We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Phoenix West/Avondale
Ranked #67 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Canmore, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good value, great staff”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

we only noticed a sewer smell on entering room and I acknowledged it can sometimes happen through the bathroom drains, just as you enter. it wasn't a big deal, we were on 3rd floor in case maintenance wants to check this out, our reservation was under g o e ... for one night sat mar 29 (can't remember room number). Perhaps the drains should be closed by cleaning staff if this is a persistent problem, or the drains treated in that room. otherwise a great stay, had a good burger in the lounge, where you can order food up till 9? or 10 pm? off their small menu

Room Tip: requested east side to avoid noise from loop road on west side, tho it may be quiet there anyway I d...
See more room tips
Green Features: ca't remember but hope all breakfast options are glass not paper or plastic, and hopefully bulk portions of condiments (eg pumps for ketchup, not packages)
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina H, General Manager at Courtyard Phoenix West/Avondale, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to providing us with your feedback. We are delighted that your stay was enjoyable and that our staff provided you with exceptional customer service.
I apologize for the smell you experienced when you first came in, we will research and address it immediately.

We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Best Regards,
Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    48
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
26
43
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

First impression upon entering the lobby is a feeling of calm. Front desk offered a courteous welcome and an offer of second or higher floor. I figured the first floor must have been sold out. I chose second, the guy behind the desk then intuitively realized that while many travelers may prefer the highest floor, i didn't.

So here I am in room 135. Steps away from the bar/cafe, pool and exercise room. Again, first impressions do count and the spacious feel of the room invites you in as you slide your key card in the slot.. Nice faux burled wood closets and desk, sitting area with couch facing the 32 inch TV that swivels toward the bed for that Late Show drop-off.

Bed is super comfortable, five pillows and the usual comforter. Walls are desert inspired colors, framed photos are nature scenes and amenities are the usual Courtyard features you expect: fridge, decent shampoo and soap.

Free wi-fi shows 130 mps speed and is accessible all over.

This property is easily found off of I-10 and would be perfect for a stay passing through or for day or two on business.

Room Tip: There are rooms with balconies on the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank psychfarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina H, General Manager at Courtyard Phoenix West/Avondale, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about our property.
We strive to deliver exceptional customer service in a calm, clean environment. We appreciate your feedback and your thorough description of our room amenities. This helps future travelers in their decision making.
We look forward to welcoming you as our guest again soon.

Best Regards,

Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here in early March to watch a Coyote game on our way to LAX airport. The hotel is very clean, reception is friendly and helpful, beds are comfortable and room is quiet, the location is great near the junction of I-10 and Loop 101. A huge selection of shopping and restaurants any direction you go. It has all the things you want in a Courtyard. We did not try the pool because of lack of time. It is convenient to all the sports activities in Glendale, hockey, football, Spring training baseball and NASCAR . Everything about are short stay was great.

Room Tip: The rooms are all good did not here any freeway noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: I did not notice we were only here for one night.. I know Marmot always had environmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smokedogaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina H, General Manager at Courtyard Phoenix West/Avondale, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Smokedogaz,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We love to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will consider us next time you are in town. We are conveniently located amidst different venues and points of interest.

We hope to see you sometime soon,


Best Regards,

Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrales, NM
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We came for spring training and this location was perfect. Near the junction of I-10 and Loop 101 it was a great location to visit different facilities. The hotel was full and very busy. The front deck staff was pleasant and helpful. We chose not to pay for the breakfast. Room was clean and spacious. There is a little freeway noise but it seems quiter on the east side. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jegnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina H, General Manager at Courtyard Phoenix West/Avondale, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Jegnm,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in West Phoenix! We are happy to hear that you feel our hotel is conveniently located!

We are happy that everything went smoothly and that you enjoyed the amenities of the hotel.

We hope to see you back again soon!

Warm Regards,


Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

While a lot of Courtyards are transitioning to the Bistro model, this one has created a hybrid that works for their clientele -- lots of sports fans on group tours. For breakfast, there is a buffet and made-to-order omelets. For happy hour, there is a bar (5-10 p.m.) with appetizers. Both are popular with guests, as are the ONE washer and dryer on site. The hotel would do well to add another set of machines. Rooms are well-cared-for, pool and fitness facility well-maintained and the parking lot is well-lighted. The hallway carpets would benefit from a steam cleaning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the parking lot if you have an aversion to highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wordbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina H, General Manager at Courtyard Phoenix West/Avondale, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We love to hear from our guests and always appreciate any feedback we receive.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the breakfast and evening beverages. We do hope to have you as our guest again when your travels bring you back through our area. We will be getting a full renovation starting June 2014, to ensure our product stays in top shape for our guests. This will take care of some of the items you mentioned needed some attention.

Thank you again for your comments and for helping other travelers choose a place to stay.

Best regards,


Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed here this past weekend as I was in town to see the Reds play in spring training at Goodyear. I had a good deal at this hotel and got in late friday night. Upon checking in and getting to the room I noticed the room wasn't the type I had reserved. So I had to go back downstairs and get them to give me a different room. Didn't take long but it's not fun to have to be given a different room. The service at the hotel was just average. Our room faced the highway so road noise was certainly present throughout the night.

Location was good and it is a nice hotel with free wi-fi which I enjoyed. The business center was nice, I was able to print off my boarding passes there.

Room Tip: Get a room that doesn't face the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina H, General Manager at Courtyard Phoenix West/Avondale, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Aaron G,

I want to thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I apologize for your average experience at our property, which is definitely not our goal. We want our guests to have their expectations exceeded and we fell short of that. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact me directly at the phone number listed below. Once again, please accept my apology. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area.


Best Regards,

Valentina H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deming, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
490 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

At the last minute we got tickets to the Phoenix NASCAR race. Rooms were mostly booked but we finally found a room at a good price here. Being a last minute discount room you would have expected much less. While it was by the elevator the noise wasn't an issue and the room was nicely appointed and the bed was comfortable. The shower was huge. The desk staff went out of their way to print instructions of how to get to the race track for us from the internet. It was hard to get to the hotel due to road construction, but on the other hand they had a breakfast buffet with custom made omelets for $9.99 so all in all they met our needs as racegoers to a T.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dqdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina H, General Manager at Courtyard Phoenix West/Avondale, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay during NASCAR!

We are happy to hear that you feel your stay was comfortable. I will be sure to share your comments with the entire team.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Warm Regards,

Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix/Avondale
1.5 mi away
Best Western Tolleson Hotel
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Phoenix-Avondale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Univ. of Phoenix Stadium Area
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Goodyear
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Goodyear
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Phoenix West/Avondale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Phoenix West/Avondale

Property: Courtyard Phoenix West/Avondale
Address: 1650 N 95th Ln, Phoenix, AZ 85037-1116
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#43 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Phoenix West/Avondale 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix West/Avondale is located in Phoenix, Arizona, just minutes from Westgate City Center, home of the Fiesta Bowl, Ak- Chin Pavilion, and University of Phoenix Stadium. We are also convenient to Phoenix International Raceway, Cabela's, and downtown Phoenix. Enjoy complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, a delicious breakfast at the Courtyard Cafe, enjoy a beverage, appetizer, sandwich or salad in our lounge area, or grab a snack at the 24-hour Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Phoenix West/Avondale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phoenix West/Avondale Hotel Phoenix
Courtyard Phoenix West/Avondale Arizona
Phoenix Courtyard
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing