We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with my girlfriends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Ranked #2 of 173 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Friends of many years meet annually to catch up and enjoy a new city. If possible we pick a Kimpton because of the great service. The Palomar and its staff exceeded our expectations. The rooms were spacious, well decorated and very comfortable. We were on the eighth floor and were never disturbed by noise from the street or pool. The location was excellent. It was an easy walk to the ballpark...yes, the Dodgers were in town and what fun to see a game! We had dinner at the Blue Hound, very good, and delicious apps and wine at Lustre. Sitting on the roof watching the post game fireworks was a real highlight. We did several trips on the light rail which is cheap and easy to use.

But as is usually the case with Kimpton it was the service standard which really made the trip exceptional. From housekeeping to the front desk we were treated courteously and professionally. The property is clean and well maintained and there is a real pride taken by the staff. Great place, great people, great stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmcfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimpalomar1, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

HI.....it was so nice to meet you and your girlfriends while you were here. You did reach out to me prior to your stay to help with personally selecting your rooms......i'm so glad you did and I'm so pleased that we delivered.
We loved having you here and I'm so happy all of you continue to be big Kimpton Supporters. We love our Kimptonites and appreciate your loyalty.
Come back soon.

Jim Hollister
General Manager
Hotel Palomar Phoenix

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 760 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

From the moment we checked in on Friday night we received exceptional service from everyone that we encountered. The one person however that did stand out to us was Charlie! Charlie was our bellman! He went above and beyond to make our stay extremely memorable. He greeted us everyday throughout our 3 days always with a positive attitude and smile! We were celebrating an engagement and Charlie notified the restaurant and got us a beautiful table over looking the city with a great congrats card from the Blue Hound restaurant. The food at Blue Hound was wonderful! Great atmosphere as well! Our room was beautiful it overlooked U.S airways arena. The front desk supervisor Megan sent us such a sweet card with a great amenity! Everything was super clean and housekeeping was so on top of it! We would call down for service and immediately everything was taken care of! The rooftop pool was wonderful, great food and nice tanning area they even had a D.J on the weekend! Valet parking is 30.00 a day but they make it super convenient for you and also provide great service! I also wanted to give a big thank you to the Bellman Seidu! He had such a great smile and checked up on us throughout our whole stay! He provided wonderful service as well! 2 great employees! We will definitely be back! And we can't thank all the staff enough for making our stay one we will not forget!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILovetoTravel2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Did not start well following an e mail offer prior to arrival to have the option to upgrade our room, we said yes, but when we arrived found out it was not an "offer" but the full rate for the upgrade ,so we decided to stay with our original room type.
Problem, they had sold our room, conference, so we had to pay to upgrade or go elsewhere as they were full with the conference. After some heated discussion we were given the room at no extra cost.
Went to the pool bar for a drink after 5 hours on the road but could not get served due to the conference crowd.
Went to the restaurant bar, peace and quiet just getting served when the conference crowd moved in from the pool bar.
We left.
I have stayed at more hotels as a conference "person" than I care to remember but we had our own facilities and so did not affect other guests. The Palomar does not cater for both guest types at the same time.
Book at your own risk.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GEOFF P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

rooms are super cool. night club noise went well into the evening. tried to sleep, v difficult.
if you are looking to stay here on a layover - don't do it, trips to and from airport are 25 each way, no shuttle.

Room Tip: away from street, away from music of internal night club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimpalomar1, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thanks for letting us know about your stay with us back in December. I not sure when you were here but there were a few nights of celebrating in downtown Phoenix with the holiday and Ny"s Eve. Nevertheless, we caused you a sleepless night and something we can't change unfortunately. If you are ever back in the area please feel free to reach out to me directly and I will personally select your room to ensure you have a wonderful sleepfilled night.
Thank you for your business.

Sincerely,
Jim Hollister
General Manager
Hotel Palomar Phoenix

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel is very good, although not spectacular. The room is very spacious, it is very close to downtown. you can walk to the Stadium, you can walk to the conferences venue. the quality of sleep is also very good.
on the minus side, the lack of a breakfast, although you can have very good breakfasts on the street nearby. also charging for internet (free if you are part of their loyalty program) and charging US$30 for valet parking is outrageous.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValterNF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Great location, right downtown and not far from the airport. Hotel has a great modern design.

We had a nice king size room with a big bathroom including a big tub.

Love the wine hour and the pool looked great.

The gentleman at the front desk who checked us in was great and gave us a great recommendation for dinner!

We self parked the car which saved a couple dollars.

Will definitely stay again when in the area!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jaronning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I'm so glad I discovered this hotel in downtown Phoenix. Not only is the location convenient (to downtown endeavors and the airport), but the hotel is modern and comfortable and offers great food, cocktail, and pool lounging options. The staff and concierge are knowledgeable and friendly, and although I had only stayed a couple of times (separated by several months) they recognized and acknowledged my return. Any of my return trips to Phoenix will incorporate a stay here at the Palomar.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrPlanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimpalomar1, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear DR. Planto...Palomarvelous....I think we found a new description of our hotel. That is great!! Thank you for the wonderful review and for letting our future guest know about your experience. Come back and visit us again soon.

Jim Hollister
General Manager
Hotel Palomarvelous.....love it!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#1 of 173 in Phoenix
520 reviews
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#11 of 173 in Phoenix
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#23 of 173 in Phoenix
2,135 reviews
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix

Address: 2 East Jefferson Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2573 (Formerly Palomar Phoenix)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#6 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: £159 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Sophistication. Artistic Expression. In constant pursuit of the extraordinary in urban downtown Phoenix. With big-city flair befitting the nation's sixth largest metropolis, Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix is contemporary, connected, and cosmopolitan. The prime downtown location in the shopping, dining, and nightlife hub known as CityScape positions guests among the best of the city, while upping the ante of upscale style and comfort. Impressively sleek design breathes chic peace and serenity into some of the largest rooms in Phoenix-at least 410 square feet-and takes luxurious comfort to a grand scale in the hotel's suites, spanning up to 1,700 square feet. It's a new frontier of four-star amenities, an ideal setting for guests to contemplate their next inspiring adventure while gazing over the urban landscape and distant mountains. Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix's third floor plays host to a stunning and inviting rooftop with a pool, cabanas (all with views of downtown Phoenix), and LUSTRE Rooftop Bar, an open-air bar with local and seasonal specialties. This spectacular perch is where guests and locals soak in the atmosphere, lounge poolside, feast on fresh juice by day and sip a cocktail by night, while reveling in the impeccable, exclusive service. The hotel's tailored environment also lends itself to 15,000 square feet of meeting and event space. Catering from Blue Hound Kitchen & Cocktails, famous for innovative fare, adds that last delicious detail. Intentionally understated and attracting the driven esthete, Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix wraps guests in a sharp, curated atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing