We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delight”

Christopher's Crush
Reserve with OpenTable
Christopher's Crush is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 3,054 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$50
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Camelback East
Cross street: 24th Street & Camelback Road
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This time I went during Restaurant Week and was delighted that the food and service were the same as when we went at other times. I did their suggestions for wine pairing and was extremely happy them. The fois gras appetizer was excellent, as was the fish entrée with lobster sauce, I would order the citron tarte for dessert again, yummy.
Smaller rooms at the restaurant made it easier to have conversations, a BIG" yes" for the lack of noise found in most places.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ARM50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    33
    19
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hutchinson, Kansas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent food and service...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We have dined at least one evening at Christopher's on our annual trip to the Phoenix/Scottsdale area for 10 years, now. The food and the service keep us coming back. The new Christopher's/Crush is more elegant (if somewhat "sterile" in appearance) than the original a couple of blocks east, but it lost some of the atmosphere of the old place. The food and service never missed a beat, however. It is truly world class dining in Phoenix. On the most recent trip, the wife had "duck two ways" and I had rack of lamb. Both were excellently prepared in both seasoning and doneness. Both were served with reductions, which were fantastic. As usual, the vegetable accompaniments were unique and matched the entree perfectly. Although we seldom see a familiar face on the waitstaff, with our once-a-year visits; you can depend on the server to be excellently trained, personable, and knowledgible about both food and wines. The wine list is the most extensive in the Phoenix area, in our knowledge. Prices on both food and wine are on the upper end of the scale, but are not exhorbitant. We look forward to returning, next year.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XScotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Went for a Valentine day dinner with a group of friends. We splurged on the tasting menu paired with wine. Our waiter seemed so put out at the mere prospect of having to serve us that he couldn't be bothered going over the wine being served. We had to ask to see the bottles and with a great show of irritation he begrudgingly complied. We realized later it's because there was nothing special in the wines served and the pours were small. We were seated across from the kitchen and the restaurant was noisy...not conducive to any conversation. Our meals were so so. Very disappointing and expensive night. We will not be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twinsburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
353 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“An Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Due to a scheduling error with our hotel staff we arrive an hour later than our reservation. The staff was apologetic and told us they would get us a table shortly, so we went into the bar, which is part of the restaurant but named "Crush" . The decor of Crush was, as their web site suggested "sophisticated" -- lit in a blood orange-red glow. The cocktails were all "signature" drinks and unique, using the top shelf liquors, so we ordered several drinks. The seating was modern but comfortable -- so comfortable in fact that when our table was ready 10 minutes later we had settled in quite well. Our table was in front of the kitchen, which is open for the diners to observe. This part of the restaurant was well lit and surprisingly not noisy despite being full of diners. There is also a more intimate seating area in an attached room. The menu was very different and it would take several visits to begin to experience all the tastes available. Our appetizers-salads included the goat cheese-bacon salad, the roasted red pepper soup and the Wild Mushroom soup with foie gras. The salad was terrific, with a large portion of grilled parmesan-encrusted goat cheese served on top of a bed of mixed greens covered in small pieces of crisp fat-free bacon. I had a chance to taste the soups, and those were wonderful too. The wild mushroom-foie gras soup is a signature dish and I would advise trying this if you like this sort of food. It was the most remarkable soup any of us had tasted, with intense flavors without a heavy texture. Our entrees included a rib eye, scallops in a lobster reduction sauce, ono in a lobster reduction sauce and the signature lobster pot pie. I had the ono, which was served with brussel spouts and grilled small tomatos -- the fish was cooked very rare and prepared almost like a high grade of ahi tuna --- but flavored like ono -- light and sweet. This was the recommendation of our waiter, who was delightful and entertaining and he led me to what was an excellent choice for my tastes. The scallop dish was served with four huge scallops --- more than anyone needed to eat. I was told they were delicious. The lobster pot pie was "eye candy" --- and a large dish filled with fresh vegetables. We also ordered sides of the Mac and Cheese, Curried Duck Fries and another that I cannot remember what it was called. This was way too much food and the person that lives in town went home with enough food to feed two or three people for another meal. We finished off by sharing the Chocolate Tower --- see the picture below, with was a work of art and a perfect ending to a perfect meal. The staff was friendly and engaging, the drinks were beautiful to look at and added to the total experience, and the food was "world class". I seldom click off "one of the best meals" but this was in fact, one of the best meals I have eaten in a restaurant, served by a staff that was proud to be part of our experience. The pricing seemed very reasonable as well, and again the wait staff knowledgeable (listen to them) and fun. We could not have had a better meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
410 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Ask for John!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Wow, we had a wonderful dining experience at Christopher's!

It was a Birthday dinner and we had never been there before. The food was wonderful, (I think the Caeser salad could have been better), but the entree's and service were wonderful.

Will plan on going back, and especially appreciate the professional and welcoming service by John, he was remarkable!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jerrycoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Christopher's Crush also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Christopher's Crush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing