We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel and Spa
Ranked #15 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Place to Stay!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Totally love this place. Have been here a few times and it is a great stay-cation for my boyfriend and I. Everything about it is great; the renovated retro look and feel, the pool is so fun! Gallo Blanco and the bar serve delicious food and drinks. As an added bonus, Zach, has just as good a mustache, if not better, as the images of Wyatt Earp on the room walls!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    792
    303
    114
    62
    40
See reviews for
155
392
134
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Very conveniently located , close to light rail & downtown. Beautiful and clean hotel with a wonderful and always helpful staff. I
We haven't stayed here but we have visited. It is always a great time. Great restaurant and we
Love the pool!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank eacalhoun13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

If you need a great place to stay this is the place. Centrally located with many options of
Night life fun. Even if you are a local as I am. We stay there just to get away from home every now and then. Fantastic food, beautiful rooms and an outstanding pool to hang out and just relax.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravioli7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Gone are the days of chain hotels! If you want a great experience at a hotel, The Clarendon is the central Phoenix oasis that one wants to return to again and again.
The rooms are large with great air conditioning. (Beating the heat in the summer is to priority). Which leads me to The Clarendon Hotel's pool... filed with salt water, it is gentle to the skin. The Jacuzzi is adjacent to the pool. The pool area is crafted of glistening mosaic tiles, giving the area a glow of gold. At night, the bottom of the pool looks like it has stars from the sky shining out from the bottom of the pool. How many hotels have service at the pool from the adjacent restaurant? Cafe Gallo and The Clarendon offer the best customer service. The rooftop deck offers a fine view of Phoenix from above. Tucked away from the main arteries of Phoenix, The Clarendon is just the place you want to stay. Friends from out of town? Direct them to the Clarendon. Staycation in the future? Make it at the Clarendon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VonKorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

As a local, I spend many a day at hotels for personal mini stay-cations, as well as visiting friends from out of town. What I love about the Clarendon is it's unique style and savior faire surroundings. It's a superb spot for locals and travelers alike. We can stop in for an evening of yoga on the rooftop, or by day around the pool. We can then head into Gallo Blanco for some of the most amazing hand crafted cocktails and tacos in town! Sublimely hip and trendy, yet approachable and down to earth. One of my all time local faves for a day of lounging by the pool and always my first referral for out of town guests. Need a break from the Scottsdale resort norm, then The Clarendon is your place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Love..love this boutique hotel. One of my favorite stay"cations". So blessed it's in my city. Staff is helpful, friendly and who doesn't love late night snacks!!! Roof top bar is unique to the area and a great place to visit with friends. The Gallo Blanco is also a an added bonus with not your typical Mexican food restaurants. Often a meeting place for my friends.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahmsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We are locals, and huge fans of The Clarendon Hotel! My husband and I have spent two anniversary staycations here, and we couldn't have asked for a better time! The annual Halloween bash is not to be missed either: great music, the best people-watching in town and service that knocks any other hotel into the last century! We love the fun,funkiness, and hometown feel of The Clarendon, and I would recommend it to everyone!

Green Features: The hotel is very eco-conscious with charging stations for electric cars, bicycles available for guest use, recycled materials used in construction, beautiful local landscaping and a million other little awesome details that are too many to list!
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juleah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#1 of 174 in Phoenix
403 reviews
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#6 of 174 in Phoenix
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel and Spa

Property: The Clarendon Hotel and Spa
Address: 401 W Clarendon Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85013-3411
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#14 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#26 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#46 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarendon Hotel and Spa is located in the heart of Phoenix, close to the convention center, museums, parks, shopping, theaters, sports venues and concert halls. Walking distance to two Metro rail stations - $4 for a 24 hour pass, the system runs 24 hours (except 1am to 4am Monday through Thursday) and provides direct access to the Phoenix Sky Harbor airport SkyTrain. Full service spa on site. El Techo, our gorgeous rooftop SkyDeck overlooking the city skyline and surrounding mountain ranges, and the Oasis pool area with heated pool and jacuzzi and the world's largest outdoor water wall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Phoenix
The Clarendon Hotel And Spa Phoenix, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing