We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff, location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Phoenix North - Scottsdale
Ranked #86 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Montague
Level Contributor
187 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, location and value”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed one night on a business/family trip. The easy access off of the expressway was great. The staff were welcoming and made certain that I knew about the many features of the hotel. These include a great breakfast area, food available 24/7 with microwaves in the room and common eating area, refrigerator in room, ample desk space for work, free wi-fi. The bed was very comfortable. The room and bath were extremely clean. I felt very safe leaving the hotel at 3am. The parking lot and hotel entrance are monitored by staff. This might be important to the Mayo guests. I recommend this hotel to anyone who has business in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMReply, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Phoenix North - Scottsdale, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted to hear that your overall stay at our hotel was a pleasant one.
We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    18
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
16
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingman, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed on March 7 for one night as we had an appt at Mayo Clinic which was just a few minutes away. We arrived around 9pm, the man that checked us in was very nice & got us checked in quickly. When he told us our room was just steps away though, I wasn't thrilled as I expected noise in the morning from the lobby and breakfast area. The room was very nice..clean & spacious, loved that you put your room key in a slot by the door and all of the lights come on & also that the bathroom light comes on when you open the door. The bed was comfy and there was a desk and table and chairs, fridge and microwave. Now, about the noise....there was NONE! This was the quietest hotel room we've ever stayed in. We would have never known we were right off the lobby/breakfast area. Oh, also, there is a cooler/freezer in the lobby with Stouffer's frozen dinners and other items in case at a very reasonable price so if you're hungry late at night, no need to run out and get fast food. Overall great place and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMReply, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Phoenix North - Scottsdale, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are extremely delighted to hear that your overall stay and experience at our hotel met your needs. I am also glad to hear that you didn't experience any noise during your stay and you found the room to be comfortable.
We truly appreciate your wonderful review and thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in the Phoenix North/Scottsdale area.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Don't use your GPS/smartphone to find the hotel...we ended up in a neighborhood. Hotel is less than 10 minutes from Mayo Clinic, across the road from a nice mall, and an entrance to 101 Freeway. Room is nice with sofa, desk, and table/chair. Bathroom has nice shower and towels. There is a motion sensor on the bathroom wall so know it turns the light/fan on when you go in.

For us, the pillows are way to soft (nearly flat), even the "firm" ones. Bed was comfortable. Beware: the A/C unit NEVER stops running, even when it's not cooling. The hallway and overhead noise can be loud especially in the evenings.

Breakfast was about what we expected: varied from day-to-day but always juice, coffee, tea, yogurt, fruit, pancakes, cereal. And if you need, you can get a "go bag" of breakfast.

Other than the constantly-running A/C unit, the hotel is convenient and nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZachsGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMReply, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Phoenix North - Scottsdale, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for pointing out some problems. Firstly, I do apologize that you had GPS/smartphone problems finding our location and that the comfort of our pillows were not what you expected. Also, apologies for any inconvenience you encountered with the A/C unit. We will definitely look into these issues.
I am glad to hear that you found the rooms comfortable and the hotel location convenient to the freeway, mall and Mayo Clinic and that you enjoyed our breakfast selection.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The General Manager and her staff hit the ground running at this new property. Everything, front desk, housekeeping and the wonderful breakfast lady was without exception great. Friendly and glad to assist. The free breakfast is plentiful with many selections. Rooms are well decorated.

Room Tip: There are also semi suites at this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArizonaTravelers42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKuber, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Phoenix North - Scottsdale, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review on our property. We are delighted to hear that your overall experience at our hotel was a pleasant one. Our staff always strive to make sure our guests are well taken care of. I will definitely be sharing your wonderful review with our staff.
Thank you again and we looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here last week while visiting someone in the Mayo Clinic Hospital about 1.5 miles away. The hotel is brand new and the room was very clean and new. The housekeeping staff kept the common areas (lobby, dining area, etc.) VERY clean - it seemed like they were always mopping or cleaning the table or something. Breakfast was ok- nothing great, but not terrible. The location is good. There are a few office buildings right across the parking lot and you could walk over to the Desert Ridge shopping center with the right shoes, which I unfortunately did not bring on my trip. Front desk staff were nice and accomodating. My only complaints are 1) they should have a shuttle and 2) they need to complete (?) whatever is being built onto the back patio. There is construction net there now & it is ugly and blocks the view of the mountains & desert. Overall it was a nice stay and I had no real complaints/problems.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderLustOk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKuber, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Phoenix North - Scottsdale, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am happy to hear that you found our facility very clean and that our staff were friendly and accommodating. We are definitely looking into a shuttle and should have one on property very soon. I agree that the net you saw against our patio is not a pleasant site but unfortunately we are unable to remove this as it does not belong to us and is part of a construction site that is coming up next to our property.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

It's a brand new hotel and it's trying to hit its stride, but it's really rough now. We were told by reservations that they would do their best to get us connecting rooms, without telling us there are no connecting rooms on the property, so first thing we felt misled in setting up the reservation.

Housekeeping is very slack. Our first room had been used by someone for a shower and meal, then rented to us. The second room had popcorn under the bed. The sink vanity is a furniture-like piece that has spaces next to the wall that were already very nasty, after only 3 months, but obviously never cleaned (it’s hard to clean them, so no one does). You better make those plastic cups last, because you’re not getting any more of them.

Lighting was bleak and dystopian, with the card needed to keep things from shutting off. The bathroom light and fan turn off and on with a sensor instead of user preference. It felt like the guest is a burden interfering in some grand project to save energy. The bathroom lighting in the handicapped room we ended up with was heinous.

A robust fan or HVAC is especially important when the hotel is so shoddily constructed. Until I figured out how to trick the HVAC into staying on, I was awakened by midnight motorcycle races on the nearby freeway, the night train horn, door slams, and lots and lots of romance in the other rooms. A real late night drama.

The young and inexperienced staff was lean and overworked. Not once did I see a name tag on the “manager on duty” sign. The front desk clerk was a star at solving our check-in problems, though, he worked very hard to correct our problems and was sincerely appreciated.

I have stayed at these Holiday Inn Express hotels before, and some of them are surprising gems. This one was just depressing. Someone’s capital went into building this—a lot of capital—and not one person involved has any sense of connection or stewardship of the asset.

Room Tip: Top floor if you don't want to hear everything--and I mean EVERYTHING--from the room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Phoenix North - Scottsdale, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Matt D,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay. We truly regret to see the accommodations that you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were glad to see that the service at the Front Desk did work to resolve your concerns while you were on site. We do take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stayed here 4 nights on the booking of my corporate travel agent. The hotel is a 5-7 minute walk to my company's Phoenix office. The hotel is quite new and is very nice in décor. When I arrived the fellow at the front desk was very courteous and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The few opportunities for improvement that I experienced are1) the room was not consistently cleaned during my stay. While the bed was made and restroom cleaned daily, the area by the desk was only touched my last night. I had a couple of days of trash in the garbage can 2) there is no hotel shuttle. Perhaps they are still working on that but for business travelers that will be a drawback 3) I found the breakfast quality a little lacking especially the eggs and the orange juice, both of which were overly watery. Hopefully all these things are due to the newness of the hotel and staff and will be worked out in the future. I likely won't find myself in the Phoenix area in the very near future but if the opportunity arises I won't rule out staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Checkcheck38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKuber, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Phoenix North - Scottsdale, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Whilst I am happy to hear that you liked our hotel decor and your room was clean and comfortable together with our helpful and courteous front desk agent. I want to apologize and am sorry to hear that your room was not being thoroughly cleaned by our housekeeping department and that your eggs and orange juice were watery during your stay with us.
I will bring this to the attention of our housekeeping supervisor and breakfast attendant.
Regarding the shuttle, we are looking into this and are making plans to have one on property.

We hope your next stay with us will be more pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Desert Ridge
Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Scottsdale North
#51 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#11 of 174 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Phoenix North - Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Phoenix North - Scottsdale

Property: Holiday Inn Express and Suites Phoenix North - Scottsdale
Address: 4575 E Irma Ln, From Loop 101 take Tatum Blvd exit and go north 1/4 mile to Rose Garden Ln. and turn left. Street will curve into Irma Ln, Phoenix, AZ 85050-4315
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Phoenix North - Scottsdale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location near Mayo Hospital and Desert Ridge Phoenix. Situated at Loop 101 and Tatum Boulevard, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix-Scottsdale North is just blocks from the Mayo Clinic, the Musical Instruments Museum, Desert Ridge Market Place, Desert Ridge Conference Center, Reach 11 Sports Complex, and City North shopping center. Phoenix and Scottsdale, AZ are home to US Airways Center, Chase Field (home of the AZ Diamondbacks), University of Phoenix Stadium (home of AZ Cardinals), Arizona State University (ASU) and its Sun Devil Stadium, the Heard Museum, Barrett Jackson Car Show, Arabian Horse Show at Westworld, PGA Waste Management Open, and numerous other events throughout the year. Within a short walk, you will find Desert Ridge Marketplace featuring a great selection of shops, restaurants, and entertainment. For business travelers, the complimentary high-speed Internet access helps you to stay in touch with the office and be prepared for your business meetings. Loop 101 and SR51 connect our hotel with Sky Harbor International Airport and the major corporate centers in Phoenix, Scottsdale, Glendale, Peoria, Tempe, Mesa, and Chandler. Our outdoor swimming pool and 24-hour fitness center will help you unwind and relax during your stay. Plan your Arizona get away today and come to enjoy a blazing stay at our brand-new hotel in the Valley of the Sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Phoenix North - Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Phoenix North - Scottsdale Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing