We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn Phoenix Airport
Ranked #83 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Freehold, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

While staying at this hotel we had our carryon luggage stolen from our hotel room. While the staff at the front desk were sympathetic we were extremely dissappointed with the management of the hotel. They certainly did not live up to the company 's slogan of 'Committment to Satisfaction'. The management did not give they impression that they were concerned nor did they attempt to make any restitution for the items lost.

Room Tip: Do not stay in one of the rooms on the first floor facing the parking lot. The doors are left open w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    72
    55
    25
    22
See reviews for
54
66
32
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
az
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed here the evening before our flight out. It is close to the airport making the commute doable. Room was ok. Bed was terrible. Very uncomfortable. I would not stay for more than one night here. There was lighting and cameras in the parking lot. Lots of signs posted that hotel is not responsible for theft. Not the greatest area to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muzicone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The final evening of a birding trip to SE Arizona I needed a hotel close to the airport which offered free shuttle service so the Clarion Hotel - Tech Center appeared to fit the bill. The room and service were ok. This felt like a good average hotel and no problems were encountered. Price was average for what you get, nothing exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I) Preamble:

Although the location is NOT very good, the rest deserves only one word: Outstanding.

Since AA was running a super sale for Miami-Phoenix for a bit more than $300 RT, and since Choice Hotels is currently running a promotion of one free night for two separate stays (effective till May 15, 2013), I decided to go spend a weekend in Phoenix, where I have been going since 1994, and take advantage of both promotions.

After spending the first night at the Quality Airport, in the middle of nowhere, with absolutely no fast food, no slow food, no cafeteria, not even a gas station where to buy a sandwich (you may read my comment about it right here, in Trip Advisor), I moved to this Clarion Tech Center in order to have a second stay of one night and get 8,000 points. Naturally, I will use those points to have a free night in France, where hotels are twice as expensive and half as good as in the US. I have already selected a Quality in Dijon, on my way to Bourg-en-Bresse, and the Clarion in Troyes, on my way back to Paris before flying from Orly to Madrid next June, because they both offer an Award night for only 8,000 points each, which I'm getting now for every two stays.

II) Clarion Tech Center: Far from downtown Phoenix but Excellent Place.

True, this Clarion is even farther from downtown Phoenix than the Quality Airport, but in here you have a McDonald’s on Elliot Road, right across from the hotel (although you must take a detour) + several fast food eateries and a Sushi, + a Walgreen’s (the farthest of all, about a couple of blocks from the hotel) and a small KFC in a gas station next to McDonald’s.

In addition, there is a big shopping center about five blocks from this place, with a Wal Mart, a Wendy’s, etc., at the intersection of Elliot Road and Priest Dr.

Finally, there is a city bus No. 56 which runs every thirty minutes on Sundays (unlike horrendous No. 30, which runs only every hour on University Drive!) and which goes by this Wal Mart, where it turns left and goes all along Priest Drive, crossing University Drive, then continuing to Washington, where you may transfer for the "Metro Light Rail". This is a tramway that will take you to the airport or to downtown Phoenix if you take it going west, or downtown Tempe, ASU and downtown Mesa if you take it going east.

The journey from this Clarion to the tramway on Washington was thirty minutes on bus 56 in both directions, but it's true that I took it on Sunday, so there was no traffic! In April 2013, a day pass is about $5.50 if you get it in the bus but only $4 if you buy it from the Walgreen’s on Elliot Rd., as I did myself, although I only paid $2 because I'm over 65 years young...

As for the room itself at this Clarion, although smaller than the one I had at the Quality Airport, it is perfectly equipped with lots of towels (unlike the only two towels that you will find in all Ibis hotels worldwide!) an iron with its ironing board (forget about these items if you go abroad!), a big empty frig with an ice compartment, unlike the money making machines called "mini bars" in Europe, full of expensive bottles, with no ice compartment and no space left to put your Camembert! It also has a microwave, something that you won't find very often outside of the US (not even at the Sheraton Four Points in Montevideo!), a desk with a comfortable executive leather chair and a comfortable club chair with its ottoman. On the desk, there is a lamp with an AC outlet, plus another AC outlet with an Ethernet connector and a telephone, of course.

And, unlike the Quality Airport, where there are no hangers and no rail where to hang your own ones, there is a small furniture with a big mirror on the door, where you will be able to hang your cloth on its six good wood hangers.

The AC is the traditional individual unit under the big window, although it has an old manual temperature selector, unlike the most precise digital one at the Quality Airport. However, it works perfectly well, with a continuous steady noise which prevented me from turning on my Sharper Image transistor radio with 20 soothing sounds that goes with me everywhere, in order to cover the outside noise.

Like the Quality, this Clarion has a FREE airport shuttle running every hour. However, unlike the Quality, this hotel is on the hotels board at the airport and all you have to do is pick up the phone and dial number 80 to reach the hotel directly without needing a cell phone to call the 7 digit number, as it was the case at all Quality hotels, because there is not one single "Q" on the alphabetical order of that hotels board at the airport.

This Clarion has a nice pool reasonably big, plus a Jacuzzi and plenty of seats and tables all around it, where you can smoke because Arizona is not New York, where I heard that nanny Bloomberg does not want to let you smoke in public parks...

On the way to the reception, you will find a Fitness Center on your left, accessible with your room key, open 24/24. And, by the front desk, there is a Business Center with two free computers and a free printer.

There is a good FREE BREAKFAST buffet with Mexican omelet (at least during the two days that I spent there) and, something extraordinary, FREE DINNER daily from 5:30 to 7 pm INCLUDING FREE WINE OR BEER!!! All of it with the compliments of the house!

That's why I wrote that, in spite of the not so good location (although far better than the one of the Quality Airport, which is in the middle of nowhere!), there is only one word for this Clarion Tech Center: OUTSTANDING!

III) IN SHORT, for readers in a hurry...

- Location a bit far BUT OUTSTANDING value for money.
- WELL EQUIPPED rooms: iron + board, frig. Microwave, coffee pot.
- Individual AC unit with continuous noise to cover outside noise.
- FREE WIFI (BUT poor signal sometimes)
- Business Center: 2 computers with free connection to the Internet + printer
- Fitness Center: OPEN 24/24 with the room key card
- Nice outdoor pool with lots of seats & smoking area around.
- FAR from Phoenix downtown BUT FREE Airport Shuttle every hour at the hour. From the airport, find Clarion on big hotel panel by baggage claim and dial the number (# 80 a/o April 2013).
- PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION: BUS 56 (every 30 minutes on Sunday) goes to Wal Mart & Shopping center 5 blocks away, on Elliot Rd & Priest Dr. It connects to the “Metro Light Rail” going to the airport and Downtown Phoenix, or downtown Tempe, ASU, & downtown Mesa.
- DAILY PASS $4 if purchased on Walgreen’s, 2 blocks from hotel. SENIORS pay $2 for a daily pass at Walgreen’s, or $2.75 in the bus.
- Good FREE BREAKFAST 6 to 9 am (Mexican omelets, cereals, cream cheese, etc.)
- FREE daily DINNER from 5:30 to 7 pm, including FREE wine or beer!: small salad bar + hot dish (had an excellent chicken & mashed potatoes the first day & a very good beef stew with carrots & potatoes the next day – no more raviolis at 6:45 pm)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Efrin_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

My pet peeve in hotels - no fresh air, bad air Windows don't open and the heater/AC will not stay on steady but only will very noisily cycle on-off...all night long. Four stories but only one rather hard to find elevator at the far end. Friendly check in, but undermanned so fairly long wait.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z1307z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Do not want to disclose
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Appeared more than 6 miles from airport. Upon our late arrival we were given the room key. When we opened the door the beds were unmade and the rug stained. Had to go back and get another room. Desk clerk apologized and stated this would be reported to the manager. Room was ok but have to admit I did not take my socks off in the room as rug worn. Bathroom clean. People were busy in the AM cleanning the pool and this looked ok. The room staff not nice at all. The workout room was gross, piles of dirt under the treadmill and appears not cleanned for some time. Water dispenser was leaking. Breakfast was pretty good and waffle machine worked well, good selection of yogurt, fruit, cereal, juice, etc. The attendee here worked hard and kept it clean and well stocked. Grounds appear better than room. Used my airline miles so did not pay cash.
Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton B.C.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This aging hotel is a 2.5 star blast from the past. It was updated a few years ago but like most refurbished hotels it shows its age. Furniture which doesn't quite fit, gaps under the door where wind and light intrudes and noise of passing guests which can be quite loud. Despite its location near the I10 it was quiet enough to sleep at night.

The good features are free food at breakfast and dinner. Dinner from 5:30 to 7:00 also provides free wine and beer. The rooms are competitively priced with other hotels in this area of South Phoenix and is well located for Sky Harbor airport and the attractions in Tempe, Ahwatukee and Chandler. It seems to caters to nearby high tech firms.

The bad is a housekeeping staff who clean (poorly) when they want to, with little concern for their guests. Also the elevators are filthy and exterior cleanliness could be improved. The reception can best be described as indifferent although they do the job but with little enthusiasm. Finding convenient parking can be a problem as well should you arrive after 8:00 pm.

I probably would not return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QBear01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Ahwatukee Foothills
Four Points By Sheraton Phoenix South
Econo Lodge Airport
#80 of 174 in Phoenix
424 reviews
Ahwatukee Foothills
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix Chandler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Mountain
Quality Inn Phoenix North I-17
Sleep Inn Airport
#114 of 174 in Phoenix
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Phoenix Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Phoenix Airport

Property: Quality Inn Phoenix Airport
Address: 5121 E La Puente Ave, I-10 & Elliot Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85044-5212 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Phoenix Tech Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Ahwatukee Foothills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn Phoenix Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn Phoenix Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Phoenix Tech Phoenix
Clarion Phoenix
Phoenix Clarion
Quality Inn Phoenix Airport Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing