We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in summer and still top service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Stayed in summer and still top service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife and I stayed for five days while I attended a conference here. Excellent staff, design, bedding, bathroom, just all round excellent. Highly recommended. Especially the Meritage Steakhouse. Also dined at Roy's Japanese fusion restaurant one night but whie the food was good, the service was disappointing. Such a shame as everything else about thisd property was truly excellent. Nothing in walking distance, but the hotel shuttle takes you to the nearby Desert Ridge outdoor shopping mall.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisF443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review online. We are pleased to hear that you and your wife enjoyed a relaxing five days with us during your conference! We are however, disappointed to hear of the service issue you experienced at Roy's and will certainly pass your comments on to their Management staff to review. We truly appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,553
    665
    177
    53
    42
See reviews for
655
502
56
858
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great place for a girls getaway. The pool was super fun, the spa was relaxing and the room was perfect. Enjoyed some great meals at the restaurants and enjoyed the excellent service. Would like to thank Mark Hopwood for making our last night so fun with S'mores by the fire pit. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGAWMR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
A girls getaway sounds like the perfect trip and we are thrilled to hear that you had so much fun during your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I just got back from a 4 day stay at this resort hotel; what a wonderful experience! Although I was staying as a conference guest, I plan on returning with my family the next time we are in the area. The service was excellent; every person I came in contact with seemed to be there for the sole purpose of providing the highest quality service possible. They were knowledgeable, accommodating, and friendly. This would be an excellent place to have a catered event - the food was fabulous! I highly recommend the tomato bisque soup, homemade salsa, guacamole...they even make their own tortilla chips!
The relaxing atmosphere is carried outside to the multiple pools and lazy river on the property. There is a spa on site where you can get exceptional pampering. The grounds are an oasis for many species of small animals, an excellent opportunity to sit quietly and watch the wildlife. I cannot say enough good things about my experience, and cannot wait to return!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens so you can see the wildlife from your balcony.
See more room tips
Green Features: They provide you with a recycle bag in your room to recycle everything from paper to plastic.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyn411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us during your conference and appreciate your kind words which we will certainly pass on to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again with your family to experience all the amenities that our resort has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Brookville, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I've been to this resort & spa quite a few times over the years. I've never had a bad experience. The spa has been nothing but pure bliss, every technician skilled & wonderful. The rooms have been spotless, decor lovely. The pool area is beautiful & large, lazy river & slide for kids and plenty of large pools to enjoy. The hotel has several delicious restaurants to choose from & a Starbucks.
The location is across from a large outdoor shopping center, Desert Ridge Marketplace, with a bunch of restaurants, movie theater, Target and many smaller shops and the hotel provides shuttle service to & from the marketplace.
This resort is a place I plan to visit again, with friends or with my kids.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We first would like to say thank you very much for your loyalty to both Marriott and our resort! We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. We look forward to having you and your family join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
133 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here recently while attending a conference. The grounds are very nice and well maintained. There is a golf course on the property with striking views. While you are golfing, your kids will enjoy all the pools.

My room was nice but showing some age (see attached pictures). The carpet had numerous snags, there were a few dings on the furniture, and the bathroom was a bit dated. It certainly was not a bad room but was it up to JW Marriott standards? Probably not.

I did not eat in any of the resort restaurants but I did have food twice a day as part of the conference. It was always excellent. Nice variety and attention to detail. The corresponding service was always excellent also.

Would I stay here again? Since I was in town for a conference I did not compare this property with others in the area. While this one was certainly nice, I suspect I could find better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinnacle-project
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and are pleased to hear that the food during your conference was excellent and that you enjoyed our gorgeous mountain views while golfing. We appreciate your candid review on our guest room. We are constantly updating and maintaining our guest rooms as well as all areas of the resort and will share your comments and photos with our team to take care of the issues you had pointed out. We do hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is my second time at this hotel and everything, including the restaurants,were great !! We ate at the Italian restaurant only to find "home made pasta" which was outstanding. The pools and grounds were very well maintained

Room Tip: Don't face pools or kids area
See more room tips
Green Features: Everyone who worked here was very above average with politeness and helpfulness
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for review. We appreciate your kind words and are thrilled you had the opportunity to enjoy our freshly made pasta at Tuscany, what a delicious meal! We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent 7 nights in this hotel and loved it. I had read some great reviews but also some poor ones so was unsure what we would find - I cannot fault anything. The staff were really helpful. The pools were great and the kids loved the lazy river - it did get busy on the weekends but the staff were still attentive and cleared away food and drinks quickly. Iced water in jugs was provided which was great considering how hot it was. There were lots of kids activities if you wanted that sort of thing. The rooms were lovely and the beds extremely comfortable. We had a room facing one of the small water areas and it was quiet. We had food via room service once and it was excellent - good quality with all the condiments provided. When we booked we found a rate that had a breakfast package included - not any more than one without, which was great as the buffet breakfast was fabulous!
We loved our stay and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: I would avoid a room overlooking the pool area - but this is just my personal preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our level of service exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#12 of 174 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Address: 5350 E Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6147
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without peer among Phoenix resorts, the award-winning, AAA 4-Diamond JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa welcomes guests to its stunning 316 acres in the Sonoran Desert. Our captivating resort takes you to a place where luxury, personal service, invigorating recreation and excellent dining are in abundance. Guest rooms and suites feature private balconies or patios with dramatic desert vistas, mountain views, and tech-friendly amenities. This premier resort also impresses with the award-winning Revive Spa and championship Wildfire Golf Club, home to the LPGA Founders Cup. Families, couples and friends will find a variety of activities designed for all ages including our Wildfire Pool Complex complete with Lazy River and water-slide. Or just relax and enjoy each others company indoors or outside on one of many patios with our inviting fire-pits overlooking the resort's waterways. Among the leading North Phoenix, Arizona resorts, JW Marriott Desert Ridge is your one-stop vacation haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort And Spa Phoenix
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Arizona
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing