We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Super 8 Phoenix Downtown
Nearby Hotels
US$113
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drury Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport(Phoenix)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$95
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$102
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$144
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$116
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$455
US$415
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (446)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveller rating
89
120
90
64
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
120
90
64
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsball parkconvention centerroom was cleanwaffle makerflat screen tvoatmealfree breakfastwaltmicrowavebaseball
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 446 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel multiple times over the last year for it's close location to downtown. The location is the only reason I kept coming back, but alas I have now resorted to renting a car and driving in to the city.

Hotel Downfalls:
1. Although close to downtown, located in a very questionable area of the edge of the "safer" part of downtown. It's right across the street from a circle K, with all sorts of .... people lingering around (insert inner city imagination here). Not safe at night.

2. Cleanliness. Every single time I've stayed here I've had an issue with cleanliness. The floors were disgusting- the red carpet was BLACK from the heavy soil. I kneeled down wearing shorts, and my bare knees were stained black from the carpet. Towels have always been hit or miss, sometimes I'll find a very long black hair randomly folded in. Or old leftover makeup, folded as though the housekeeper was blind. The coffee stations are virtually never given a wipe down. THe sheets have mascara stains on them. Bathtubs almost never clean, with hairs in it. And the rooms smell horrible.

3. Hotel staff are pretty rude. More on this down below

4. Most times I stayed there, the police were present talking with someone in adjacent rooms. I suspect a lot of drug activity goes on here, although new management is trying to get rid of an old problem. I was even questioned by the police if my name was ____ while having breakfast.

5. For the price, there are far nicer hotels a little bit further away. This hotel charges the same as some resorts in the area. Shop around first.

6. In almost all rooms there are lightbulbs burnt out, sockets not working, etc. The furniture is old and all office chairs for the desks are tattered and horrible. Not a good place to get caught up on work.

I voiced my concerns to the manager who tried to rectify the situation. Hotel staff were spoken to regarding cleanliness issues, and if I was dissatisfied with my room I was always welcome to change. I was comp'd several nights stays (not consecutively, but seemingly for each new issue that arose). So all in all, the manager is trying his best to keep repeat guests coming back. A big part of the issue here is the housekeeping staff. They simply take so many short cuts which are blatently obvious, despite being reprimanded. Management defends them as being overworked, however this is not my problem as a guest. I have found other hotels where they seem to have housekeeping which does their job.

After voicing some concerns, they did clean the carpets in all the rooms. I was told they replaced the entire hotel's sheets. Despite this, cleanliness problems persisted.

The manager himself, although friendly and helpful, sits outside the lobby smoking... to me, if one is trying to overhaul a hotel and improve it's reputation, have a designated area out of sight for this. Also makes for a pretty gross smell in the lobby.

I have stopped staying here and have found other hotels in the area which are much cleaner. I hope the management can continue to improve upon their hotel and rectify the staff problems (cleanliness problems) they continue to have prior to the super bowl's arrival.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, which I'd advise against, room 201/202 are by far the cleanest and worth hauling your luggage up the staircase for.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyR00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied. We try hard to make every guest happy but unfortunately we can't. When you write a review on trip advisor we do not know who you are. So if you wish to address this further please give me a call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews