We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was fantastic, room had a balcony...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel
Ranked #16 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I was very impressed with the staff of this hotel. I was traveling on business and 200 of my clients were lodged here for two days and the staff was unfailingly helpful, efficient, polite (but not robotic). They seemed to have good in-house communication and enjoyed their work. Concierge went the extra mile to track down a client's lost luggage. Front desk staff was pleasant and super fast-even when I had 50 checking in at once. I was fortunate enough to have a room with a (shared) balcony that had a garden of basil and tomatoes. I wasn't paying my own way, so cannot speak to value, but as a professional event planner I really felt the staff went above and beyond at every opportunity.

Room Tip: 5th floor has a large shared balcony. Street view, but access to the outside is important to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firefly1345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thanks so much for choosing us for your group stay, and we are thrilled with your review of our efforts to make your time here the best it could be! We are proud to offer super fast service at check in and to assist in any way possible! And yes, the 5th floor terrace level is fantastic! Thanks again, and we hope to see you and your group returning!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

600 - 606 of 887 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

We booked the Renaissance Phoenix Downtown for the first night of our Scottsdale trip because we could not get into the JW Marriott for that first night. We decided to make it an adventure from the airport, we road The Rail to the Rennaissance which dropped us off just across the street! We checked in the hotel with smiles everywhere !! Jenay and Tim met us at the front desk, extremely helpful, offered to call Hertz to pick us up at the hotel so we could get our car !!! Rigo was at our side making sure we made it to our room and back downstairs until our ride came.
We had such a great experience with everyone we had contact with, it was amazing !!! We were able to visit the Concierge' lounge briefly and met Albert who was charming, giving us all sorts of idea's for the Scottsdale area! Albert is a true natural ~ Amazing personallity!
When our trip came to an end, we cancelled our reservations for our last night to be able to stay at the Rennaissance Phoenix Downtown again since the entire staff were so wonderful to us!
We would recommend The Rennaissance Phoenix Downtown to anyone and we plan to stay anytime we are in the Phoenix area !!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusiK00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thanks so much for your great review! We are so proud of every single Ambassador at the Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel! You were able to enjoy interactions with some of our best - I have passed along your kudos to Jenay, Tim, Rigo and Albert. They are totally stoked to been mentioned. Please be sure to stay with us again next time you're in Phoenix.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Attending a convention here for two days, I also wanted to experience Phoenix with what limited time I had available. The hotel is centrally located in downtown, but this is more of a "business" district or sports district depending upon the season, so venturing out is necessary if you want to experience more of this iconic southwest city. Fortunately, Jesse Perry the hotel's head concierge is an amazing asset for tourist and business travelers.

Jesse provided perfect recommendations for dinners and travels for the brief time I had available. More importantly, he knew the "inside scoop" and where NOT to go. If you stay here, he's your man!

Also, I checked in early and instead of making me wait until my room was ready, they upgraded me to a suite! Very nice, but don't expect this. This brings me to my only complaint, the suite was adjacent to a very noisy family with crying baby, yet I raised kids and have some understanding. The other issue is this resembles more of a modern business hotel instead of something with southwest charm or historic past.

Room Tip: Some very minor street noise is present for lower rooms from the light rail. No significant views to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thanks for staying with us! I'm glad you had an opportunity to hook up with Jesse, our lead Navigator - he is a bundle of knowledge about the downtown Phoenix area! We are indeed smack dab in the middle of all the great things downtown Phoenix has to offer - restaurants, theatre, sports venues, music, museums - and the list goes on. I hope you come back to visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

How often do you read a review centered on the valet services at a hotel? Especially one that is a bit pricey. And yet, of all of our lovely experiences during our stay at the Renaissance, none captures the essence better than the customer service delivered by the valet staff. Total efficiency done with genuine smiles and interest in your individual needs--which included one guest who needs a cane to walk. I would be totally remiss if I did not single out Chandel. Her managerial skills, and interest in ensuring that each person receives the very highest quality service, is unparalleled. Marriott's management team should take note and groom her to take on additional responsibilities.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cath137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

You are absolutely right about Valet often being overlooked in the compliment department, and thanks so much for acknowledging Chandel in your review. She is a go-getter for sure! Professional, considerate and all around bursting with customer service. She's thrilled that you took the time to recognize her. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

If you visit this Hotel, make friends with the Lobby Ambassador, Mr. Floyd Jones. This man goes out of his way to make you feel welcome and safe. He charm and manner exceed his position in the Hotel. I was so impressed with his willingness to help in any way he could. Even more he seemed that he did not do these services expecting a tip, he wanted to help, Any stay at this hotel, business or pleasure, this man is part of the experience. Mr. Floyd Jones, thanks for making me feel welcome during my 6 day stay at your hotel

Room Tip: High floor seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Floyd Jones is the face of the Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, that's for sure! Thanks for taking the time to write this review and to have it be about Floyd! He is sincere and genuine in his desire to assist and can make your stay better than you'd ever expect! Go Floyd!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed three nights and found the location to be perfect for downtown location including restaurants, US Airways Center where the Phoenix Suns play is probably 3 blocks away.
Room was clean a set up with additional request I had asked for. The pool is small but service including towels etc.,was Renaissance quality.
Parking was $27.00 a day of course with $5.00 tip each time you get your car.
Was there for a conference and thumbs up to the Catering effort, Marriott seems to have this
aspect down pat wherever you travel. (Some other hotels competition should take note if they are in Conference hosting that the Marriott Hotels I've been to in the last year have this down to a science.
Would stay again, enjoyed the meals, service and location

Room Tip: Surely a great location for a downtown hotel. Not sure who would offer a better location. My room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VaGoldVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thanks very much for taking the time to write such a great review for the Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel! Our Banquets and Event folks are as good as they get, and certainly set the standard in the industry. And we are smack dab in the middle of everything that's cool in downtown Phoenix! Lots to see and do while in our beautiful hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at the Renaissance for 2 quick nights on our way home from a Grand Canyon Trip. First of all, the hotel is beautiful, and we loved every moment we spent there. We got to the hotel around 9pm after driving 800 miles in 2 days and were exhausted. We walked up to the front desk and Jazzmin greated us with an energetic and peppy hello. She then congratulated us on our anniversary (our friend had called to let the hotel know, and spoke with Kyle who was so helpful) and let us know that we had been upgraded to a suite. Once we told her we were so thrilled they had a bar, after 800 miles in 2 days we needed a drink, she said she would be putting a credit on our room for a celebratory drink at their bar. We also asked her whether anything was going on at the US Airways Center during the weekend because we had no plans. She didn't even hesitate to look up the Suns playing the Nuggets. We headed up to our room, which was amazing. It was the perfect retreat for our anniversary. We spent the night drinking and eating in the lounge area which had top notch servers and great food. We were also surprised by a bottle of wine and an anniversary card sent up to our room. We would reccommend the Renaissance Phoenix Downtown to anyone because they truely went out of their way to make our experience one we will not forget. I've never been to a hotel were everyone was so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarinMSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Wow! What a great way to spend your anniversay! We're happy to have been able to help you enjoy your special celebration! Jazzmin and Kyle are absolutely wonderful and it sounds as if they took great care of you! They are shining examples of how the staff here at the Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel are the best in the biz! Thanks for staying with us, and we hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#24 of 174 in Phoenix
2,068 reviews
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#9 of 174 in Phoenix
839 reviews
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#17 of 174 in Phoenix
1,618 reviews
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#1 of 174 in Phoenix
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel

Address: 100 North 1st Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#13 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: £95 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an artful and memorable urban retreat when you book a stay at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel. We offer easy access to some of the city's finest attractions, including the Talking Stick Resort Arena (home of the Phoenix Suns), Chase Field (home of the Arizona Diamondbacks), Phoenix Zoo, Orpheum Theatre and Heard Museum. Plus, Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX) is just 4 miles from our front doors. Guest rooms at our hotel in downtown Phoenix, Arizona feature stylish decor, luxurious bedding, LCD TVs, premium bath amenities and spectacular cityscape views. Enjoy fine dining at our celebrated restaurants, and stay in shape at our state-of-the-art fitness center and heated rooftop pool. Discover style and comfort at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel. Please note that valet parking for the hotel costs $32 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Wyndham Phoenix
Phoenix Wyndham
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing