We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient to Chase Field”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Phoenix Downtown
Ranked #37 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
158 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Convenient to Chase Field”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The free parking and easy walking to restaurants and chase field is excellent. The suite we were in had definitely seen better days. Management please use chlorine bleach or white vinegar on the toilet to get rid of black mold in the toilet. We would have tried to change rooms but were to tried and short of time. The bathtub and sink were spotless. The carpet was good but the sofa needed replaced. The breakfast was good. We will stay again. Just hope the reovations are finished the next time.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smokedogaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    135
    41
    9
    4
See reviews for
82
53
25
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Was in town for a convention of high schoolers - thousands of brilliant high schoolers! Spring Hill may not have been an official hotel, but they were extremely accommodating to everyone I know. I had two rooms for us, with fridges and micros, and they were great, typical Spring Hills. However, this is not a *new* Spring Hill with all the funky green curtains downstairs and bold paint in the rooms, more like an upscale Hampton with calm colors. I like that.

There was a huge eating area, lots of food, and no teen male was left unsatisfied at breakfast - I had two voracious eaters!

The Parking lot was safe, and I felt like if interlopers came visiting at night (college students from ASU) they would be towed if there was no room. I think having a parking pass is a good policy.

We used the shuttle a couple of times with our week stay, and we were able to get to the convention center pretty quickly, and to chase field with a minimum of fuss. We did tip. We walked back. With all the folks walking back with us, we were not concerned with the one bum we saw, as the police shooed him off, and the front door was unlocked and I think they had cookies or juice for us when we got back.

If you don't have tix for the game, ask at the front desk. They had some awesome tix available - I wished I had not already bought mine. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corn&Beans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
168 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Stay was okay ... Rooms are in need of updating.. They were clean just very dated .. Staff is nice and breakfast was fair.. The usual breakfast items you see at all Marriott Fairfields or spring hill suites... Will stay at the Marriott airport next time.. Better hotel and their dining options were nice..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornville, Arizona
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

That is the best thing about this property, you can walk to Chase Field and there are plenty of great restaurants and clubs in the sports district downtown. There is no parking fee which is a big plus. The hotel is older and a little worn and frayed, with downright wierd furniture, but functional. I thought the staff tried harder and was accomodating. Breakfast was good and standard for a Springhill Suites. Pool and fitness room are both pretty worn down and not great, but they are not typically why you would come to this property. It seems relatively quiet for being on a busy road. The price is higher than other properties in Phoenix, I for that downtown convenience, but when compared to other downtown hotels with no parking fee and no resort fee, it is not bad. AC at least in our room was noisy and had a hard time keeping the room cool, cranking it way up seemed to help

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side and higher up are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BongoColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
208 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I spent two nights at this hotel while in town for some Diamondbacks baseball on my quest to see games in all thirty stadiums this summer. As noted by other reviewers, this hotel is a good choice for reasonable cost accommodations and reasonable access to Chase Field and central Phoenix. As noted, the free parking is a plus for a hotel in this setting.

The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk to Chase Field and of course, less than that to the Arizona Heritage and Science Center or Children's Museum. However, there is very little pedestrian traffic in this part of town, and the neighborhood to the north and east of the hotel quickly becomes a bit "dicey." While I never felt unsafe, I did feel the need to monitor my surroundings on my walk back to the hotel after the Memorial Day night game.

The hotel offers an hourly shuttle service (reservations required) and is about a 15-20 minute walk from the nearest Metro light rail stations on Washington and Jefferson at Third. The metro offers adequate, but not exceptional airport access, but the shuttle is a lot quicker if you can make the timing of their shuttle runs fit your schedule.

Rooms are cookie cutter SpringHill Suites rooms and are in need of an upgrade. The sleeping area is cramped with little room for luggage or maneuvering. The air conditioner vent blows cold air right on the beds, but struggles to cool the sitting area / desk area of the room. Wi-Fi access did not work well at all in my room (422), but the wired connection was speedy, great and very simple to set up (the Hilton folks could learn from this). The shuttle bus driver indicated, and actions around the hotel in my two days there show that rooms are in the process of being renovated, which is overdue. I did note some noise during the day, but not at night.

Breakfast met expectations and there seemed sufficient space. There are menus from a local pizzeria offering delivery to the hotel for a minimum $15 order, which may be a problem for single guests. Otherwise, for extended stays, lunch and evening dining options at reasonable venues seem to require a 10-20 minute walk.

My biggest gripe about the hotel is the excessive number of signs directed at guest behavior. I appreciate and applaud the need to ensure a safe and secure environment for guests, but the number of signs that indicate that the hotel management is not responsible for items left in cars in the parking lot is a bit offputting. Then, as one walks in the front door, there is a sign saying the door is locked at 8 pm at night. That also feels offputting, but when I returned from the D-Backs night game at about 9:30 pm, the door was not locked. There are multiple signs (complete with a grammatical error) indicating that reservations are required a day in advance to ride the shuttle to the airport. Finally, for both D-Backs games on Memorial Day, a sign was placed in the parking lot saying any vehicle not registered would be towed. Fine, but my observation is that this hotel is well out of the normal flow for D-Backs parking.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have views of Chase Field but get road noise from Van Buren. North side roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyons, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

This hotel is on the east end of downtown Phoenix and for our visit was fairly close to downtown destinations. This is also an ideal location to and from the Phoenix airport, 5 miles at the most. We rented a car and the hotel has free parking, a great competitive amenity compared to the major downtown hotels. Access to the hotel's shuttle to bring you to downtown destinations is efficient and courteous. The room was comfortable and quiet. Our room was on the Van Buren St. side and was sound proof from traffic. Black out curtains contribute to allowing you to sleep without the morning sun's intrusion. Spring Hills' floor plan is stretching the suite definition, however. Housekeeping was consistent each day. The fitness room and pool though small are commensurate with the size of the property and the equipment we used in the fitness center was well maintained well. Complimentary breakfast had the usual accoutrements one finds, and this is always a welcome amenity that places value on an establishment as it stands up to the larger corporate hotels in downtown Phoenix that are in the heart of downtown but will cost considerably more, at least $50/night more. So when a traveler is not having the room picked up by their employer this is a great value. Arizona Center is a few blocks away and has enough restaurant variety for a few days stay. Parking there is validated if you choose not to walk, which is about 5 blocks.
Front desk staff was attentive to our needs. We felt that downtown Phoenix is clean and I (male) felt safe walking to my destination in the downtown court area at 5AM each day.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefsterDoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel was our go to place to stay 5 - 6 times a year. Over the past 2 years we have noticed a decrease in guest care and cleanliness with each stay. We are Marriott Rewards Members and after our experiences ast this and other Marriott hotels, we have not returned to this brand. It is too bad since the location is ideal. Would rather have to drive in and pay for parking then be grossed out.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gwen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#18 of 175 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#27 of 175 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westin Phoenix Downtown
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#5 of 175 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Phoenix Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Phoenix Downtown

Property: SpringHill Suites Phoenix Downtown
Address: 802 E van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85006-3366
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#42 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Phoenix Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Phoenix Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Springhill Suites
SpringHill Suites Phoenix Downtown Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing