We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gnome hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gnome hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Recently attended a business conference here and had a very nice stay. Not as beautiful as other JWs but nice luxury hotel with ample grounds to stroll in. Several on property restaurants to choose from are also good to eat

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and sincerely hope to welcome you back to the resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,577
    670
    178
    54
    43
See reviews for
663
506
57
872
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I spend 3 nights at this resort. We found it to be very inconsistent and mediocre for a JW Marriott. The first night we sat on the outdoor deck but had to wait over 10 minutes for them to clean the dirty table we were sitting at. When we ask the cocktail waitress to kindly clean it for us, she never returned. The next day at the breakfast buffet, which was very good, we found a 30 minute wait only to notice when we were seated the restaurant had empty tables full of dirty dishes. We also agreed to try the "Griffith Club" which is a private club for breakfast, lunch afternoon cocktails and snacks. It is $65.00 per person. When we went up for breakfast, the chef was no where in site and it ended in 20 minutes. We decided to opt out and asked the "consierre" to take it off our bill . We also asked the front desk to take it off just to be sure. When we checked out, it was still on our bill. We did find the front staff and bellman to be very good and they met the JW standards.
The grounds were very well maintained and the pool staff worked was very attentive.
Overall, not a place I would come back to especially at over $400.00 a night. The

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandirichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We do appreciate your loyal to Marriott and are disappointed to read of the challenges you experienced during your stay with us. We would love to have you reach out to us directly at jwdesertridgefacebook@marriott.com to discuss in further detail. We do hope that you will stay with us again in the future to experience the top level of service that we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have had friends stay at the hotel who are used to staying at 4&5 star resorts and they love the hotel.I am a member of the Country Club associated with the property.I have met many in The Griffin Club and on the golf courses.The number of return visitors is a reflection of the quality of the property.The rooms are excellent.The staff is extremely helpful and friendly.The Spa has excellent staff with very good facilities.The two 18 hole golf courses are both good tests and quite different.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmund L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate your loyalty to our resort and are so pleased that you enjoy all that we have to offer! We look forward to seeing you around the resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I can't think of a time where I have actually been sad to check out and leave a hotel.. I wished I could stay another week. The staff was great, the rooms were quiet and clean.. beds comfortable. The food was great, pool was nice.. I can't say enough about this place. It would have been nice to have a map though, this place was huge! I went for business and spent a few days afterwards for pleasure.. the meeting room was top notch and I can't say enough about the service. I can't wait to return on a family trip to enjoy the hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We wouldn't want to say that we were glad that you were sad...but we are thrilled to hear that you had such an amazing stay! Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Ok, let's accept the fact that this is a nice place. It should be. All facilities very good, rooms quiet, beds excellent, and a great pool/water area. However, it should be better. It is a convention hotel, not a resort. To represent it as a resort is misleading. The only part that makes it an oasis in the desert is the water area, which is in fact well above average. I can find a room like this at a regular marriott, a courtyard, even a holiday inn. I know, you don't spend time in your room. But with the price structure of the place (even with our convention rates being lower than open market) the room should be better. In fact, it was no different from any other convention hotel I have ever stayed at. Disappointing. Again, I had to be there no matter what, but If I had chosen this place as either a vacation or business destination, I would have been highly dissatisfied. Even its name is misleading. Desert Ridge? Hardly. More like a neighborhood ridge. Also, they have nice gas powered fire pits, but, they leave them on all day. Kinda wasteful anywhere, but, I don't think the desert needs to be warmed up while the sun is out. But, on to the high points. Staff was excellent. Everyone was friendly, helpful, and professional. Should be easy to do, but, many places miss this part. Golf was excellent, as was the course staff. Water area was great with very attentive service. There is shuttle service to the nearby mall. Would have liked to know this ahead of time, as it affected my meal planning with customers. There are a number of great restaurants at the mall, however the hotel website specifically states there is no shuttle service. I like the option to go offsite, but, usually don't rent a car for these things as they mostly collect dust and valet fees. The entire facility is properly sized and provisioned for the number of guests it holds. You never feel pressured or crowded, and you can always get what you need with little wait. Internet was spotty, and if I had to pay for it would have complained. It was included in our rate fortunately. Somehow, the product is disconnected with the brand and the price. Examples- at least provide a bottle of water in my room for free, not 4 dollars, give me single serve coffee in my room, not cheap ground brew type coffee. Give me a decent desk to work at, not a motel 6 table. Maybe an small aromatherapy kit by the bed as found at other top locations. It is the little extra touches that make you feel the value whereas here we clearly were convention guests, built in revenue, and guaranteed rooms filled regardless of effort made. This is all small and picky, but, it is the difference between when I write a great review, no review at all, or this.

Room Tip: Avoid areas over the large outdoor entertainment plazas as if there is a convention there will be ou...
See more room tips
Green Features: What a joke. Environmental? Then why on earth are they burning large gas fire pits all day in the desert heat. Turn them off during the day. That's crazy to leave them on. At night they are perfect and gathering points, during the day just a waste.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wheredoiLiveanyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to share a detailed review about your recent stay. We greatly appreciate receiving your feedback as it assists us in our ongoing efforts to enhance our guests’ experience. We are so pleased to hear that you received excellent service from all of our staff and enjoyed your time on the golf course as well as outside at the pool areas. We are disappointed to hear of your thoughts regarding our guest room product and amenities. We have forwarded your comments regarding both our guest rooms as well as keeping our fire pits on during the day to our management staff for review. We agree that the fire pits are a wonderful place to enjoy an evening outside and should be kept off during the daytime when the weather is warmer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
106 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I spent several nights at the JW Marriott Desert Ridge two weeks ago for a business trip and felt more like I was on vacation than actually working. The resort had a fantastic pool area and plenty of places to prop up your feet and have a nice cool beverage at the end of a hot day out in the desert. The service and great attitude of the entire hotel staff was wonderful. You will immediately feel like part of the family when you arrive. Loved the room and the balcony. Bed was comfy and the bath was like having my own spa in the room. Can I please come back soon???

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickDanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Absolutely, we would love to have you come back again! Thank you for your review! We love that we could turn a business trip into an amazing vacation for you! We're pleased that you felt that you were part of our family, these comments are so kind and we will certainly share this with our staff!
We do hope to welcome you back to our family very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We spent several nights here starting Easter weekend. This is a huge hotel with a large convention space. Though it was busy all week, we barely noticed.
The hotel was very busy at check in and that took awhile, but the agent had an "in training" badge on. One of the front desk agents gave each of our kids a ball while we were waiting. Small things like that are appreciated! We were offered a room overlooking the pools, but instead took one overlooking the Isle of Capri as we wanted a quiet location. We had a room with two double beds and did not find them too small for two adults. There are two very large pillows on each bed, that were not much use, as well as two regular pillows. Rooms on this side get the sunrise, and even with the room darkening curtains it gets light. I was surprised at how quiet the rooms are. We were near the ice machine and elevator, but the only noise we heard were kids running down the halls at times. The bathroom is well appointed with a separate shower and tub, hairdryer and plenty of toiletries and amenities. There is an in room coffee maker and small fridge, as well as robes. The coffee maker is in the night stand and we had to ask for coffee cups twice during our stay, as the cups or coffee were never replenished. Otherwise housekeeping was good. They came some time mid afternoon each day. There is also a balcony with two chairs and a side table.
The resort fee is annoying, as it is anywhere, but at least they give you some useful things - internet, a free appetizer or dessert, use of the driving range, bicycles, etc. There is an hourly shuttle to Desert Ridge Marketplace, a short walk or drive away.
The resort did a great job with Easter - there were various activities including a movie outside on Saturday night, and an Easter egg hunt on Sunday. There was some confusion with the Easter egg hunt - the activity sheet said it was at 8 am and it did not start until 9 am. They had beverages and donuts out, which was another nice touch.
We had to have wristbands for the pool on Easter Sunday, but not any other day. The pool was very busy that day, but there was not a problem finding chairs. The lazy river was very popular with our family! There are a few other pools, including an adults only pool near the spa. They have water stations everywhere with pitchers of ice water and cups. The food and beverage service at the pool is good, prices are typical for a resort. Great quesadillas!
We had food and beverages at all of the places on site and everything was mostly good.
We used the driving range, took part in one of the group clinics and played one of the golf courses. Excellent.
There is something for everyone here - families, couples, friends, convention travelers. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others and we are so pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful time during your Easter vacation! We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Arizona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#12 of 175 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Address: 5350 E Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6147
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without peer among Phoenix resorts, the award-winning, AAA 4-Diamond JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa welcomes guests to its stunning 316 acres in the Sonoran Desert. Our captivating resort takes you to a place where luxury, personal service, invigorating recreation and excellent dining are in abundance. Guest rooms and suites feature private balconies or patios with dramatic desert vistas, mountain views, and tech-friendly amenities. This premier resort also impresses with the award-winning Revive Spa and championship Wildfire Golf Club, home to the LPGA Founders Cup. Families, couples and friends will find a variety of activities designed for all ages including our Wildfire Pool Complex complete with Lazy River and water-slide. Or just relax and enjoy each others company indoors or outside on one of many patios with our inviting fire-pits overlooking the resort's waterways. Among the leading North Phoenix, Arizona resorts, JW Marriott Desert Ridge is your one-stop vacation haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort And Spa Phoenix
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Arizona
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing