We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel on a Long Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clarendon Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel and Spa
Ranked #16 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
1 review
“Best Hotel on a Long Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2010

This hotel was an oasis of excellence in a long cross-country trip punctuated by mediocre to disgusting overnight stays. The Clarendon stood out from the crowd so distinctly that we stayed an extra day in Phoenix just to savor all the amenities of this boutique hotel.

At first the service fee hit me in the face, but you get a LOT for it. Free parking, snack bar, turn down, free internet, bottled water, and on and on. You'd spend more than the service fee for even half of what it includes. Go for it! A good many hotels hit you with, "Oh by the way, parking is $XX a night" - and every little thing adds to the bill. Not at the Clarendon.

Best night's stay on the whole trip - best value, too.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Downsouthdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    290
    109
    61
    40
See reviews for
150
382
127
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sherman oaks ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

I found the Clarendon to be a wonderful hotel for business or leisure. The suites are beautiful, and the beds are the best! Never slept so well!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanjane_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

I JUST ADORE THIS PLACE!!! I live in the city and it's still a great place to go have drinks, lounge by the pool, or hang out on the rooftop and listen to good music. Couldnt be better :)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicanne08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

This hotel is fantastic, lovely, different style, comfortable.
Pool area is very very attractive, colorful with music.
Bar is great and gorgeous, gorgeous rooftop bar/area.
All this with friendly staff and great location.
What a great energy !!
Way to go Clarendon. Congratulations !
Maria Helena Silva
Phoenix/AZ

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaHelena_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

This place is lovely, cozy and inexpensive - just the opposiote of boring chain-hotels. I like The Clarendon in Phoenix, AZ very much: they have a cool pool with a huge hot tub, the design is very tasteful, the staff is friendly and helpful. There is a yummy Mexican-themend rastaurant, cool music everywhere, the rooms are spacy and comfortable. Don't expect it to be luxurous (the baths are a bit old), but it is fantastic value for the money.

Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank duessitussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHXBen, Owner at The Clarendon Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 20 November 2010
Thank you so much for your review - we love it when people "get it" and understand that we're basically great people with big hearts who care about our guests and want to make sure that you're having an awesome time at The Clarendon while in Phoenix.

When I bought The Clarendon just 6 years ago with friends and family members, using our home equity loans and credit cards, we had only one goal in mind: create something that the community would be proud of and create something that would make visitors think that phoenix was unique and different and cool and want to come back, and maybe one day the money would follow. Well, I think we're on the right path, although we're still waiting for the money part. ;-)

On the bathrooms, you'll be happy to know that we're working hard to improve them. 48 of the 105 guest rooms have been completed, and as the money comes in we're working on more - we just started 10 this last week now that the economy is coming back. We're resurfacing tubs, replacing the shower valves and hardware, getting fancy new shower curtains, black granite floors, artwork, etc. They're all going to be much much nicer.

Thanks again for your wonderful review - we appreciate your support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at the Clarendon. My room was really spacious, although I passed others that looked smaller. comfy bed and linens.

Staff is super friendly. The restaurant on site is DELICIOUS. The pool and the rooftop deck are the best parts.

The gym was horrible. really the worst I have seen in a long time. tons of equipment, but it was all about 20 years old. or older!

stay here if you want to eat good and lounge by the pool or enjoy the rooftop deck, dont if you must get in a great workout!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHXBen, Owner at The Clarendon Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2010
Thank you so much for your review, I really appreciate the positive comments about the rooms, beds, rooftop and restaurant!

I just wanted to correct you on the gym equipment - most of it is only 3 years old, with the exception of a few pieces of cardio equipment. We have balance balls, free weights, kettle bells, cardio equipment and about 20 machines - it is a bit cramped in there, but we have a lot of guests who stay with us just for the gym, including regional reps for EAS/Myoplex and other fitness companies, because other hotel gyms in the area are just a single machine and a few pieces of cardio equipment. We will be replacing the flooring soon and also will be repainting the gyms.

Thank you again for your comments - I really appreciate it! Many of our business travelers are choosing to book our cash-back business rates these days instead of worrying about points/miles.... we look forward to having you return to The Clarendon soon!

Ben Bethel
Owner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

I always look for independent hotels that are going to offer more of an experience than the big corporate generated properties so was excited to try the clarendon. At check-in the staff was friendly but I was horrified by the $15 service fee that I could not opt out of. They said it was to cover my parking, internet, and pool use as well as a glass of wine at check-in and chips or sodas at night. In AZ parking should be free, pool use should always be free for guests and its hard to find a hotel in the u.s. that charges for internet but even then you don't pay for it unless you want it...this is a cheap tactic employed by the hotel to raise the price of the room under your nose. I say just charge 15 extra and be an all inclusive hotel, then at least we know what to expect.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank this_is_me96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHXBen, Owner at The Clarendon Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Clarendon - I do appreciate it. Regarding the hotel service fee, I would like to take a moment to explain this so that it is better understood.

In our area (considered downtown by many Phoenicians, but is officially midtown), other hotels remain competitive on rate, but we still come out far ahead on extra fees.

Our $15 fee includes wine at check-in, parking, internet, international calls, turndown service with a gift, free bottled water, a free night-time minibar, and a $20 future stay credit.

Other nearby hotels charge $16-32/night for parking alone! Some charge $12.95-22.95 for internet! $8-12 for a glass of wine! $4-8 for a single bottle of water! $4 for a candy bar, $12 for nuts, etc. All of these are included in our fee, for less than the cost of a parking spot at a nearby hotel.

We would love to just raise our rates $15 but we have to remain rate competitive against other hotels in the area, or we don't get booked... on the positive side of things, we become even more affordable once you realize everything that you're getting for the $15. Some call us crazy, ask how we can do it, but it is well received by so many guests, as is our $20 cash back business rate, where many business travelers staying with us receive $20 in cash for every day of their stay - it's much better than other hotel point/loyalty programs.

We hope to see you again soon at The Clarendon!

Ben Bethel
Owner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#5 of 174 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#10 of 174 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#20 of 174 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel and Spa

Property: The Clarendon Hotel and Spa
Address: 401 W Clarendon Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85013-3411
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#14 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#27 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#47 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarendon Hotel and Spa is located in the heart of Phoenix, close to the convention center, museums, parks, shopping, theaters, sports venues and concert halls. Walking distance to two Metro rail stations - $4 for a 24 hour pass, the system runs 24 hours (except 1am to 4am Monday through Thursday) and provides direct access to the Phoenix Sky Harbor airport SkyTrain. Full service spa on site. El Techo, our gorgeous rooftop SkyDeck overlooking the city skyline and surrounding mountain ranges, and the Oasis pool area with heated pool and jacuzzi and the world's largest outdoor water wall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Phoenix
The Clarendon Hotel And Spa Phoenix, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing