We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its the little things that make this spot special...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Ranked #10 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
CHANDLER, AZ
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Its the little things that make this spot special...”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Right down to the fact that the entire place smells amazing, like an upscale spa. Normally, I am not one for the ultracontemporary hotels. But this place is posh. They have a free wine reception for guests each evening, and a free coffee reception in the am. Great rooftop pool and bar. Have the Pimm's Cup, and city back and watch the Phx skyline! When I checked in, the front desk person walked from around the counter to hand me my key. They will even print your boarding pass for you and have it ready when you check out. Like I said, the little things. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIANNE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    205
    42
    26
    9
See reviews for
127
290
49
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SE, AZ
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This hotel is high on the list for quality, comfort, and dependability. I usually stay at a different hotel down the road, but it was full and this was selected by the corporate office. The check-in process was great with a coupon for $10 free in the room mini-fridge because I am a Kimpton member. I desired a coffee maker once I got settled in and the front desk had one in the room within minutes. They offer a wine happy hour at 5 and a coffee bar in the morning. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. I told the corporate office to make future reservations for me at this hotel. It is conveniently in the capital area and along the rail line for the Metro.

Room Tip: I was in an interior room on the 7th floor and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ind_sub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimpalomar1, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I'm so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. Isn't wine hour in the living room the best....so relaxing and we feature great wines from around the world each month. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.....
Sincerely,
Jim Hollister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a business trip and was not expecting much - got pleasently surprised! The staff was very friendly, helpful and always smiling. They were going the extra mile and offered extra service at no extra cost.
The room was nicely and modern decorated with two king size beds and a very nice bathroom. Loved their lotion, shower gel and shampoo as well. It smelled really nice.
The design was really nice.
The restaurant in the hotel is very nice as well. We had breakfast there on one of the days and it was really good and service was pretty fast and very friendly.
The hotel bar is great as well. Loved the design and the drinks came promptly.
All in all I would recommend this hotel and stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wunderbar_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Wasn't expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are small but clean and modern (nothing grand or super cool, but acceptable). Great bathroom especially for the small size of the room. Bed was comfortable. The best thing about the hotel was the restaurant, which was quite good for a Phoenix hotel restaurant. I had a nice meal of several starters and a couple glasses of wine for $60 which isn't badly priced.

One caveat: extreme party noise coming up from the street on a Friday night. I slept through it but you may not.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I stayed 4 nights on business, was there from 2/9-2/13/13, and had a thoroughly enjoyable and most satisfying stay at the Hotel Palomar in Phoenix! The Staff were superb, very personable, helpful, and always smiling! Kimpton must be a great company to work for, as it shows in their employees! The hotel itself is very chic, modern, artsy, and has a lot of beautiful details in its design...very high end but not over the top nor stuffy, and also very comfortable and inviting! My room was fantastic...I had a studio King suite that has a very large and deep soaking tub, in addition to a shower that is separate (both the tub and shower are within one large glassed in area, but shower head is separate from tub). There were some bath salts, and a nice loofah scrubby, and I enjoyed soaking in that tub every night I was there. The temperature of the bath was perfect too, as some hotels the water doesn't get hot enough. Shower nice too. My bed was extremely comfortable and I slept the best there than I've slept at home for months. Also, there was a nice desk in my room, as well as a very nice size sofa in the room. My only complaint about the room is that I wished there had been a dresser of drawers to keep some of my non-hanging clothes in. I saw a few spaces in the room where a custom dresser could fit, as I had to put my undergarments, casual clothing on the top shelf in the wardrobe that I could barely reach nor see up there (the Safe is up there too). The size of the wardrobe is nice and I was able to hang my business clothes with plenty of extra space, but wished there were drawers/dresser too. Temperature control in room was perfect and the room had great lighting, as well as a large window with blackout drapes. TV worked well too, though a little slow to respond sometimes when changing channel or adjusting volume. Food was amazing as well. I had Room Service two nights for dinner, from the hotel's Blue Hound restaurant...delicious, very good quality, served beautifully, and very enjoyable meals! I also had breakfast in the Blue Hound on my last day at the hotel, and that was delicious and enjoyable as well. For the other days/nights, I ate elsewhere in Phoenix. Finally, I just want to say that since my stay was close to my birthday, Richard, from Guest Services surprised me by having chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of Champagne brought up to my room for me. This was a very nice surprise and generous treat! Thank you! I've stayed at a Kimpton before and it will always be my #1 place to stay as long as they are where I travel...the little details, personable, pleasant staff who always make you feel like you are the only guest there and are ready to do whatever you request, the extreme comfort and quality of the hotel and room, including the wonderful hotel soaps/shampoos/etc., the complimentary wine hour every night...I can go on and on!

A truly marvelous stay and hotel...

Room Tip: I was on the 10th Floor, the highest, and while there was some construction noise during the day on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We just spent two weekend nights at the Hotel Palomar Phoenix and it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. The staff were pleasant and helpful, and the room was very attractive, large and comfortable. We had the opportunity to upgrade to a suite for a slight extra fee (I am a Kimpton InTouch Member, which is free and has good benefits.) The bathroom in the suite is impressive. We were tired when we arrived the first evening so ordered room service dinner. Service was prompt and the person who delivered our order was efficient and friendly. The food was very good. Since the hotel is downtown, it is very near to sports and entertainment venues and some really good restaurants. Our only regret is that we had to attend a conference outside the hotel and so did not have enough time to lounge around and enjoy our great room. This is a terrific hotel and we will return!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSBOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I was apprehensive about 10 days in Phoenix in August. But work is work and work took me to Cityscape. I was depressed by the prospect of tired old business hotels like the Hyatt and Sheraton and then I learned that the Palomar had recently opened. This review is long overdue and the entire stay exceeded expectations in every way.
The hotel is clean, modern and comfortable, however I must say that the built-in sofa in my suite was not the most comfortable piece of furniture. Looks like an interior designer decided to be clever and specify a built-in but missed the mark in execution. Otherwise the room was extremely pleasant and the bath and shower outrageously luxurious. Turndown and ice service was a pleasure. Service throughout the hotel was sincere. The only drawback is the hotel's restaurant and bar, which are very popular with locals, making them noisy and a "scene." But in 10 days on business, you really want in-room dining anyway. Concierge and front desk staff bent over backward to be helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amhjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#6 of 174 in Phoenix
814 reviews
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#1 of 174 in Phoenix
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#27 of 174 in Phoenix
1,895 reviews
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#19 of 174 in Phoenix
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Address: 2 East Jefferson Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2573 (Formerly Palomar Phoenix)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#6 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#22 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Sophistication. Artistic Expression. In constant pursuit of the extraordinary in urban downtown Phoenix. With big-city flair befitting the nation's sixth largest metropolis, Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix is contemporary, connected, and cosmopolitan. The prime downtown location in the shopping, dining, and nightlife hub known as CityScape positions guests among the best of the city, while upping the ante of upscale style and comfort. Impressively sleek design breathes chic peace and serenity into some of the largest rooms in Phoenix-at least 410 square feet-and takes luxurious comfort to a grand scale in the hotel's suites, spanning up to 1,700 square feet. It's a new frontier of four-star amenities, an ideal setting for guests to contemplate their next inspiring adventure while gazing over the urban landscape and distant mountains. Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix's third floor plays host to a stunning and inviting rooftop with a pool, cabanas (all with views of downtown Phoenix), and LUSTRE Rooftop Bar, an open-air bar with local and seasonal specialties. This spectacular perch is where guests and locals soak in the atmosphere, lounge poolside, feast on fresh juice by day and sip a cocktail by night, while reveling in the impeccable, exclusive service. The hotel's tailored environment also lends itself to 15,000 square feet of meeting and event space. Catering from Blue Hound Kitchen & Cocktails, famous for innovative fare, adds that last delicious detail. Intentionally understated and attracting the driven esthete, Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix wraps guests in a sharp, curated atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing