We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing. ”
Review of Durant's

Durant's
Ranked #6 of 90 Nightlife in Phoenix
Attraction details
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Wednesday night hosted another couple. Went early to sit in bar/lounge and have a cocktail before dinner. Wanted to set a nice vibe with a drink in a traditional lounge. No such luck. No where to sit at the bar and all tables in bar were for diners, although, they were empty. At the bar, standing room only, could not get a drink, could not get bartender's attention. Most guests sitting at the bar were eating dinner at the bar so no way to squeeze in to order a drink without being rude. We had reservations so we asked to be seated. The place was mobbed, we were seated in a very high traffic area. Felt like a rush job to get us through dinner. We certainly were not dinning which was the intent. So noisy we could not hear each other for casual conversation. Steaks were a C+ maybe a B- . My New York strip was over cooked. Dinner for four, drinks and no wine was about $550 with tip. About what one expects to pay at a high end steak place. Unfortunately, the meal, atmosphere, noise, lounge, rush job to flip the table and service did not live up to the price. In Phoenix and Scottsdale there are so many other great steak restaurants available, I would avoid Durant's and go elsewhere. The hype is not equal to the quality. Won't be back.

Date of experience: December 2015
2  Thank Dagwood1293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

12 - 16 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

One of the best steakhouse in Phoenix. Price looks higher than other places but it includes a soup/salad, somes sides (when added at other restaurants price is about the same). The offer one of the most amazing bread you can get ... garlic lovers will be delighted.
Did not find wine by the glass that I really liked but will try a different one next time.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank pferrandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015

Excellent cocktail and dinner options. The staff is outstanding! We visited this bar after the U2 concert and loved hearing the history of this bar. Great bar!

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank kimbirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2015

Had dinner with friends who had nerver been here. They are big foodies and they could not believe how elegant the dinner and service was. We have been dining here since friends took us here in 2007. Have celebrated birthdays, anniversaries, gradustions, mother 's day, father,s day, etc. If you ever dined on the East Coast or Traditional San Francisco you will appreciate Durant's and walking through the kitchen.

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank sharon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2015 via mobile

Decided to return to Durant's as a treat for my son (graduating from college) and daughter's birthday. It had been over 15 years since I'd been in town. We were there on a busy Saturday night and it was just as I remembered it. This is an old style steakhouse with a very clubby (dark lighting, red velvet wallpaper, dark wood trim and deep red leather cushioned booths) atmosphere. The tables are packed fairly close together which makes for a more energetic and fairly noisy atmosphere than most. This doesn't work for everyone.

You pay top $ to eat here and should expect top $ performance - and this is where they let me down. Despite some good food for the most part (particularly the blue point oysters and the filets served to two at the table), the delmonico steak (bone in NY strip) was a poor cut of meat (for $60+) and never should have made it onto the grill yet alone a plate. Additioinally, the service lapse was notable in so much as the waiter always seemed a step behind. Perhaps most disappointing is that the reservation mentioned the celebratory nature of our meal and the restaurant failed to ask if we would like to acknowledge it in any form or fashion.

I will definitely be checking out the some of the other steakhouses next time in the Phoenix area.

Thank 537ShawnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Durant's also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Durant's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing