We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Ranked #16 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Nice”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Had to be in the Scottsdale area on business for 3 nights and because many of the local hotels I stay at were full, I decided to stay at the Canyon Villas. I was pleasantly surprised and will likely stay here in the future instead of my usual locations.

1 bedtroom suite was modern and well-appointed. Room was very comfortable. I like the double balconies, water feature in the room, the full kitchen and washer and dryer. Generally i don't sleep well in hotels, but because this felt more like an apartment, I was able to get a lot of work done in the evening and a great night's sleep. This is in a convenient location and you can take advantage of the restaurants and spa at very close JW Marriott. Will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy3720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    214
    49
    31
    8
See reviews for
343
280
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Joe, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

It is like going home to see family. Sue Tan is such a gracious resort manager. It is quiet obvious that her staff is very fond of her and willing to go the extra mile. She is working to make activities at the resort enticing enough so that guests will want to remain at the resort and not wander off to other venues.

Room Tip: Everyone wants third floor with view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seffner, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I have been to many of the Marriott Vacation Club hotels. This one is in keeping with the high level of comfort and features that I would expect. Front desk is great. Check in was fast as can be, they were expecting us and just show photo ID and credit card, and off we went to the room. The pool bar was especially nice, food there was tasty, and drinks well made. They has some craft beer that is tasty for sure. I highly recommend this Marriott. We went to Sedona and Flagstaff from here, easy drive. The hotel is very simple to get to from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 775Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chardon, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Just spent 5 nights at the Marriott Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge. The property is lovely and you have the bonus of access to the J W Marriott which is located right across the street. We wanted to experience some of the "Diners, Drive-In and Dives" & "The Best Food I ever Ate" locations in the area. Scott, at the front desk, was very helpful and knowledgeable about many great dining options in Phoenix, Scottsdale and even Flagstaff. The front desk was able to print off maps for us as well, which made things much easier for us. Also, Paige, at the front desk was extremely helpful working with us to extend our stay when our flights got cancelled to to the "big" snowstorm that hid the country the first week of January. We enjoyed several of the planned activities offered - enjoyed them all. The sushi making class, bloody mary's and breakfast burritos - pool side, (Jean was so nice) and a trip to climb Pinnacle Peak were all very enjoyable. We are looking forward to going back to the lovely location to enjoy more of their hospitality and the areas natural beauty.
Housekeeping kept our room crisp and clean everyday : - )

Room Tip: We were in building 3200...nice and quiet, away from the main pool and office. We did overlook one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ETM02_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, NE
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Everything about the Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge met or exceeded our expectations., We were greeted most professionally and oriented to the many available amenities. We enjoyed the pools and the helpful, caring staff the most. Nearby dining and shopping was convenient. We were close to many friends and family who live or winter in the area. The first week of January was a great time to visit as the weather was nice and the facilities were not crowded.

Room Tip: Third floor, golf view was specatular and very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pescadero50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

As others have written, Canyon Villas is a typical Marriott property i.e. a very nice setting with spacious units. This was our first visit to the Phoenix area and we are proud to say that we never ventured into the city! We really liked the location just on its outskirts. It was less than a mile from a huge mall and grocery store. The highway was close enough to be convenient but not so close as to intrude.

We are hikers and somewhat recluses so the Canyon Villas served as a great base for our ventures. We hiked Sunrise peak on our first day. It was about 20 minutes from the Villas and the hike is recommended. You get a great introduction to the desert area (saguaros etc.) and a magnificent view of the greater Phoenix area. It was about 5 miles round trip upwards to the peak but had a very well maintained trail.

We then ventured a little further out to the Supersitition Mountains about 1 hour and 15 minutes away. We hiked the LaBarge Canyon Box. That was a 12 mile round trip (you don't have to go as far as we did to enjoy beautiful scenery) but it was worth the detour. It was one of the highlights of our trip. We would love to hike more in that area in future visits. For us it is “hike all day and then camp out at the Marriott!”

We then took a day trip up to Sedona just to see the area. We took the main highway almost to Flagstaff. Just before Flagstaff there is a scenic and snowy 2 lane highway back toward Sedona. It was spectacular. We ate at the Sedona Airport which has a little cafe. It was a perfect stop off for lunch. We then took the time to check out many of the Interval timeshares in the area for when we return to Sedona for hiking etc. We found the one that suits our scenery, convenience and reclusive needs.

We also drove to visit relatives in Cave Creek and Carefree, Arizona. No matter what day trips/hikes we did, it was always a comfort to come back to the Marriott.

As this was our first long term stay in the Phoenix area, we were more interested in hiking and checking out the area. We did not venture into Phoenix and, since we arrived late at night, we never did see the city.

We liked the fact that there is a JW Marriott Hotel nearby. We walked over to the JW and checked it out. Given all that we did that week, we did not participate in any of the Marriott offerings/restaurants etc. But if we go in the future, we would probably partake in both the Villa and JW offerings/activities, and perhaps even enjoy the urban offerings of Phoenix itself. People say the nearby Music Museum is worth the detour.

All in all, the Marriott met all of our expectations and we enjoyed it. We are not super critical about whether the rooms need updating etc. because we were not in the room during the days. We felt the rooms were excellent.

The staff of the Marriott was very friendly and answered any questions we had. They even gave us a Shutterfly voucher to create a book of our travels which we did. It arrived a few days ago with all of our memories of Sunrise Peak, LaBarge Canyon Box and Sedona in pictures.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JnK M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had a great time with our grandchildren, daughter, son and son-in-law. Staff was great and very helpful. Rooms were what we experienced at Marriott properties which is to say they were great. The use of the lazy river at the JW Marriott across the road (about 1/2 mile away) was a hit with all involved

Room Tip: We were on the first floor next to the kids pool area. This would be a great location when the weat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenp1139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Canyon Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Canyon Villas

Property: Marriott's Canyon Villas
Address: 5220 E Marriott Dr, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6150 (Formerly Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge)
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#13 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#66 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Canyon Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott's Canyon Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Canyon Villas Hotel Phoenix
Marriotts Canyon Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott
Marriott's Canyon Villas Phoenix, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing