We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure serenity with the family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pure serenity with the family”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This staycation was amazing! At check in there fresh chocolate chip cookies and the staff there are so helpful. When you walk past them they greet you in the halls and inquire about your day. The rooms are nice and spacious with a balcony and a the bathrooms have separate tub and shower.
The hotels grounds pure serenity. There so many water features many ponds and you can hear the water flowing down them it was really nice. When you are walking around the huge resort you can take a nature walk and see rabbits and squirrels running around. When you get parched there is fruit infused water in the lobby and also a Starbucks on the property, it does close by 6pm but it is great.
The pools, there is a large pool with a waterfall tower where the water is freezing but the kids love to run through it, a medium pool that's nice as well, and the lazy river where there is a mini slide for kids and adults. All around the pool area there is a bar, snack shack and hold your breath there is a taco bar where you can create your on tacos. Loved it!!!! We also ordered food at the pool and the prices are resort prices but the size of the turkey burger was huge my husband didn't think he could finish it that is how big the turkey burger was and the quality of the food was great. The pool hours are 7am-10pm and there was plenty of activities for kids per the JW Marriott schedule. There is also a familyscape where there is a ping pong table, corn hole, and other actives inside the familyscape/recreation center. When you go towards the pool you might think its crowded but when you are at the pool it's very spacious and comfortable there is more than enough beach chairs and shaded umbrella for everyone.
Pros:
-great customer service
-2pools 1 lazy river with a slide
-clean rooms
-amazing property
- great food poolside
-familyscape
-spacious green belt kids can play near
-cookies at check-in
NO cons..

Overall, a great experience you would not know you were in Az with the palm trees lining the pool and many water features. It's relaxing and well worth every penny you spend. The hotel and staff are all amazing. Also, it's right across from Desert Ridge Marketplace with shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: If you want early check in they say to wait until after noon and you can still get a good room view...
See more room tips
Green Features: Everyone was really nice and respectful. I don't have anything negative to say about the staff even housekeeping would greet you in the halls.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tish65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed many of the resort’s signature features during your stay, especially around the pool and family escape areas! We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,606
    676
    182
    54
    43
See reviews for
675
514
58
887
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

this is the best hotel and the best customer service you will ever receive. their generosity to my whole family during this celebration was so touching and will never be forgotten. if you have a chance please stay at this beautiful resort. the grounds are beautiful, rooms are great and the hotel is the best. i wrote a letter to the general manager of the hotel and hope he received it. unfortunately, i did not hear back from him.

the best hotel, stay and you will see.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Wow, thank you so much for your comments. It is so wonderful to hear that your experience was an exceptional one, and that you felt such generosity from our staff during your stay. We truly appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this resort for three nights in July 2014 with another couple. The lazy river and many pools made the July heat bearable. The rooms are spacious and it's hard to go wrong with views of palm trees, pools, gardens, and golf courses all over.

What impressed us the most was when the other couple fell ill from food (a bad burger elsewhere), the hotel staff found out she was sick and delivered ice, crackers and a bowl of chicken soup to her room. This all came with a handwritten note wishing her a speedy recovery. They also were extra attentive in cleaning the room. Thanks again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gastrocurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your vacation, especially at our pool areas. We are sorry to hear that the couple that you were traveling with fell ill, but are so pleased to hear that our staff took such great care of them to assist in making them feel better. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you all back for your next vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

There are a number of great resorts in the Phoenix/Scottsdale area but this is the one that we like the best.
The resort is very large and caters to conferences, families and couples. As a couple we always choose to use the facilities of the Griffin Club as this is what really makes our stay special.
Not only do you feel that you are in an exclusive part of the hotel with many great benefits, but also the staff really do their utmost to ensure that your stay is best possible experience.

By selecting the Griffin Club you get the best of having access to all the features that only a large can resort can provide, with the added care and attention to detail of boutique hotel.
The staff here really are wonderful, we have come to know many of them over the years and we are always greeted like old friends. This year we were so well looked after by Alison Kayla and Jeff. From the lobby concierge team Candyce was also wonderfully helpful.

We also got to know some lovely people for the first time, they really could not do enough for us. We look forward to returning

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nippersUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking to share your vacation experience. We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay and that you had the opportunity to experience our Griffin Club. We certainly appreciate your description of the Griffin Club for other future travelers to understand the special treatment that is received and we will pass your kind words on to the staff members mentioned.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort when your travels bring you back to Arizona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Spent 4 days here and it is beautiful. The rooms were very clean, staff extremely friendly and in a great location. It was extremely quiet and I appreciated that. The hotel is located near shopping and restaurants which is great . Scottsdale is about 20-30 mins away, the airport is a short distance. The hotel is beautifully decorated, there is an herb garden also onsite, the pool was great and each room has a balcony so you can enjoy the views. The grounds are beautiful and anyone who enjoys the outdoors would appreciate them. I think the price would reasonable. The wiifi was included in the resort fee. I would definitely stay here again.

Green Features: They offer bags in the rooms for recycling, change linens every 3rd day .
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adnrn2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to spend time around the resort, including a visit to our herb garden. We take great pride in both our herb and vegetable garden which we incorporate throughout the resort in various food & beverage areas as well as at our Revive Spa. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I love this resort! It's beautiful. This was my second time to the Revive Spa and I loved every moment of it. I started out in the restaurant and Aleksandra was my server. She was so attentive to everyone and always had a smile on her face. I love coming here. She even remembered me from last time and welcomed me back. Alexsandra made some great suggestions for lunch and I really enjoyed my meal. She even came outside to ask me if I needed anything while I was by the pool. Next, it was off to my massage with Teresa. I will definitely ask for her when I come back. She's amazing! After that I had a facial with Renee which I loved too. I like how she explained what products she thought would be good for my skin. The service at this spa is outstanding. I can't wait to come back and do it again.

I spent most of my day at the spa, but for dinner I went to the Stonegrill. I sat at the bar with Roberto and had a nice glass of wine. He was very friendly and it was nice to have someone to talk to. Robert the manager also passed by a few times and asked me how everything was. He was even kind enough to make suggestions from the menu. Again, the service was excellent.

I highly recommend staying here, especially in the summer. They have some great deals going on.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chopsuey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind comments. We appreciate your repeat business and are so pleased to hear that our staff makes you feel so “at home” during your time spent with us. We will certainly share your comments with our staff and truly look forward to having you come and join us throughout the resort in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I just got back from a 4-day stay at this property.

What I like best about the resort:
1. Everyone at this resort provides great customer service.
2. The 2 ladies who warmly welcomed us at the Front Desk are commendable ~ Ms. Shauna Lee Robinson & Ms. Niki Pugh! They both made us feel special!
3. A full-service Starbucks at the Lobby level.
4. Lazy River on a warm night.
5. Tasty food for dinner; and many dining options within the resort. For Roy's & the Italian Restaurant make sure to make reservations to secure a table at your desired time.
6. Nice & comfortable room & bed.

What I am not happy about:
1. Nobody can locate the clothes I left in the room inside the drawer! I was in a hurry to leave to go to a meeting upon check-out and I forgot to pack some of my clothes that were left inside the drawer.
2. Did housekeeping throw them away?
For this reason I am giving it 4-stars.

Otherwise, I highly recommend this resort if you are going to Scottsdale for business and want some R&R after work hours. Just make sure to pack all your stuff, otherwise, you will never get them back!

Room Tip: We had a relatively quiet room. Our room was facing the mountains and golf course. Although we cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VegasPinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your comments on Shauna and Niki and will certainly share them with our staff! We are disappointed to hear about your lost items. We can certainly speak with you in more detail if you would like to forward your contact information to jwdesertridgefacebook@marriott.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#12 of 174 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Address: 5350 E Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6147
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without peer among Phoenix resorts, the award-winning, AAA 4-Diamond JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa welcomes guests to its stunning 316 acres in the Sonoran Desert. Our captivating resort takes you to a place where luxury, personal service, invigorating recreation and excellent dining are in abundance. Guest rooms and suites feature private balconies or patios with dramatic desert vistas, mountain views, and tech-friendly amenities. This premier resort also impresses with the award-winning Revive Spa and championship Wildfire Golf Club, home to the LPGA Founders Cup. Families, couples and friends will find a variety of activities designed for all ages including our Wildfire Pool Complex complete with Lazy River and water-slide. Or just relax and enjoy each others company indoors or outside on one of many patios with our inviting fire-pits overlooking the resort's waterways. Among the leading North Phoenix, Arizona resorts, JW Marriott Desert Ridge is your one-stop vacation haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort And Spa Phoenix
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Arizona
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing