We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for a conference” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good place for a conference”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

I am here for a 4 day conference. Conference facility is spacious and convenient. Food for our event was very good. We had an event outside on the lawn which was a blast even if the weather was cold (they had heated lamps). Although was not able to try, the pool looked fantastic and so did the golf course-will have to come back. Warning, originally, they gave me a room above the lobby with the room door facing the atrium. Because the bar is on the 1st floor, the noise level coming from the bar was very disruptive. They gladdly changed my room to a quieter area. Great facility for a conference.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We appreciate you sharing your experiences during your conference and are so pleased to hear that you felt that the facilities were spacious and enjoyed our food during your event. We hope to have you join us again in the future maybe when traveling for pleasure to enjoy our recreational amenities and hopefully some warmer weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,553
    665
    177
    53
    42
See reviews for
655
502
56
858
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We visited the spa at the resort and had a wonderful time. I had a massage with Brian and it was amazing. I highly recommend him. We ate at the restaurant afterwards and the service there was excellent too. Our server Aleksandra was very friendly and we had a great time hanging out with her while we ate. We were blown away by how great everything was and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chopsuey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your review of Revive Spa. We truly appreciate your comments and are delighted to hear that both Brian and Aleksandra were able to make your experience an amazing one! We will certainly share your kind words with each of them. We look forward welcoming you back to Revive Spa soon to create yet another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Lovely Girls Weekend! 5 ladies, 2 adjoining rooms. Beautiful grounds but a very large resort. Wear your walking shoes when coming in from the parking lot or to even run down to the pool. Enjoyed the pool area and spa. I personally didn't eat at the restaurants as there were many great options with in driving distance but the other ladies did enjoy poolside drinks and snacks. Poolside servers were attentive.

Rooms were typical resort type rooms, not overly large but adequate. Convenient mini-fridge and coffee pot. When the hair dryer wouldn't work, it was immediately taken care of. The service is top-notch.

Had a great massage at the spa but was surprised about them having you pay and add an automatic 20% gratuity before the service. I've been to several resort spas and that was a first. Again, the service from all staff was great.

I will return one day with the kids so they can enjoy all the activities and pools (they will love the lazy river). Plenty of shopping and casual dining options at the shopping center near by.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkushlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your review on our resort. We are so pleased that your girl’s weekend was so enjoyable! We appreciate your feedback on the gratuity at Revive Spa and apologize that you were not offered the option to either add the 20% gratuity prior to your service as a convenience or adjust the gratuity prior to the end of your service; we will certainly bring this to the attention of our spa staff to make sure they do offer options to all guests. We’re glad the service was great for you during your time spent at the spa and we certainly look forward to your return with your children to enjoy some of our family activities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I was blown away how great the professional service was at this resort! The staff was extremely guest oriented. They were kind and friendly and made the visit first rate!

The one down side is the logistics of getting to the pool. We had a room over the lazy river and we needed to walk ALL the back to the lobby and go through the lobby to get to the pool. It was uncomfortable to trek through the lobby in varying forms of dress. There is an exit right up to the room but no options to enter- that was both annoying to walk so far but more embarrassing to go through the lobby. I would recommend you ask to be close to the lobby. The rooms at end may be close to the pool but you really aren't as you have to back track.

Restaurant for breakfast is not very good- poor menu choices. However there is a huge mall close to the resort with lots of food options.

What makes this 5 stars and I wpuld highly recommend is the wonderful staff- they are the best!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 147Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent stay with us. We value receiving your feedback and appreciate your positive comments on our level of service; we will definitely share these comments with our staff. We understand your frustration on the location of our pool access and will certainly look into that further. We hope to have you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We spent a long weekend at the hotel. Our goal was to relax and leave the worries and cold behind. The hotel is incredibly spacious with lots of room to sit and relax. All staff were courteous and helpful. The Revive Spa was hands down worth it. My husband and I both had a massage and then sat by the Spa pool. It was simply wonderful. The down side to the hotel were the expensive restaurants. The meals were not worth what we were paying for them. There were only two choices for breakfast, Starbucks and one of the hotel restaurants. We tried the hotel restaurant twice for breakfast but were very disappointed both times. One other problem we encountered were the loud groups sitting outside in the main courtyard. On all three nights we stayed at the hotel, there was loud yelling and screaming until midnight or beyond. I'm all for having a good time but this was a little overboard. When we called at 11:00 to ask for it to be a little quieter, we were told security would check but nothing happened. The noise continued until after midnight on a Sunday night. All in all, I think the hotel caters to the many business conventions they have booked. As a individual couple, it felt a little like our concerns and needs were lost to the "business" crowd.

Room Tip: If you are an "early to bed, early to rise" person, ask for a room away from the main cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NWTraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jadan S, Executive Chef at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Good day NWTraveler2013,
Sorry to hear that your stay with us was less than execellent in regards to noise and breakfast offerings. I would like to hear more feedback in detail from your visit with us so we can improve our level of service. Please feel free to contact me at Jadan.Sheive@Marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We recently spent one evening there for our anniversary. Upon Arrival-Stephanie set us up with a great room and view of the mountains and pool. She also helped book our reservations for dinner, and when we changed our minds on dinner -she took care of everything quickly. The trip was made special because of the little details. We only told her about our anniversary but were given a card and dessert at dinner to celebrate. Upon returning to our room we found a box of chocolates congratulating us on our anniversary. The hotel grounds were well kept and our room was very comfortable. We only wished we could stay a few days longer!

Room Tip: Most great views are to the back and sides of the hotel - Although they have done their best to make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
We’d first like to congratulate you on your anniversary and we appreciate you choosing our Resort as your celebration spot! We are so pleased to hear that Stephanie, along with our Restaurant staff, was able to make this a memorable time for you. We hope that we can welcome you back to our resort soon! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
206 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

I recently spent three nights at the hotel to attend a business conference. I have stayed here in the past but it has IMPROVED since my last visit. The service has been kicked up a notch .

I arrived around noon and was really pleased that they could get me into a room right away. My room faced the courtyard area. The woman at the front desk (Emily?) was very helpful and friendly.

The room was beautiful. I had a great night's sleep and did not experience an uncomfortable bed (as noted in other reviews). The room was nicely laid out and decorated . The toiletries were great as was housekeeping.

The food at the convention was surprisingly good. We ate lunch at Stone Grill which was very tasty( southwest chopped salad). It was so nice to eat outside . One night, we had drinks and apps at the Lobby bar downstairs . Our server was very attentive.

The grounds are beautiful. We only had one afternoon to briefly try the hot tub . We played golf one afternoon (Faldo course) and had a blast. The golf shop had a great assortment of items. I regret that I did not make time to go back to shop there before I left.

The shop near Starbucks had a nice assortment of local gifts and jewelry . I was able to buy gifts for my children before heading home. I was able to get a late checkout (1PM) which was greatly appreciated.

The outdoor sofas and fire pits were awesome. Can't wait to return in 2016!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ortho3311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.. We certainly appreciate your feedback on our guest beds and that you feel that our service has improved; our associates are extremely dedicated to provide extraordinary service. We also appreciate your feedback on stonegrill, since it is fairly new, we love hearing that your southwest chopped salad was tasty – it’s one of our favorites! We look forward to welcoming you back in 2016!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#12 of 174 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Address: 5350 E Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6147
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without peer among Phoenix resorts, the award-winning, AAA 4-Diamond JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa welcomes guests to its stunning 316 acres in the Sonoran Desert. Our captivating resort takes you to a place where luxury, personal service, invigorating recreation and excellent dining are in abundance. Guest rooms and suites feature private balconies or patios with dramatic desert vistas, mountain views, and tech-friendly amenities. This premier resort also impresses with the award-winning Revive Spa and championship Wildfire Golf Club, home to the LPGA Founders Cup. Families, couples and friends will find a variety of activities designed for all ages including our Wildfire Pool Complex complete with Lazy River and water-slide. Or just relax and enjoy each others company indoors or outside on one of many patios with our inviting fire-pits overlooking the resort's waterways. Among the leading North Phoenix, Arizona resorts, JW Marriott Desert Ridge is your one-stop vacation haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort And Spa Phoenix
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Arizona
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing