We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location times 3”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Ranked #10 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Location times 3”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were in town for the James Taylor concert and could not have picked a better location! This cool hotel is directly across the street from US Airways Center. The staff was super friendly and sweet. We mentioned at check-in that it was my birthday and surprisingly the nice man at check-in had a bday the following day, so he kindly gave my husband 2 free drink tickets for the Blue Hound! An hour or two later, we had a knock at the door and it was a bottle of sparkling wine and the cutest birthday card complete with James Taylor lyrics and a hand drawn picture! What a neat surprise and so classy! Thank you to Tim (birthday sharer) and Nicole and staff! You made my birthday extra special and the awesome concert helped too!!! Thank you !!

Green Features: We didn't get a chance to use them, but the bicycles available to borrow and the cute dogs we saw checking in were neat!
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    205
    42
    25
    9
See reviews for
127
289
49
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I love doing staycations in Phoenix during the hot summer months because the rates are so great. So the 1st stop on my summer tour of phoenix hotels and I was not disappointed. The front desk was awesome! Super friendly and attentive. I brought my dog with me and when i arrived in my room there was a doggie bed and bowls waiting for Kermit.
For humans the room is large and bright. You can tell that the decor was thoughtfully placed and kept the modern feeling of the building. The pool is a rooftop pool overlooking downtown which is a great bonus for people watching. There is plenty to do around the hotel with restaurants and shops located right next to the property.
If you join the loyalty program, you get $10 to raid the minibar and free internet service. Parking is pricey at $30/night but they were offering a parking package through AAA when I stayed that offered free parking. I wish there was a Kimpton in every city I travel to because I just can't get enough of their service, style and rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grnbug2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed at Palomar with my sister and friends during Phoenix Comicon and they wont stop thanking me for booking here. In the lobby everyone was greeted by the staff who were incredibly friendly and excited to help us, then we got to our suite and the girls lost it! The room is beautiful, well designed and decorated, and it felt more like an apartment; so spacious!

The place is surrounded by several restaurants and is walking distance to the Convention Center but was out of the way of most of pedestrian traffic so it felt very laid back. If I had my way I'd stay here every time I visit Phoenix, and I HIGHLY recommend it.

Only thing to add is call ahead to figure out parking if you don't go through the hotel's reservations page and get the parking package. They share a garage with the entire City Center so it may cost you if you don't plan ahead.

Room Tip: Call ahead to figure out parking if you don't go through the hotel's reservations page and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNJewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel Palomar in Phoenix. What a wonderful staff! From the reception desk to the valet and bell station, the entire team was friendly and incredibly helpful! We came to town for baseball and the location was perfect for Chase Field, the US Airways Center, the convention center, restaurants and shopping. Great value and I would recommend it for anyone heading to Phoenix! A beautiful boutique hotel with a friendly team!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We took a father/son trip to catch a few Diamondback games, and play some golf. The location cannot be beat. Very close to the airport, and a 4 minute walk to Chase Field. The only time we used our rental car besides our one day of golf, was to enjoy Matt's Big Breakfast (twice!) about a mile away. That place is a must!

The front desk staff at Hotel Palomar is perhaps its greatest asset. To a person, they were very friendly, incredibly helpful and always professional. Huge kudos to Becca, Rob, Tim, and especially Devin for making us feel so welcomed. After overbooking the room type we reserved, we were upgraded to a corner suite. I can't say enough about Hotel Palomar's fantastic customer service...

The only reason I rated this hotel a 4 -- and not a 5 -- was the disc jockey's constant, loud thumping bass music at the pool. This, however, was only a problem on Saturday night --- and we were immediately moved to the quieter side of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you are there over a weekend, get a room away from the pool --- disc jockeys with constant loud m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I had tickets to see Billy Joel at US Airways Center on Sunday June 1. We like to stay downtown when we attend events like that and usually stay at the Hyatt. After searching on line this hotel popped up. I had remember seeing this hotel earlier in the year but mistook it for an apartment building. In reality, this hotel occupied the first 10 floors and the apartments occupy the next 10.

We chose a Deluxe King City Scape room and took advantage of the $50 food and beverage credit. The credit can be used at the Pool Bar, room service and/or the Blue Hound Restaurant. The hotel is classified as a "Luxury Boutique Hotel". I can say that is is much more then that.

We arrived in the front and valet parked our car; it's well worth the $30 for 24 hours and you get in and out privileges. There were at least three bell hops offering us assistance. Our wait to check in was less then 5 minutes as the front desk was fully manned. We learned that the majority of guests were in town for the same concert we were attending. We had arrived just after 3pm and were told our room was not ready yet. The lobby has some sofas to sit on , but the girl who helped us told us to go up to the 3rd floor, where the pool is and they will call my cell when the room is ready. We chose that option.

The pool is amazing and sits on the 3rd floor with a view of downtown Phoenix. Every weekend in he summer during their "100 days of summer" there is a pool party which is opened to the public. They play great music, have a full bar and food. There were loungers everywhere and day beds and even private cabanas. The place was hopping but we found two seats at the bar. The bartender took our order and asked if we wanted to bill it to the room to take advantage of the credit. When we told her our situation she personally called downstairs and asked about our room. when we were told not just yet, we had another round. A few minutes later the manager on duty personally came up and gave us our room and said "it's a great room, you'll love it". It was beautiful room on the 5th floor.

The room was huge. King bed, large sofa, enough room for another king bed. The bathroom had an old fashioned deep soaking tub that was in with the shower. This hotel didn't leave anything out. They had bath salts, bath robes, even a black cloth to remove your make up. If you forgot anything they would provide free of charge. My wife needs daily medication and we had asked for a mini refrigerator. The front desk told us we should use the mini bar fridge because, unlike many hotels, there is not charge for opening it and removing items; this saves us $25.

Between 5-7pm there is a "wine Hour" on floor 2 where the Blue Hound restaurant is. They have a full living room type setting with tons of comfortable couches or bistros to sit at. We got some wine then asked about the wait for dinner. The hostess told us at least an hour, but as we turned to go, another hostess stopped us and said they just had a cancelation and could sit right now. The food was very unique and delicious, reasonably priced and huge portions. Thanks to the mini bar usage, we took left overs back to the room.

The concert was great , but that's another review.

The room was centrally situated near the elevators but we didn't hear them at all; very sound proof.
We ordered room service the next morning. The menu is not your usual "eggs any style" although that is available. There were sourdough Panini's, omelets , poached eggs, exotic fruits, all delicious and again huge portions. The only negative I'd ever give was the time room service took; just over an hour. Otherwise it was perfect.

Check out was just as easy and our car was pulled around for us while we were checking out.

We will definitely stay again and at other Kimpton Hotels since we joined their loyalty program.

We are with in waling distance to the US Airways arena, Chase Field , and the light rail is right out front.

Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: All re good, but splurge fro the City Scape Deluxe; well worth the little extra money
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent. Rooms are all environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koyote1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great location near the airport and sports venues. Very professional and accommodating staff. Free access at nearby Gold's Gym. Rooms are modern, spacious with good beds, tv channels and bathrobes. Everything here is a top notch. Nothing more to say.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#6 of 174 in Phoenix
814 reviews
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#2 of 174 in Phoenix
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#27 of 174 in Phoenix
1,886 reviews
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#19 of 174 in Phoenix
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Address: 2 East Jefferson Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2573 (Formerly Palomar Phoenix)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#6 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#22 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Sophistication. Artistic Expression. In constant pursuit of the extraordinary in urban downtown Phoenix. With big-city flair befitting the nation's sixth largest metropolis, Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix is contemporary, connected, and cosmopolitan. The prime downtown location in the shopping, dining, and nightlife hub known as CityScape positions guests among the best of the city, while upping the ante of upscale style and comfort. Impressively sleek design breathes chic peace and serenity into some of the largest rooms in Phoenix-at least 410 square feet-and takes luxurious comfort to a grand scale in the hotel's suites, spanning up to 1,700 square feet. It's a new frontier of four-star amenities, an ideal setting for guests to contemplate their next inspiring adventure while gazing over the urban landscape and distant mountains. Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix's third floor plays host to a stunning and inviting rooftop with a pool, cabanas (all with views of downtown Phoenix), and LUSTRE Rooftop Bar, an open-air bar with local and seasonal specialties. This spectacular perch is where guests and locals soak in the atmosphere, lounge poolside, feast on fresh juice by day and sip a cocktail by night, while reveling in the impeccable, exclusive service. The hotel's tailored environment also lends itself to 15,000 square feet of meeting and event space. Catering from Blue Hound Kitchen & Cocktails, famous for innovative fare, adds that last delicious detail. Intentionally understated and attracting the driven esthete, Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix wraps guests in a sharp, curated atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing