We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot downtown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel
Ranked #14 of 173 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great spot downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

The staff here are very friendly and the rooms are very clean. There is a bit of construction going on but it is not an inconvenience. Very nice overall place to stay when downtown. The staff was also very helpful with food recommendations. Pomo right down the way serves great food!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jstdoeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Our Ambassadors are the best in the business and they are genuinely friendly and caring for our guests. The construction you mentioned, is the remodel of every guest floor corridor, and the addition of fridges and safes to all guest rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    251
    73
    19
    10
See reviews for
68
113
32
477
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim Hills, CAlifornia, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

First of all I have to say that I'm sure my stay would have been entirely different if not for the fact that Comic Con was at the convention center that weekend. Our hotel was pretty full and rather loud. We were initially put in very large suite and although the room was nice and clean, it was also very dated. But we asked to be moved because a group of 10 conventioneers were in the adjoining room. After some juggling the front desk was able to accommodate us. Aside from that our stay was without incident. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and I especially like the Concierge who they refer to as the "Navigator". He will assist you with any needs you may have during your stay. The pool level is resort quality and the gym is very nice. They only problem we had was that the elevators were always full and would bypass you completely.

Room Tip: All suites have adjoining rooms and you can hear the people in the next room as if you were just tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gladys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thanks for choosing the Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel! Our pool terrace is such a great place to relax and our fitness center is in a brand new space with state of the art equipment. I'm glad you were able to be moved to a more quiet part of the hotel. We were in a sold out capacity that week! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed at the Renaissance Phoenix Downtown while attending a volleyball tournament at the convention center. The hotel is very conveniently located to the convention center. I stayed on the concierge level, 19th floor. The room was very nice. It's the middle of summer, so the air conditioning had a hard time cooling the room lower than 69. That is probably the only slightly negative comment. The workout room was very nice with complimentary fruit and headphones. The breakfast buffet was excellent, both in terms of the decor of the restaurant and the quality of the food. The lobby bar is also very nice for an evening drink, snack or even dinner, though I still don't understand why the TV's are on either side of the bar vs. above the bar. The staff was very courteous and helpful. This is a very well run hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Aggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
I'm glad you had a chance to enjoy so many of our offerings! Our fitness center is state of the art, our breakfast buffet is out of this world and ICON Lounge is a very cool place to hang out in the evening for a drink and some socialization. Thanks very much for your great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night on our way to California. The rooms are clean and comfortable, small refrigerator for our drinks and such. Walking distance to Chase Field, convention center, restaurants such as the Hard Rock. Great price for the room however, Wi-Fi was not included nor parking which was $27. The swimming pool was rather small and on the 5th floor, not very inviting, the fitness center was large and very well cooled.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank EHffromTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thanks for choosing us while staying in downtown Phoenix! You're absolutely right about our location being fantastic for all the great things happening in downtown! We have just completed a renovation project where we have placed new fridges and safes in every guest room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, ON
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here for a convention just down the street and was impressed.

It was Comicon at the time as well, so the wait for the elevators and breakfast were a bit nuts, but the things I value most in a hotel were all there; very clean, good in house food and quiet.

The rooms are also up to date with their tech. I was able to connect my PC to the TV to stream my own Netflix.

Something to note: If you are travelling with others, the sink area is separate from the toilet & shower room. Depending who you are, this could be a pro or a con.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We're so glad you had a wonderful stay with us! Comicon is a crazy busy time, so thanks for your patience while we were at capacity!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
416 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Top shelf hotel. The "navigator" at the concierge desk is over the moon with perfect ideas for every dinner, drink or attraction need. Rooms are super clean and spacious. The entire staff was super accommodating with every request. We were attending a conference at this hotel and this was one of the very best!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
WOW! Top shelf - thank you very much! Our Navigators know downtown Phoenix better than anyone, and can suggest the very best in local finds! We sure hope you're able to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed in Room 502 for the June 2014 Phoenix Volleyball tournament. My favorite room during my stay in Phoenix: space, modern, near gym, quiet and restful. Worth the money and will definitely come back. Iʻve stayed in many 5 star hotels in the US and overseas for many years but received 6 star service from Michael, a superb ambassador from the fine state of Oklahoma. Take good care of him--he represents your hotel chain and the Phoenix hotel with utmost professionalism, pride and true quality customer service. We are one of his fans and customers. Well done and much mahalo/thank you.
Mr. S and family.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LS8822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thanks so much for choosing us while you were here for the Volleyball tournament! Michael is such a gem - we are lucky to have him! He enjoyed that you mentioned him. We sure hope you and your family come back to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#5 of 173 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#29 of 173 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#19 of 173 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#11 of 173 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel
Address: 100 N 1st Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#13 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an artful and memorable urban retreat when you book a stay at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel. We offer easy access to some of the city's finest attractions, including the Talking Stick Resort Arena (home of the Phoenix Suns), Chase Field (home of the Arizona Diamondbacks), Phoenix Zoo, Orpheum Theatre and Heard Museum. Plus, Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX) is just 4 miles from our front doors. Guest rooms at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel feature stylish decor, luxurious bedding, LCD TVs, premium bath amenities and spectacular cityscape views. Enjoy fine dining at our celebrated restaurants, and stay in shape at our state-of-the-art fitness center and heated rooftop pool. Discover style and comfort at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel. Please note that valet parking for the hotel costs $32 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Wyndham Phoenix
Phoenix Wyndham
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing