We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Grounds, Quirky Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Ranked #17 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
250 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Nice Grounds, Quirky Rooms”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is a nice place. I came for work for two nights and spent a half day at the pool. The room was strangely designed. Upon entering, there is no light switch located near the door. The bathroom door did not stay open. The room was okay, but nothing special. The pool and grounds were nice. Predictably, the pool was full of kids in the summer. There are better places to stay, although the price here was really reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskanSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Canyon Villas, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review! We appreciate your feedback about the villa configuration and your overall experience. The resort is undergoing villa renovations to freshen up the accommodations for future guests. We hope you can join us in the future and look forward to providing you with an excellent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    206
    49
    31
    7
See reviews for
336
277
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Location is a bit off from the central areas. Beautiful grounds and spacious rooms. The villa that we stayed at has a full kitchen with top-notch appliances. Even though we stayed on the ground floor it was very quiet at night. The main pool is pretty good as well, though at peak times it could be difficult to find a beach chair. There is a separate pool for toddlers and small kids that is very good. Has many interesting and diverse activities to keep entire family happy. Access to J.W.'s pool, with slides and lazy river, a huge plus. Although make sure to call for availability, there are certain dates the access is not available for Villa guests. Would not hesitate to return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAX-HKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Canyon Villas, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott's Canyon Villas! We appreciate your TripAdvisor review and are thrilled to hear your family enjoyed their vacation. Our team looks forward to your next visit with us in Phoenix!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Beautiful hotel. This was our first trip to Arizona and the Canyon Villas was the perfect place to go. The staff was great and the property was wonderful. A big plus is access to the J.W. Marriott next door. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Canyon Villas, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review, Pete! We are pleased you enjoyed your visit in May and look forward to seeing you again at Marriott's Canyon Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge is an awesome place to vacation. The rooms are currently being updated, and the many pools and other activities on-site make this a very popular vacation spot! The Villas are close to a very popular shopping district with restaurants, shops, movie theater and bars.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 720MarkW720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is the second year in a row we visited the property with our Grandson and loved every minute of it! We have been owners since 2004 and are looking forward to the upcoming updates to the Villas. It was crowded during the July 4th week, but all went well.
The events staff is outstanding and Scott at the front desk is always helpful.

Room Tip: The courtyards are beautiful and this property, but the best kept secret is the "Quiet Pool&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Canyon Villas, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We really appreciate your five-star TripAdvisor review! Thank you for being a part of the Marriott Vacation Club family and we look forward to many more visits at Marriott's Canyon Villas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The property was nice and will be much better upon completion of the remodel that has just started. The common areas are very small and I am hopeful that will be changed during the remodel. The courtyard with the fire pits, BBQ grills, shuffle board and seating was very nice, but if you request to back up to that view don't complain when people use it. We had the lights turned off on us while in the middle of a game at 11 pm and we weren't even being loud. Some of the activities seemed nice but were at odd times. The crafts could be improved and weren't themed to the desert.
The gem was having the JW across the street. The JW spa was awesome, the pool was even better with the lazy river which is the only place to be in the heat of July in AZ.

Room Tip: If you are a family and want an area for the kids to run around then backing to courtyard is the pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband, daughters and I stayed at this property for five nights at the end of June. We had a two bedroom villa and we loved it! We were in building 2400 and our patio overlooked the beautiful courtyard. The staff at this resort is top notch! Check-in was flawless and Shelby at the front desk was so kind, sweet, and very helpful. Her smiling face and cheery disposition is so welcoming to guest arriving. Every staff member at this resort was very friendly, they always waved or said hello. The resort property is very clean and the landscaping is very well done. The swimming pools were great and had water falls, water polo net and basketball nets for people who want to play and still lots of space for others who just wanted to swim or lounge in the pool. The location of this resort is fantastic. There is plenty of great stores and restaurants close by at Desert Ridge plaza. There are plenty of daily activities at this resort for people of all ages. There are exercise classes, informative sessions, make fun crafts, music, food the list is endless. The activities staff do a great job! The two bedroom villa was very spacious and spotless. Everything was perfect! The resort provided a relaxing yet fun vacation for my family. Can't wait to return to this beautiful resort in the future!

Room Tip: Courtyard view is very pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marb89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Canyon Villas, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We appreciate your five-star review of Marriott's Canyon Villas! Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We will share your kind words for Shelby with her leaders so she may be recognized for a job well done. Thank you again for your review and please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Canyon Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Canyon Villas

Property: Marriott's Canyon Villas
Address: 5220 E Marriott Dr, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6150 (Formerly Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge)
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#13 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#66 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Canyon Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott's Canyon Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Canyon Villas Hotel Phoenix
Marriotts Canyon Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott
Marriott's Canyon Villas Phoenix, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing