We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, not the best location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Ranked #4 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The hotel was great- very clean, modern and the staff was really friendly. The hotel is located in downtown Phoenix, which is really quiet on the weekends, but I only stayed one night, so it was fine. The pool was wonderful and the restaurant was good too. Complimentary coffee and newspapers in the morning with comfy couches to stretch out on.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimpalomar1, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thanks Lisa C!! Glad you loved the hotel....we loved having you here with us. We do have so much to offer with the great restaurants and bars located right here in the hotel. Actually, BlueHound is rated one of the best restaurants in downtown. Sorry you didn't like Downtown...it can be quite on weekends when there isn't much happening around the area but normally with all that CityScape has to offer.....there is a lot of hustle and bustle around the vicinity.

Come back and visit us again soon.

Jim Hollister
General Manager
Hotel Palomar Phoenix

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a great hotel in downtown Phoenix this is your place. Close to everything downtown. Us Airways center is across the street. Chase field a very short walk. Free wine happy hour and a surprising free coffee and hot chocolate in the morning. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The only complaint would be hearing tge bass pumping from the pool bar at 2am.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 85281AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimpalomar1, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thanks for the review. I'm always excited to hear when our guest really enjoy all that the hotel and CityScape have to offer. Such a different downtown Phoenix is now days and one of the reasons why the reputation of downtown has changed so much over the past year with the addtion of us and CityScape. There are times you get a beat of the music from the downtown scene...not typically at 2am but I appreciate the comment. I encourge all possible guest of our hotel to always specify what they need at the time of reservation and if that is a quite room ( because you know a downtown property does have the sounds of the night) we will do our very best to honor that request. We want all of our guest comfortable.

Come and visit us again soon.....

Jim Hollister
General Manager
Hotel Palomar Phoenix

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My expectations were pretty high, given that I'm a big Kimpton Hotel fan, that the reviews were so good and that the property is brand new (18 months old, according to the guy at the front desk.) And those expectations were met. The lobby is very stylish, the rooms are sleek (maybe even a bit understated for Kimpton... the painting of the cartoonish blue ox above the bed was the only whimsical decoration. Fine by me; I liked it all.) The only criticism I have is that the housekeeping staff really used a heavy hand with the Febreze. Granted, I don't know what they were trying to cover up from the previous guest, so perhaps I should be grateful. But it was overpowering and took awhile to fade.

The hotel's location at CityScape is mostly a good thing. The restaurant selection is nice, the new Gold's Gym (free to guests) is terrific. The US Airways Center is directly across the street. Two notes of caution, though: the traffic on this particular Friday afternoon, due to construction, was quite snarled. I don't know how temporary of a situation this is, but it sure was a pain. Secondly, though it's not the hotel's fault, the fact that it is located inside an entertainment complex meant that music -- vacillating between noticeable and disturbingly loud -- played throughout the night. I'm a pretty heavy sleeper, so I wasn't kept up by it, but light sleepers would be. I recommend that if that would be of concern to you, you should inquire about the location of the quieter rooms when you check in. It shouldn't deter anyone from staying here, though... this is a very nice option in downtown Phoenix.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank George_PConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Our recent stay at Hotel Palomar in Phoenix was a memorable one. We decided to book the hotel's New Year's Eve package with a group of friends. The experience was top-notch. Not only was the package extremely affordable (included hotel stay, 2 4-course dinners at Blue Hound and a champagne toast), it was made extra special by the staff. We received an upgrade at check-in and the hotel booked our group nearby one another. The rooms are comfortable, stylish, clean and have spectacular views of Downtown Phoenix. The staff is friendly, attentive and warm. The restaurant inside the hotel, Blue Hound, is not to be missed. We attended the New Year's Eve party on the hotel's rooftop - Luster. It was really fun, great music, a good crowd of people (not too jam packed) and we had a server who regularly came by so we wouldn't have to wait in line at the bar for drinks. Everyone in our party was impressed by the experience. We can't wait for next year to make Hotel Palomar our New Year's Eve tradition!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBTraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimpalomar1, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Happy New Year!! Hotel Palomar, LUSTRE and BlueHound really know how to throw a party don't we!! I'm so glad you and the friends had a great time. We want ringing in the NY at Palomar and CityScape to become the new tradition of Phoenicians. Thanks for sharing your experience
Come back and visit again soon....

Jim Hollister
General Manager
Hotel Palomar Phoenix

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

On our recent visit to Phoenix, we stayed at the Palomar Hotel. It's at a great location, center to many downtown activities. At check in, we received excellent service from John Frieda, where we learned we were living in the same small town that he grew up in. To our surprise, we returned that evening to find a bottle of wine and a fruit tray from John, with a note wishing us a nice evening and stay! We were very impressed with his over-and-above gesture. Also impressive were the rooms...very clean, tastefully decorated, and comfortable. Finally, a nice hotel worth the price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimpalomar1, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Hi Jamie, thank you so much for the review and kudo for our great employee John.....I believe you and I even spoke on the phone about your wondeful experience and I appreciate you sharing this with our Trip Advisor friends.
I will personally ensure that John receives the accolades from you and something special from us. You are close by ....come and visit us again soon. We appreciate the business.

Sincerely,

Jim Hollister
General Manager
Hotel Palomar - Phoenix

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The hotel is one of the best, if not the best in downtown Phoenix. The Lustre was a great place to ring in the new year. Rooms are colorful, clean and come with all the amenities. Who doesn't love a wine hour??

Stayed for New Year's, overall it was a good event. Only downside was the DJ. He wasn't the best I've experienced. All other aspects of the evening were great.

The staff was helpful and friendly. I travel a great deal, and there are many cities where I don't feel comfortable walking downtown. The area around the Hotel Palomar in Phoenix is pedestrian friendly with a good number of things to do.

Room Tip: As with many hip hotels, the pool is where it's happening. If you don't like the thump thump...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phxrattleraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimpalomar1, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Happy New Year....I'm so glad you enjoyed ringing in the new year with us. We had a blast and I believe everyone attending the festivities did as well. We will make it bigger and better next year for sure. Thank you for staying with us and look foward to celebrating with you again next year....if not sooner!!!

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Once again, Kimpton provides a completely wonderful experience. The room was lovely, well-kept, clean, and modern. The bathroom was spotless, the amenities high-end. We used the "sugarplum" code and ended up with free parking, which in downtown Phoenix saved us $30! The hosted cocktail hour was fabulous with free spiked apple cider. We also ended up getting a small snack at the hotel restaurant -an inventive appetizer with peppers and miso. We will definitely eat there next time we are in town.

The pool area is achingly cool -- on the third floor with striking views of the mountains, it has a real downtown city vibe, especially with the sports arena across the way and a very hip bar area that seems to be quite the hangout spot. The location of the hotel in general is great -- only a 10 minute drive from the airport and the Desert Botanical Garden, which is one of our favorite Phoenix places to visit. The restaurants in the area are very good -- we had a really yummy southwest breakfast at the Breakfast Club right next door and we've had good meals at the Arrogant Butcher. Cartel coffee is also within walking distance.

The staff at Kimpton are absolutely the best, most friendliest, seemingly happiest people on the planet. Everyone was attentive without seeming cloying or fake. Also, the In-Touch program is a MUST. They now offer a free $10 invitation to raid either the mini bar OR the bar, which meant a free Bloody Mary for me on that very cool skyline bar. Also, free internet.

I would mention that the deal I got on their website was absolutely spectacular. All of this was $87 dollars a night. Seriously? What a bargain :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astro17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#1 of 174 in Phoenix
490 reviews
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#8 of 174 in Phoenix
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#26 of 174 in Phoenix
2,033 reviews
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#19 of 174 in Phoenix
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix

Address: 2 East Jefferson Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2573 (Formerly Palomar Phoenix)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#6 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#22 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: £113 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Sophistication. Artistic Expression. In constant pursuit of the extraordinary in urban downtown Phoenix. With big-city flair befitting the nation's sixth largest metropolis, Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix is contemporary, connected, and cosmopolitan. The prime downtown location in the shopping, dining, and nightlife hub known as CityScape positions guests among the best of the city, while upping the ante of upscale style and comfort. Impressively sleek design breathes chic peace and serenity into some of the largest rooms in Phoenix-at least 410 square feet-and takes luxurious comfort to a grand scale in the hotel's suites, spanning up to 1,700 square feet. It's a new frontier of four-star amenities, an ideal setting for guests to contemplate their next inspiring adventure while gazing over the urban landscape and distant mountains. Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix's third floor plays host to a stunning and inviting rooftop with a pool, cabanas (all with views of downtown Phoenix), and LUSTRE Rooftop Bar, an open-air bar with local and seasonal specialties. This spectacular perch is where guests and locals soak in the atmosphere, lounge poolside, feast on fresh juice by day and sip a cocktail by night, while reveling in the impeccable, exclusive service. The hotel's tailored environment also lends itself to 15,000 square feet of meeting and event space. Catering from Blue Hound Kitchen & Cocktails, famous for innovative fare, adds that last delicious detail. Intentionally understated and attracting the driven esthete, Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix wraps guests in a sharp, curated atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing