We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is my second time at this hotel and everything, including the restaurants,were great !! We ate at the Italian restaurant only to find "home made pasta" which was outstanding. The pools and grounds were very well maintained

Room Tip: Don't face pools or kids area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Al O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for review. We appreciate your kind words and are thrilled you had the opportunity to enjoy our freshly made pasta at Tuscany, what a delicious meal! We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,298 - 1,304 of 2,706 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent 7 nights in this hotel and loved it. I had read some great reviews but also some poor ones so was unsure what we would find - I cannot fault anything. The staff were really helpful. The pools were great and the kids loved the lazy river - it did get busy on the weekends but the staff were still attentive and cleared away food and drinks quickly. Iced water in jugs was provided which was great considering how hot it was. There were lots of kids activities if you wanted that sort of thing. The rooms were lovely and the beds extremely comfortable. We had a room facing one of the small water areas and it was quiet. We had food via room service once and it was excellent - good quality with all the condiments provided. When we booked we found a rate that had a breakfast package included - not any more than one without, which was great as the buffet breakfast was fabulous!
We loved our stay and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: I would avoid a room overlooking the pool area - but this is just my personal preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our level of service exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was very pleased, overall, with the staff and amenities a this hotel. It was with a weekend conference that I stayed and the staff provided me with a lot of information, both about the hotel and the conferences, as well as substantial brochures and suggestions of things to do in the area. The conference negotiated a very reasonable fee, as well as free parking and Internet [normally $12.95 per day, or so].

The resort is everything you would expect in a JW Marriott resort, spa, pools, beauty, and accessibility.

The only thing that I felt was less than excellent is that they don't tell you [and the front desk representative admitted that the information is not on their website, nor normally given to people booking conventions at ANY of their properties] is that they charge [as a hold only] $50 per day on your debit [and probably credit, though I haven't verified that yet] card and only released at the end of your stay. I don't have problems with the fee, especially as a hold, although they have the legal right to charge for expenses at the end of the stay that they find, as well as for damages and thefts discovered, so I'm really not sure why they need to do it. If I'd booked a conference there without being told, however, I would not book at such a property again.

Again, the hotel/resort itself was very good. It was only corporate's policy not to disseminate certain information that made the experience less than perfect.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to have the quietness and privacy that a Marriott resort provides. I was at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dep9130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I recently stayed here for a work event but was also able to take advantage of some of the facilities like the pools and sauna! The service and food were excellent across the board! I know it's hot in Scottsdale in the summer but it was fine out by the pools and the hotel rate was very reasonable, so I would consider bring my family back for a weekend vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gvest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next family vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Very pleasant stay! 3 days stay at pool for 7 hours each day. Get ready pay for food and drinks.. 2 bucket of beers 48 bucks, cheese chicken queso. 15 bucks. But it was hot hot in phoniex better way just stay cool before the baseball game. I lost my makeup bag with cc in the had in lost in found. My mother left her 5 diamond rings in room by accident went back and they just finish cleaning it. The lady was very honest and left them there. Rooms are nice size had pool view which find with us no noise at at. Husband park own car didn't use valet which we normally due. But the walk is so pretty see rabbits and beautiful grass. We love staying here. The last day we checkeD out we head back home.. but we found a jw in Tuson so we stay there!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fire860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great 3 night stay at a well planned resort. It would have been nice to explore more but this was a biz trip away from the resort so time was limited. However, everything I did experience and encounter was first rate from the check in experience-the support of the bell and valet staff-the comfortable and restful accommodations and the lovely grounds. Convenient to major highways and the Desert Ridge shopping center has everything needed. Roy's restaurant in the resort is great, love that Hawaiian/Asian fusion food. Would definitely stay again and hope to enjoy the rest of the resort more: the pool and spa especially.

Room Tip: Rooms with grounds or water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ginnynj4133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time spent with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the resort for perhaps pleasure next time so that you are able to enjoy all the amenities we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I expected much more from this JW after staying at the Camelback JW recently. I realize that it was a busy convention week, but please don't forget the casual traveler. There was little warmth and sincerity in your staff other than the gentleman at guest services saying that he was a guest services concierge. Spa concierge was rude and unprofessional. My service there was okay by my standards, I will not return for a service there ever. I will review my experience at your restaurants separately. My next visit to Arizona will surely be at the JW Camelback Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank richn1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Guest feedback is extremely important to us and we do appreciate your comments. We are disappointed in the lack of service that you received during your stay. Please know that we take your comments seriously and have shared them with our management team to ensure that we are always delivering beyond expectation with each and every guest. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the near future, so that we can provide you with excellent service that we are known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Address: 5350 East Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: £224 - £604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without peer among resorts in Phoenix, Arizona, award-winning, AAA 4-Diamond JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa welcomes guests to its stunning 316 acres in the Sonoran Desert. Our captivating resort takes you to a place where luxury, personal service, invigorating recreation and excellent dining are in abundance. Guest rooms and suites feature private balconies or patios with dramatic desert vistas, mountain views, and tech-friendly amenities. This premier resort also impresses with the award-winning Revive Spa and championship Wildfire Golf Club, home to the LPGA Founders Cup. Relax and enjoy the company of friends and family indoors or outside on one of many patios with our inviting fire-pits overlooking the resort's waterways. Among the leading North Phoenix resorts, JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa is your one-stop vacation haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort And Spa Phoenix
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Arizona
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing