We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown
Ranked #46 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
london
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 2 September 2010

No problems with this hotel, modern and clean with good service. Good for a stopover

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gezra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    194
    107
    55
    27
See reviews for
136
99
81
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
808 reviews
236 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

As a Hilton Diamond member, I am a big fan of the HGI chain. This one is comparable to most, but definitely is not a standard HGI. It is in an older partially renovated hotel, so not the typical HGI layout. Most of the prior comments are on-the mark. Yes, some units you have to walk outside to another building (tower), yes, it is hard to find the dining room, and yes, the parking lot is a hassle - located on the other side of an office building from the hotel. On the plus side, the parking was free, the room (and bathroom) was very spacious and well equipped. The heating/cooling system worked well and was quiet. On the negative side, the room was not real clean - shower tiles had some mildew in the caulking and the carpet appeared dirty. Second, there was a shortage of electrical (AC) outlets - 4 for the entire room and all were in use - including a large extension cord that allowed two lamps and a clock radio to plug into one outlet (fire safety?). Although there were 3 plugs on the side of the desk for electronics, CPAP users will be dismayed to find there were no outlets by the bed available unless you unpluged a lamp or clock from the extension cord. When will hotels realize that lots of people with sleep apnea use these medical devices by their beds at night. Why can't they get lamps with AC outlets in them - like many hotels (and other HGI's) do. This was a big issue for me. If I was in this area of town, I would probably return because overall it is a decent hotel and meets my basic needs, but it is nothing close to being as nice as the Hilton in Chandler, or many other HGI properties.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drichrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights.

Reception: Friendly and efficient

Room: The hotel consists of 2/3 buildings so you may have to cross the pool area to get to your room. This was the case for me and it takes approx 5 minutes. Not a problem for me and I it has taken me longer to get to my room in other hotels

The room was clean and functional. I have stayed in a number of other hilton hotels and this, while not bad was the lowest calibre. There is free wireless access in all rooms also.

Pool: Pool was heated and the area was quite nice.

Breakfast: Catered for most tastes

Location: It is a 30 second walk away from central avenue and a few minutes walk to the tram.

Overall a decent hotel. I would recommend having a look at other hotels nearby though.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2009

good place

good rooms

good food

good service

  • Liked — good food and good staff
  • Disliked — laundry service only in one building on the 3rd floor and gym not directly owned by the hotel but offered free through other service provider
  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MONK09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
245 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

The hotel is clean, and the staff is friendly. However, there are serpentine hallways, and it is an older building.
The parking is a bit away from the main entrance.
If you need to be in Central Phoenix, the location is excellent - and it served our purposes quite well: instead of renting a car at the airport, we took a cab to the hotel ($25), and picked up our car the next morning at the Hertz right around the corner from the hotel, and saved all those airport fees (which, in Phoenix are HUGE) ...
Definitely wouldn't recommend this place for a Phoenix VACATION.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boeing767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Very disappointing for a Hilton property. Terrible configuration with many, if not most rooms, only accessible by going outside, around the pool, into another building and up the elevator. I was here on the weekend and there was no room service, no dining, and no bar. Even the gift shop was closed. There are no vending machines to even get a soda.

I'm not that picky but SOME kind of food or beverage service is not unreasonable is it?

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triad333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Needing a break from things back at home, it was time to head to the sun for some fun. I have stayed at various HiltonHHonors properties in the Phoenix area, and decided to stay close to the downtown area this time. After search for good rates, I decided to try this property and wasn't a bit disappointed! Once I got to the property, checked-in, and decided what I wanted to do, I realized the new Metro Light Rail line was less than 2 blocks away! (The Indian School Road/Central Avenue stop is the one you want for this hotel). The light rail takes you east to Mesa, and north to Montibello Ave/19th Street. This was the way to get around when you don't have a car!

The staff were very helpful and very gracious, very accommodating, and some of the best I've experience!! The property isn't your "typical" Hilton Garden Inn, this was apparently a hotel of a different name at one time. The common areas and rooms are dated and showing wear and tear, and need a re-do. The entire property could stand a major face lift. That's my only negative comment, everything else was outstanding.

As HiltonHHonors Gold, I got an upgrade to a king suite - very spacious and perfect for an extended weekend trip. I loved all of the room!

Breakfast coupons were also available. The breakfast offering is buffet with made-to-order omlets and waffles. I figured it was just another HGI standard breakfast buffet. I was amazed at how good the scrambled eggs were, along with the breakfast potatoes! This was one of the best breakfast buffets I've experienced in awhile. I could eat this every day but would gain more weight than I would like!! Great food, good service. The hotel does not offer lunch or dinner - the property is among corporate midtown Phoenix, so weekends are very quiet. Perfect time to come for a get away!

The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle within a five mile radius -- a trip to Biltmore Fashion Park was a nice change of pace.

All in all, this was a great experience, the property is in the midtown area of Phoenix. If you don't have a car, there are various restaurants you can walk to, or just hop the light rail ($10.50 for a 3-day unlimited pass) and head downtown. The Heard Museum and Phoenix Art Museum are 2-stops from the hotel. If you want to do in-room food, a Super Target is a light rail ride to the north at the Montibello/19th Avenue stop.

I highly recommend this property for business or leisure!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Encanto
Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area
Encanto
Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Encanto
Hilton Phoenix Suites
Hilton Phoenix Suites
#33 of 174 in Phoenix
750 reviews
Ramada Phoenix Midtown
#105 of 174 in Phoenix
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown
Address: 4000 N Central Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85012-1959
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Encanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#52 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#52 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Phoenix
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing