible. The "fling and swing" program was easily the best 5 star value in town.

So how good was it? I get to find out again when I come back later on this month!

Room Tip: The higher better for an unobstructed view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mitchboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#13 of 174 in Phoenix
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Address: 5350 E Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6147
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without peer among Phoenix resorts, the award-winning, AAA 4-Diamond JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa welcomes guests to its stunning 316 acres in the Sonoran Desert. Our captivating resort takes you to a place where luxury, personal service, invigorating recreation and excellent dining are in abundance. Guest rooms and suites feature private balconies or patios with dramatic desert vistas, mountain views, and tech-friendly amenities. This premier resort also impresses with the award-winning Revive Spa and championship Wildfire Golf Club, home to the LPGA Founders Cup. Families, couples and friends will find a variety of activities designed for all ages including our Wildfire Pool Complex complete with Lazy River and water-slide. Or just relax and enjoy each others company indoors or outside on one of many patios with our inviting fire-pits overlooking the resort's waterways. Among the leading North Phoenix, Arizona resorts, JW Marriott Desert Ridge is your one-stop vacation haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort And Spa Phoenix
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Arizona
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing