We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Very clean and pleasant hotel. Prompt, efficient service. Valet for car was $30 per day, but they were quick.
With a car, the location was convenient even though we spent most of our time in other parts of Phoenix and Scottsdale. We also liked the restaurants and theater that were within easy walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antelope2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    212
    43
    26
    9
See reviews for
137
297
50
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is my first stay at a Palomar Hotel. If all hotels are run with this type of service, I'm in! The staff throughout the entire hotel was professional and top notch, without being stuffy. By far, the most professional and no-job-falls-outside-my-responsibility-minded group I have witnessed in my travels. Rooms were great, housekeeping was fantastic. Wine and pizza hour daily was a nice reprieve from a long day at work. The view of South Mountain was great and the foot traffic from the Diamondbacks and Suns games was fun to watch and be a part of. The location in the Cityscape area provided lots of things to do, and the Lightrail comes within blocks of the hotel. Makes it easy for us flight commuters.

I had concerns with this being a pet friendly hotel, that I would struggle to find a pet-free room (I have terrible allergies)...but, the staff contacted me by phone after my online booking to reassure me they have dedicated rooms that are pet free.

Again..there are a lot of reasons to stay here, but the professionalism of the staff and the quality of the amenities is really what will bring me back!

Room Tip: Skyline Room (specifically ask for South mountain view) and the higher floors, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BizTraveler_FarmKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Spent one night here recently when attending a Diamondbacks game. The hotel is an easy walk from Chase Field, so the location is great. Loved the colorful, contemporary decor. The room was nicely decorated and spacious. Front desk staff, bell and valet staff were very friendly and helpful. The "poor" service rating I gave is in reference to the pool bar (see below).

There was no coffee pot in the room, which seemed quite odd. My room on the 4th floor must have been above the pool bar or nearby Tilted Kilt...quite a bit of noise wafting up during the night.

After the game, wanted to enjoy the rooftop deck/pool area. Tried several times to order, but could not get a server or help from bartender. Seemed to be understaffed - on a night when 30,000 people were at the nearby stadium. Finally just gave up.

Oh, and $30 for parking? Excessive!

Room Tip: If you want quiet, be sure you are not facing near the pool bar or nearby nightlife.
See more room tips
Green Features: Glad to know of it, feel it is important. Towel reuse is very good idea, as well as recycling receptacles placed in rooms.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimbolina55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimpalomar1, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for the review! I'm sorry that we didn't deliver the typical stellar service that we are known for. You can be assured that I have shared your comments with our LUSTRE BAR team for their follow up. I wish it would have been better but nevertheless I'm glad I know you didn't have a good experience.
Thanks for the nice comments about the valet and front desk teams. They are wonderful and here to take care of all your needs like a coffee maker, we do have them and offer them on request or you can take advantage of the great coffee/tea/ice coffee we offer complimentary in the living room each morning. As for the noise, yes we do get it from time to time and we do recommend to our incoming guest to request a room away from the active downtown to ensure they get a good nights sleep. It is hard for us to pin point when noise will occur but as in any large downtown city it kind of comes with the territory.
Thanks for the business and hope you will come back and visit us again soon.
Sincerely,

Jim Hollister
General Manager
Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellaire, TX
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was my first adventure in traveling to a hotel with my puppy, but the Hotel Palomar made it very easy for us. Oliver was welcomed as if he was a valued guest and he really enjoyed his stay! A green grassy area is just outside the front door and around the corner. We met many interesting pets and owners there. The staff at the hotel were all helpful and friendly and the accommodations were nice. I am definitely sold on Kimpton!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roldew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Palomar two weekends ago. As a downtown property, there is a valet to park your car. For those interested in parking yourselves, it gets a little bit tricky, but not insurmountable. Just next door, there is a public parking garage that is expectedly pricey, the same price charged by the hotel. For some reason, on the Sunday when we were leaving after checkout, we did not have to pay as the attendant was gone and the gate was up. Not too sure why.....

After arriving, the trip from the parking garage to the hotel was a little bit of an adventure. We did not exactly know how to get to the hotel, but the elevator signs helped out. So did the parking garage building's front desk person. We had a short walk over to the Kimpton site. Actually, it was pretty fun; like a scavenger hunt of sorts!

The check-in was fast and smooth. We arrived after the 5 o'clock wine hour, so I cannot comment on that.

This property is extremely neat and clean. It is upscale chic/cosmopolitan and we loved it. There is an outdoor pool area on the third floor, as well as a "happening and hip" bar. The pool is shaded due to the floor above which we found to be wonderful on a hot day. We watched planes coming in for a landing, enjoyed the outdoors and people watching while sipping our favorite beverage.

There is a restaurant and a spa at this location, but we did not experience this during our visit.

The cleanliness of our room was excellent. There were no bugs seen. We had a ninth-floor room that overlooked north. No balcony. Our room was very quiet and comfortable.

The location of this resort is convenient to the US Airways Center, a concert hall featuring huge names. James Taylor and Paul McCartney are coming soon!

We definitely will be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SedonaMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is a terrific hotel from every perspective - - service, location, style and comfort. Everyone on the staff was helpful, pleasant and capable from the moment of our arrival. The lounge area adjacent to the pool was like relaxing at a lovely oasis and the food at The Blue Hound was creative. We will definitely recommend this spot to our friends and will definitely stay here again on our next stop in Phoenix. It was outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWinMICH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix, az
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We once again decided to do a staycation at the Palomar. We live less than three miles away, but have found that this true gem in downtown Phoenix is by far Phoenix's best asset. It is hands down the most unique hotel in central Phoenix, and its location is second to none. The staff is attentive and helpful, cleanliness is second nature to the staff and even with all the activity of a central city, the rooms are quiet. When there, we try to take in as many of the amenties as possible including wine hour, The Blue Hound, Lustre, and RePose. Not to mention other off property activities which there are many.

The Palomar is an awesome, silvery sleek new addition to the Phoenix skyline and we are very proud and honored to be able to enjoy all it has to offer.

Room Tip: Weekends, if you're a late sleeper or early to bed, you may want to request a room on the west s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phxrattleraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#6 of 174 in Phoenix
824 reviews
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#1 of 174 in Phoenix
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#27 of 174 in Phoenix
1,941 reviews
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Address: 2 East Jefferson Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2573 (Formerly Palomar Phoenix)
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#6 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#22 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Sophistication. Artistic Expression. In constant pursuit of the extraordinary in urban downtown Phoenix. With big-city flair befitting the nation's sixth largest metropolis, Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix is contemporary, connected, and cosmopolitan. The prime downtown location in the shopping, dining, and nightlife hub known as CityScape positions guests among the best of the city, while upping the ante of upscale style and comfort. Impressively sleek design breathes chic peace and serenity into some of the largest rooms in Phoenix-at least 410 square feet-and takes luxurious comfort to a grand scale in the hotel's suites, spanning up to 1,700 square feet. It's a new frontier of four-star amenities, an ideal setting for guests to contemplate their next inspiring adventure while gazing over the urban landscape and distant mountains. Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix's third floor plays host to a stunning and inviting rooftop with a pool, cabanas (all with views of downtown Phoenix), and LUSTRE Rooftop Bar, an open-air bar with local and seasonal specialties. This spectacular perch is where guests and locals soak in the atmosphere, lounge poolside, feast on fresh juice by day and sip a cocktail by night, while reveling in the impeccable, exclusive service. The hotel's tailored environment also lends itself to 15,000 square feet of meeting and event space. Catering from Blue Hound Kitchen & Cocktails, famous for innovative fare, adds that last delicious detail. Intentionally understated and attracting the driven esthete, Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix wraps guests in a sharp, curated atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing