We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening at the Rooste!”
Review of Rustler's Rooste

Rustler's Rooste
Ranked #55 of 3,078 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Southwestern, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: South Mountain
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great evening at the Rooste!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a group dinner at the Rustler's Rooste and it was a great experience! We were out on the patio overlooking the city and watched the sun set. We had a great amount of space to move around in and the service was very attentive. The food was delicious--I especially loved the BBQ ribs--they fell off the bone and were so good. The slide was fun and many of us went down it on our way to our table. My one complaint would be the smell of the steer on the way in--you need to keep his area more clean--put down fresh straw and maybe wash him too. It's super stinky when you first come in the front door.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank theworldismyoyster67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    489
    299
    90
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“cowboy”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

very authentic inside with your servers dressed as cowboys and cowgirls, the view from the restaurent is very good, but in my opiniun the food is average, but good fun look out for the slide into the place, suppose to be for kids but here is one 50 year old who entered the restaurant via the slide. hey peter pan at heart!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank stevenellis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great view BAD food”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The restaurant is great for fun and dance but not for dinning. The view is fantastic and the atmosphere is very good. The only problem is the food. I ordered a medium well sirloin stake and got a charred stake. Thank God for A1 otherwise it wouldn't have gone down. Dan ordered chicken and according to him it was tasteless. My niece ordered ribs and she said it was tough and not worth the trouble. I ordered chicken fingers for the kids and they wouldn't eat them. The beans were plain awful. The food was extremely disappointing. It's not like we were ordering gourmet food. It's just plain country food at a country style restaurant. Simple right? Wrong!!! I was very disappointed. Started out promising but quickly went down hill. If like line dancing you should go and maybe just order drinks but definitely skip the food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ic1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Crowded and noisy but unique atmosphere”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Overloaded my weary traveler's brain but lots of neat touches. Real bull in courtyard. Free shuttle from Arizona Grand. Slide for kids to main dining hall. Live music and dancing. Sawdust floors. Gift shop, photo booth. Large servings, kids menu. Balloon guy comes around. Food was good, they serve rattlesnake.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnneA497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lots of gimmicky atmosphere, but nothing special”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We decided to give this place a try since we were staying at a resort that's less than a mile away. A guy that we met earlier in the day had described the food as "mediocre at best" which turned out to be accurate, but said his kids had really like the atmosphere and experience. There's a lot of stuff: the slide, the bull out front, the rustic feel, the rattlesnake themed items and the cotton candy- that all seem oriented towards a kid friendly experience, but the service and the food were really average. No big deal except that we only had 2 beers, 2 kids meal and an appetizer for about $50. Other than the cowboy hats and all the gimmicks, we could have been at any Applebees around the country. Also note that the happy hour pricing, one of our reasons for stopping in, is only available in the bar area: downstairs in the restaurant is full price.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rustler's Rooste also viewed

 
Tempe, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Rustler's Rooste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing