We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Concierge Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel
Ranked #14 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Concierge Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I recently stayed at this property for a conference. The staff was outstanding, especially the team in the Concierge Lounge. Helpful, Friendly, and just plain made you feel welcome there. Very enjoyable experience. I don't usually comment on hotels on sites like this, but this staff truly deserved kudos.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our great hotel! The Ambassadors in our concierge lounge, Elevate, are absolutely superb! We pride ourselves in the fact that all of our Ambassadors go above and beyond to make your stay the best it can be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    259
    74
    20
    10
See reviews for
69
117
32
486
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
214 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

My husband was attending a conference and I joined him. The members of the team at the hotel were fantastic. The club floor team went out of their way to help and the concierge gave me bus routes and great places to visit. Good downtown location

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank victoria_adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
How nice that you joined your husband during his conference and that you had an opportunity to explore the great city of Phoenix! Our concierge lounge staff and our Navigators are by far the best in the business - you were in wonderful hands! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando, florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed for a week at this property. With the exception of the front desk staff not accommodating my request for a quiet room and executive floor preference, the executive lounge staff, housekeeping, concierge, and other employees were the best Marriott employees I have encountered. thanks especially to Pamela in the Executive Lounge!

Without this experience with the support staff and the location of the property in relation to my meeting, I honestly would have left the hotel the first night due to the failure of this property to honor my simple request for a quiet room and location on the executive floor (I am Marriott Gold and have been since 2002). When I checked in, was told nothing was available and requested to be moved should something become available. The front desk person did not even acknowledge this request while I was checking in. I presume this is due to instructions that a specific member rate (somewhat discounted from the rack rate) means that, despite my status, I was to be placed "wherever" despite my request and profile.

During my stay, it was readily apparent and confirmed by housekeeping that the executive floor was in fact not full and so I cannot say with confidence that they really illustrated a desire to meet my expectations and my requests - perhaps for the economic reason(s) I indicated above.

On the plus side, the executive lounge customer service and choice of beverages and "meals" offered by this Renaissance was the absolutely - by far - best I have encountered for this Brand.

Room Tip: If you are light sleeper ask for a room facing north and as high as possible and AWAY from N Central...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rggsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
First and foremost, please accept our apology. Every experience you have while in our care should be as wonderful as the one you described while in our concierge lounge, Elevate. We are at this moment, looking into the situation surrounding your request for a room change. Should you want to speak to someone on property, our Director of Operations, Rooms is happy to talk to you. Jacob Wright 602-333-5131. Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott and we sincerely hope you'll give us another opportunity to WOW you as you should have been.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed last December and found the hotel to be very nice and modern, excellent staff very friendly, helpful and knowledgable. The location is great too as we went to the US Airways Arena a couple of times and also the Herberger Theatre both within walking distance.
My only negative would be the Fedex office and the outrageous charges for storing a few packages, $25.00 for an envelope, my total was well over $100.00 defeated the whole point of saving by shopping online.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MexEng72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We're so glad you chose us for your stay while in Phoenix! Our location is indeed perfect for all things 'downtown'! Music, sports, theatre, comedy clubs, night clubs - and the list goes on! Please come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel for a work trip. I had extraordinary service, especially in the form of Renault at the front desk. He made me feel welcome and greeted me every time I walked by. My room was spectacular and the meeting rooms were very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty R, Executve Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed such a wonderful stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I attended a meeting with 2 other colleagues last weekend. This was a wonderful setting for the meeting. The food service was outstanding and all of the staff were friendly and attentive.
The meeting room was comfortable (not too cold) with good acoustics.

The Navigator was so helpful and friendly, and directed us to a great restaurant. Kudos!!

The Desk staff also was helpful in arranging transportation when needed.

I would return to this hotel without hestitation.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the 5th floor terrace. There was a wedding reception one night, but the music was...
See more room tips
Green Features: no opinion about this -- seemed to be doing what other similar hotels are doing
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jllwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about our great property! I'm delighted you enjoyed your time with us when you were here for a meeting. We certainly hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We attended an event at the Comerica Theater and stayed at the Renaissance because it was nearby. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable. The sink area in the bathroom was roomy so we could both use it at the same time. We had an delicious evening meal of burgers and happy hour wine at the Icon Lounge. Rhonda, our server, is a gem - very attentive, helpful and delightful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martaz409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for this great review! Rhonda has been at this property for 38 years, and really knows how to help you enjoy your time at ICON! She has incredible stories to share - be sure to get her going next time you're with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#5 of 175 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#27 of 175 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#18 of 175 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#6 of 175 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel
Address: 100 N 1st St, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2302
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#13 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an artful and memorable urban retreat when you book a stay at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel. We offer easy access to some of the city's finest attractions, including the Talking Stick Resort Arena (home of the Phoenix Suns), Chase Field (home of the Arizona Diamondbacks), Phoenix Zoo, Orpheum Theatre and Heard Museum. Plus, Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX) is just 4 miles from our front doors. Guest rooms at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel feature stylish decor, luxurious bedding, LCD TVs, premium bath amenities and spectacular cityscape views. Enjoy fine dining at our celebrated restaurants, and stay in shape at our state-of-the-art fitness center and heated rooftop pool. Discover style and comfort at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel. Please note that valet parking for the hotel costs $32 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Wyndham Phoenix
Phoenix Wyndham
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing