We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best boutique hotel in Phoenix”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel and Spa
Ranked #17 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best boutique hotel in Phoenix”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Love the pool and very hip rooms and rooftop views!!!!! I loved the service and super clean rooms. Would go back for a stay cation in a heartbeat! This is a best kept secret of the valley. Would not stay anywhere else in the downtown area. Hotel is close to everything!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tpastor1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    805
    310
    117
    63
    41
See reviews for
161
400
134
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel was very outdated, although the pics make it look new and cool. The velveteen headboards, plastered walls, and overall OLD look, made it feel nasty and sticky. I will never return! REFUND!!

Room Tip: You'd need a shower just to walk down the halls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynnann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, Owner at The Clarendon Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
I'm so sorry that you gave us one star... it's very rare that we get such a review, and we do have a satisfaction guarantee... I'm not sure if you took advantage of this, but we want all of our guests to be completely satisfied.

On a positive note, you should know that we've done so much to The Clarendon Hotel and Spa since I purchased the hotel 11 years ago... and a lot of the work has been done very recently. We're currently the top Zagat rated hotel in Central Phoenix and in fact are the only Zagat rated hotel in Central Phoenix, and a favorite hotel of locals.

As far as the images of the hotel used online, they were taken by myself and employees of the hotel using our digital cameras and mobile phones, no professional photography trickery there. I'd hope that you could elaborate in a positive manner rather than a passive aggressive manner and let us know what it is we could improve to make your experience better.

As far as the headboards, they're not velveteen, they're made of a microsuede, and they are being replaced as we speak. We're using a company that makes furnishings for some of the highest end hotels in the world, and I think you'll be pleasantly surprised when you see the furnishings at the end of the summer. We're also repainting all of the rooms this summer, and I think you'll like the new color scheme and look and feel of the room interiors. Just our new showers alone will be the best hotel showers in Phoenix with overhead rainfall features, a waterfall feature, and side jets to massage your entire body while you're showering.

Don't forget about our complimentary yoga, our complimentary sessions with a personal trainer, our flamenco dance performances on Wednesdays, our live jazz on Thursdays, our completely free selection of snacks and drinks at the front desk, free international calls, high speed internet, and soon something that no other hotel does: completely free guest laundry services, coming in the next few weeks... no more paying $75 for 4 articles of clothing to be washed... we'll launder an entire load of laundry for you, free of charge!

Also, don't forget about our award winning pool and rooftop, complete with 20 cabanas, 8 of which are completely free to guests whereas other hotels would charge up to $500/day for their cabanas. And the pool, with its 50 person jetted hyrdotherapy pool that sits next to the world's largest glass water wall, next to an italian tile mosaic mural with 24k gold and 24k platinum tiles, and next to that is our heated pool, complete with fountains and underwater speakers and at night, a constellation of 1000 twinkling stars that look like the milky way galaxy. There's simply no other comparison, and this is the reason we win the award for best hotel pool year after year after year.

One thing I think that you'll enjoy seeing this summer as well is our completely new entrance, with a star studded walkway, sunflower heliostat, mid-century modern screen walls, lush desert landscaping, and an 85 foot long beam dropping water into a pool of water below. Also to come is an LED grid of lights, dropping from the pool area which will twinkle like stars one moment, like fireflies the next, like champagne bubbles the next, and in the winter like gently falling snow. It's going to be an art installation like no other, and we're really excited about it.

I truly believe that the essence of travel is to experience things that you would not experience at home, otherwise why bother traveling if you're just going to stay in a chain hotel that would be the same as you'd find at home. We use the same beds as 5 diamond hotels and the same linens as 5 diamond hotels, and one of our greatest compliments each day is our service and our beds.

Again, I'm so sorry that you didn't enjoy yourself... it really does sadden me to hear this, and I'll do everything possible to make sure that guests like you do have an excellent time during their stay... if you do come back, please let us know ahead of time and we'll do something extra-special for you to makeup for any shortfalls during your previous stay.

Also, don't forget about our 24 hour stays - we're one of the only hotels on planet earth to offer this at no extra charge. If you're staying just one night with us, you can check in at 7pm and stay until 7pm the next day with no questions asked or extra charges. We feel that it's unfair to guests to check into a hotel late at night and have to check out at 11am in the morning, because you're not getting your money's worth.

Come back, give us another try, I'm not sure how we were a 'miss' with your experience when so many people tell us upon departure that they can't wait to come back, that they wish that they could stay longer, and that they're coming back to Phoenix just for The Clarendon and nothing else.

Sincerely,
Ben Bethel
Owner and General Manager
The Clarendon Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Clarendon Hotel has a great pool, great breakfast, and good service. It's hidden gem in the southwest! I've been their for a wedding also and I loved the facilities! It really is a great hotel to stay at in the Valley of the Sun!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mgalindo0630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

i tour with bands 8 months out of every year... this is the place to stay in Phoenix to recharge your batteries. unfortunately i rarely get to spend more than 8 hours here at a time, but it's almost always the best 8 hours of that week.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selfstarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed at the Clarendon Hotel for a friends Birthday, I spent the evening on the beautiful rooftop, and enjoyed the lavish pool! I have to admit it was the most amazing experience! From the decor, outdoor spaces, to the food and the staff, I will always return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielSavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Staying at The Clarendon was amazing! My husband and I stayed here for a special weekend "date" and the experience did not disappoint! They have the MOST AMAZING pool area ever! We're local, so we're VERY picky about our staycation destinations. A MUST is to sneak away with a bottle of wine to the rooftop to enjoy the view! We met up with friends for dinner, which was GREAT! We would DEFINATELY come back!

Room Tip: Right off Central Ave., so grab a ticket on the light rail and ride! We went to Tempe to walk aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Great downtown hotel with a very popular and delicious restaurant Gallo Blanco, and a fantastic pool with a gigantic weeping wall at the pool. Just a great over all vibe and a fantastic careing staff! I love this place!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharonna65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#2 of 174 in Phoenix
467 reviews
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#7 of 174 in Phoenix
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel and Spa

Property: The Clarendon Hotel and Spa
Address: 401 W Clarendon Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85013-3411
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#14 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#26 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#46 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarendon Hotel and Spa is located in the heart of Phoenix, close to the convention center, museums, parks, shopping, theaters, sports venues and concert halls. Walking distance to two Metro rail stations - $4 for a 24 hour pass, the system runs 24 hours (except 1am to 4am Monday through Thursday) and provides direct access to the Phoenix Sky Harbor airport SkyTrain. Full service spa on site. El Techo, our gorgeous rooftop SkyDeck overlooking the city skyline and surrounding mountain ranges, and the Oasis pool area with heated pool and jacuzzi and the world's largest outdoor water wall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Phoenix
The Clarendon Hotel And Spa Phoenix, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing