We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour & Travel with J.R”

Arizona Tour & Travel - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$108.29*
and up
Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise
More Info
US$69.98*
and up
Half-Day Phoenix Highlights Tour
More Info
US$174.96*
and up
Grand Canyon via Sedona and Navajo Reservation
Ranked #16 of 55 Tours in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Personalized sightseeing tours of the West. Specializing in Grand Canyon, Sedona, Arizona and Utah
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I brought 8 Nursing students with me to AZ to work on the Navajo Reservation. JR was our Tour Guide for the Grand Canyon & Sedona, AZ. Fantastic!!!! Offered an unique view of the Grand Canyon, San Francisco Peaks with discussion on formations along the roadside, history of the Region, Navajo practices, etc. OUTSTANDING TOUR GUIDE

Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2012

We had J.R. as a tour guide on 12/2/12 and he was excellent. We would never have had the same experience going on our own. We would recommend this company to anyone!

Thank michele w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We had a one day trip to Monument Valley 6th Oct, and we really enjoyed it!

It is a quite long way from Flagstaff where we stayed for a few days, but we didn't realized it not at all.
We have been picked up at the motel in the morning with 5 other persons, and started the day. JR was telling us much interesting things about Arizona, geology, movies, indian people and so on. We had enough time everywhere to look around, so we were really satisfied.
There were french, australian and british people too, and JR always had a nice word to everybody.
The next day after the tour we went to Tucson, and he advised us to go to Sedona, so we did that way, and we didn't regret it at all, because that region is really beautiful too.

So thank you for the pleasant day for Open Road Tours and JR!

1  Thank Kornelia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We booked our Grand Canyon tour several weeks in advance, but they called to cancel LAST MINUTE (literally 5pm on the Sunday before our Monday tour). The customer service rep cited weather issues and told us that given their 25 years of experience, there would be fog in the canyon and it really wouldn't be worth the trip up there.

After about an hour of wallowing in dejection, we optimistically decided to just try calling around to see if any other tour companies were operating. Every single tour company we called (we went to tripadvisor and started with the highest rated) was still operating tours to the Grand Canyon but many of them were full. We finally managed to snag the last 2 spots with another company and there were absolutely NO visibility issues at all. In fact, the day was extremely clear and the Grand Canyon was spectacular.

Open Road Tours was extremely unprofessional in not helping us find an alternate way to see the Grand Canyon after we expressed that it was our whole purpose in visiting Phoenix and the day we booked was the only day we could go. Rather than call peers to secure us spots, they told us there was nothing they could do unless we wanted to book on another day (impossible since we were leaving the next day). Given that there were absolutely no actual weather issues, and they had actually already attempted to reschedule the tour prior to the "weather cancellation" due to insufficient bookings on Monday, the entire experience leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

Why take a chance with your vacation and book with an unreliable tour company when there are so many excellent options in the area?

20  Thank IdaFats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, Manager at Arizona Tour & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2015

This company is under new management, with a new office in Sedona. Our front desk staff now works hard to make sure things like this don't happen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We were extremely excited to go on a tour to the grand canyon and in fact it was to be the highlight of our trip. We booked in advance and were confirmed. Later the tour company had emailed one of us asking us if it was possible to reschedule our tour as they wanted a bigger group. We could not due to other commitments and promptly informed them. Instead of letting us know the true situation and scheduling us with another tour company that was going, they called us at 5pm the night before cancelling our trip. When we called them back they told us that due to snow (1-3 inches) they weren't going and that it would be a waste of our time because we wouldn't be able to see anything anyways. The tone was more "too bad for you, not our problem" than apologetic or helpful. Because it was Sunday night before a holiday Monday we had extreme difficulty reaching other tour companies that were in the office or that didn't already have full tours. Of the 5 companies we talked to, none were cancelling their trip due to snow and didn't know what Open Road Tours was talking about. We luckily found a tour group that wasn't full. And indeed when we got to the grand canyon both the roads and sky was completely clear. The views were beautiful. I'm totally disappointed with the entire way Open Road tours handled the situation.

20  Thank November9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, Manager at Arizona Tour & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2015

This company is under new management, with new drivers and a new office in Sedona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arizona Tour & Travel - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Arizona Tour & Travel - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing