We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best muni greens ever” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papago Golf Course

Papago Golf Course
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Affordable municipal golf course provides tree-lined, rolling fairways - atypical for the majority of desert courses in the area.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best muni greens ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great track for the price. Unbelievable greens and an interesting layout golf-wise. (There are lots of more expensive courses with more scenic appeal in the area). But this sure beats other traditional Scottsdale tracks like Orange Tree and McCormick Ranch. Greens are unbelievable. Fast and true. Attracts lots of local mini tour pros (I played with three). Can be slow. It's a muni, after all!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank martw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    29
    11
    0
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Carrollton, Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Too Pricy for the Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I visited here on a weekend golf getaway with a friend. We should have realized something was up when we were greeted at the entrance by attendants to take our clubs. We came at a very busy time and no tee times were available but noting our circumstance, they worked really hard to fit us in with another twosome. Having left Ohio to escape the unusually harsh winter, our game was way out of tune and Papago is not the place to tune things up. We were slightly aghast at the price for this municipal course but after they had worked so hard to fit us in at the inconvenience of the other twosome, it would have been awkward to back out. The course was well maintained, the greens our very, very firm and sticking anything with a mid-iron and longer is hard to hold the green. This is a desert course, which means you are severely punished for not hitting the fairways. It was a great round of golf but only because this was a special treat. I have never, and shall never again, pay $89 for a round of golf, especially a municipal course. Coming off the course the attendants clean you clubs and remove them, all for a tip. It was a nice stand alone experience, which based on the course alone I would repeat, however, never again at the Phoenix prices that are in play.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramlorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
146 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Golf used to be very affordable -- NOT now !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Papago used to be a great muni and we could play ALL DAY for about 15- 20 bucks.
Often we would play 36 or 54 holes in one day ! Fun and challenging golf course.

Now, it cost about 38 bucks for only nine holes ! This is the number one reason golf is
not growing. It has become much, much too expensive to play golf.
People want affordable golf. A city municipal course like this should
cost about 25 - 35 bucks for 18 holes.

It is sad more people are not enjoying golf like they used to. Golf needs to become
less greedy and lower the green fees. Especially in the Phoenix region.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Blake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
“DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Worst golf course I have played in AZ. Poor conditions on fairways & greens.
Save your time & your $$$!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
804 reviews
205 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,020 helpful votes
“Solid but not great shape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I played here on a cold January morning.

The course was full but we still got around in right at four hours.

The course has so much potential to return to its former glory.

I am hoping that when ASU golf moves over here they build a decent clubhouse and pump some additional cash into the course.

The greens need a bit of work but not much.

The fairways were in good shape.

The sand traps could use a bit more sand.

Overall, I was happy

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank arizonaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Papago Golf Course also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
 

Been to Papago Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing