We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price, just average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Ok, let's accept the fact that this is a nice place. It should be. All facilities very good, rooms quiet, beds excellent, and a great pool/water area. However, it should be better. It is a convention hotel, not a resort. To represent it as a resort is misleading. The only part that makes it an oasis in the desert is the water area, which is in fact well above average. I can find a room like this at a regular marriott, a courtyard, even a holiday inn. I know, you don't spend time in your room. But with the price structure of the place (even with our convention rates being lower than open market) the room should be better. In fact, it was no different from any other convention hotel I have ever stayed at. Disappointing. Again, I had to be there no matter what, but If I had chosen this place as either a vacation or business destination, I would have been highly dissatisfied. Even its name is misleading. Desert Ridge? Hardly. More like a neighborhood ridge. Also, they have nice gas powered fire pits, but, they leave them on all day. Kinda wasteful anywhere, but, I don't think the desert needs to be warmed up while the sun is out. But, on to the high points. Staff was excellent. Everyone was friendly, helpful, and professional. Should be easy to do, but, many places miss this part. Golf was excellent, as was the course staff. Water area was great with very attentive service. There is shuttle service to the nearby mall. Would have liked to know this ahead of time, as it affected my meal planning with customers. There are a number of great restaurants at the mall, however the hotel website specifically states there is no shuttle service. I like the option to go offsite, but, usually don't rent a car for these things as they mostly collect dust and valet fees. The entire facility is properly sized and provisioned for the number of guests it holds. You never feel pressured or crowded, and you can always get what you need with little wait. Internet was spotty, and if I had to pay for it would have complained. It was included in our rate fortunately. Somehow, the product is disconnected with the brand and the price. Examples- at least provide a bottle of water in my room for free, not 4 dollars, give me single serve coffee in my room, not cheap ground brew type coffee. Give me a decent desk to work at, not a motel 6 table. Maybe an small aromatherapy kit by the bed as found at other top locations. It is the little extra touches that make you feel the value whereas here we clearly were convention guests, built in revenue, and guaranteed rooms filled regardless of effort made. This is all small and picky, but, it is the difference between when I write a great review, no review at all, or this.

Room Tip: Avoid areas over the large outdoor entertainment plazas as if there is a convention there will be ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wheredoiLiveanyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to share a detailed review about your recent stay. We greatly appreciate receiving your feedback as it assists us in our ongoing efforts to enhance our guests’ experience. We are so pleased to hear that you received excellent service from all of our staff and enjoyed your time on the golf course as well as outside at the pool areas. We are disappointed to hear of your thoughts regarding our guest room product and amenities. We have forwarded your comments regarding both our guest rooms as well as keeping our fire pits on during the day to our management staff for review. We agree that the fire pits are a wonderful place to enjoy an evening outside and should be kept off during the daytime when the weather is warmer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,470 - 1,476 of 2,771 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

I spent several nights at the JW Marriott Desert Ridge two weeks ago for a business trip and felt more like I was on vacation than actually working. The resort had a fantastic pool area and plenty of places to prop up your feet and have a nice cool beverage at the end of a hot day out in the desert. The service and great attitude of the entire hotel staff was wonderful. You will immediately feel like part of the family when you arrive. Loved the room and the balcony. Bed was comfy and the bath was like having my own spa in the room. Can I please come back soon???

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickDanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Absolutely, we would love to have you come back again! Thank you for your review! We love that we could turn a business trip into an amazing vacation for you! We're pleased that you felt that you were part of our family, these comments are so kind and we will certainly share this with our staff!
We do hope to welcome you back to our family very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We spent several nights here starting Easter weekend. This is a huge hotel with a large convention space. Though it was busy all week, we barely noticed.
The hotel was very busy at check in and that took awhile, but the agent had an "in training" badge on. One of the front desk agents gave each of our kids a ball while we were waiting. Small things like that are appreciated! We were offered a room overlooking the pools, but instead took one overlooking the Isle of Capri as we wanted a quiet location. We had a room with two double beds and did not find them too small for two adults. There are two very large pillows on each bed, that were not much use, as well as two regular pillows. Rooms on this side get the sunrise, and even with the room darkening curtains it gets light. I was surprised at how quiet the rooms are. We were near the ice machine and elevator, but the only noise we heard were kids running down the halls at times. The bathroom is well appointed with a separate shower and tub, hairdryer and plenty of toiletries and amenities. There is an in room coffee maker and small fridge, as well as robes. The coffee maker is in the night stand and we had to ask for coffee cups twice during our stay, as the cups or coffee were never replenished. Otherwise housekeeping was good. They came some time mid afternoon each day. There is also a balcony with two chairs and a side table.
The resort fee is annoying, as it is anywhere, but at least they give you some useful things - internet, a free appetizer or dessert, use of the driving range, bicycles, etc. There is an hourly shuttle to Desert Ridge Marketplace, a short walk or drive away.
The resort did a great job with Easter - there were various activities including a movie outside on Saturday night, and an Easter egg hunt on Sunday. There was some confusion with the Easter egg hunt - the activity sheet said it was at 8 am and it did not start until 9 am. They had beverages and donuts out, which was another nice touch.
We had to have wristbands for the pool on Easter Sunday, but not any other day. The pool was very busy that day, but there was not a problem finding chairs. The lazy river was very popular with our family! There are a few other pools, including an adults only pool near the spa. They have water stations everywhere with pitchers of ice water and cups. The food and beverage service at the pool is good, prices are typical for a resort. Great quesadillas!
We had food and beverages at all of the places on site and everything was mostly good.
We used the driving range, took part in one of the group clinics and played one of the golf courses. Excellent.
There is something for everyone here - families, couples, friends, convention travelers. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others and we are so pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful time during your Easter vacation! We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Arizona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel is absolutely beautiful. The grounds are amazing. The desert landscape combined with many different types of flowers is stunning. The pool area offers many options for swimming and is quite pretty as well. Our room was perfect. We had a huge suite with a balcony overlooking a desert garden. So normally I would give this hotel 5 stars but because I like to be able to relax and sleep in my hotel room, I had to give it 3 stars. Our room overlooked the garden and some type of grassy area beyond. There was extremely loud music each night as well as people talking very loudly on microphones. The music was so loud that it was difficult to hear the tv that was 3 feet away from us. We stayed up much later than we wanted because it was impossible to sleep until the music ended. When we called the front desk to inquire about the music and express our disappointment, they did send up a bottle of champagne. This was a nice gesture but unfortunately did not solve the problem. Definitely not a good place to bring young kids who would be going to bed early. Very disappointed that we couldn't fully enjoy this beautiful resort.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank jessi06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are deeply disappointed to hear of your experience during your stay at our resort. We know that many of our guests come to relax and unwind and we understand how loud music can disturb a peaceful evening for you. We do ask that all music related to functions at the resort end by 10:00pm and we hope that our staff offered to relocate you to a quieter section of the resort. Please reach out to us directly at jwdesertridgefacebook@marriott.com to discuss in further detail. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort to give you a true JW Desert Ridge experience that we are known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The JW Marriot Desert Ridge is literally an oasis in the desert. I'm not a huge fan of the Arizona landscape; but my husband convinced me to do our family vacation here. Wow, what a difference from the other Az hotels where we have stayed. The grounds are lush, full of flowers, plants, and water features. We had a corner suite that was grand and impeccably clean. Housekeeping was always there shortly after lunch and would leave little toys and treats for the kids.

We mostly ate lunch and snacks by the pool and they offered a nice array of fresh fruit, veggies, and hummus instead of the standard fries. Roy's was a fun culinary experience. The outdoor ambiance was nice and our waiter Steve was the best. This restaurant is well worth the price and has a nice variety.

I only did mani and pedis at the spa. The price was satisfactory but the service could have been slightly better. The staff seemed like they would rather be anywhere else then there and my daughter and I were supposed to have services together but she was finished when I was starting.

Overall, a wonderful place with other attractions close by. I would go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NDvacationmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The minute we arrived at the JW Marriott Desert Ridge we were impressed! The Resort, grounds, pools and views are beautiful and very clean. We stayed April 16 - April 21, 2014, in a standard two double bed room with two adults and 2 kids ages 12 & 15. We came with another family with kids the same ages and it was very relaxing, and the kids had fun!! Every one of the hotel staff was very friendly and always asked if they could be of service or help in any way. Every time I walked past the front desk one or all of the staff would greet me! We had fabulous wait staff at the pool! Lauren, Jake, Beau, and a few more I can not remember! The staff truly seemed like they loved their job and were treated well! Food and drink was easy to order and very prompt! It was always easy to find our server. They were never very far away! The pools were beautiful and very spacious. We never felt like we were cramped for space. Having the ability to have chairs in the grass was great! You could really have your own piece of privacy! The hotel was very busy but did not feel that way! We took full advantage of the tennis courts in the morning and the courts a in perfect condition! The staff brought out pitchers of ice water and cups which was a nice touch! You do have to make sure you reserve court time a day in advance. We had a resort package which gave us the use of the courts free. We stayed in room 3182 and this was a great wing of the resort to stay in. Nice and quiet! Far from the bars, restaurants, and pools. It was great to sit out on the balcony overlooking the golf course in the early morning with coffee from Starbuck's which is right in the resort! After coming in from a morning run the bell man quickly offered us a bottle of water! Very nice and well needed! The ladies at the concierges desk were great! We wanted to do a Desert tour on Razors and they did all of the work and booked us with Mike! They said he does a fabulous job and we would have a blast and we did! Anyone thinking about doing it do not hesitate! We all had a great time and we received a CD of pictures he took during our tour at no extra charge. Try to do the sunset tour if it is available. We also celebrated two birthdays at the Meritage Steak House. The restaurant was a great place! Just to wrap this up, it was a very clean, beautiful, friendly and fun place to vacation!!! Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJB9970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Easter weekend we spent a long weekend at Desert Ridge with children and grandchildren celebrating 'grandpa's' 70th birthday.

The staff was very attentive, the accommodations very comfortable, activities appropriate for all members of our party, and the food fresh and tasty.

There were a couple of errors on our billing which were corrected quickly and with apologies. Otherwise we had no problems and the staff worked to make our visit a pleasure.

Since it was a holiday weekend there were lots and lots of families at the resort. The grounds and facilities were designed for this kind of crowd. At times though the "Lazy River" was bumper to bumper with inner tubes and children out of inner tubes chasing each other, splashing and in some cases harassing other children. I recommend that parents keep an eye on the situation to avoid having their child 'bullied'.

I would only recommend this resort for adults travelling alone if they make dining reservations in advance and are able to pay for the adult only Griffin Club. The only exception is adults that enjoy watching a lot of children playing and enjoying themselves and the possible wayward ball or child bumping into them.

Some of the adults in our party used the driving range but we did not use the golf course or spa. We were really focused on the rare opportunity to have everyone sharing the experience of being together.

Room Tip: Ask at the desk when you check in about the location of your room. Is it a long walk from the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetTPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#22 of 174 in Phoenix
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
#75 of 174 in Phoenix
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Address: 5350 East Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6147
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: £175 - £727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without peer among resorts in Phoenix, Arizona, award-winning, AAA 4-Diamond JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa welcomes guests to its stunning 316 acres in the Sonoran Desert. Our captivating resort takes you to a place where luxury, personal service, invigorating recreation and excellent dining are in abundance. Guest rooms and suites feature private balconies or patios with dramatic desert vistas, mountain views, and tech-friendly amenities. This premier resort also impresses with the award-winning Revive Spa and championship Wildfire Golf Club, home to the LPGA Founders Cup. Relax and enjoy the company of friends and family indoors or outside on one of many patios with our inviting fire-pits overlooking the resort's waterways. Among the leading North Phoenix resorts, JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa is your one-stop vacation haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort And Spa Phoenix
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Arizona
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing