We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (949)
Filter reviews
949 results
Traveller rating
529
296
85
23
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
529
296
85
23
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvention centerthe concierge loungeloss preventionfront deskfifth floorwithin walking distancelobby bartwo blocksrooftop poolhotel is beautifulchase fieldbusiness tripattending a conferenceevery staff membercomfortable roomsper daylight rail
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
586 - 591 of 949 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

If you've got business in the heart of Phoenix, then this is a great place to say. The rooms are modern and slightly funky in a professional way, very well equipped with the latest electronics with very comfortable beds, sheets, towels, robes. If you're a Marriott rewards member (and you really should be!) wifi is free.

The concierge lounge on the 19th floor is exceptional - one of the best hotel lounge breakfasts I've ever had - try the bacon! The staff member - I believe his name is Ben - up there was super friendly.

Overall, staff are really welcoming and friendly up to par with any Renaissance I've stayed at. Great little coffee cart in downstairs lobby too!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SDTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

"slightly funky in a professional way" - I love it! We are certainly unique and proud to be called out! Ben is our lead concierge in Elevate Lounge and he and his team are the best in the business.And our illy coffee cart in the lobby has the best coffee you'll find downtown! Thanks so much for your great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a very nice Marriott hotel located in the heart of downtown Phoenix. The front-desk staff was very friendly and helpful, and management was very good as well. However we did experience a challenge with our reservation right from the start. The reservation system had mysteriously changed our reservation prior to our arrival resulting in there not being a room available for my colleague and I the 1st night. The manager bought our round of drinks at the bar while he worked on finding a solution to the problem. We ended up having to stay at a different hotel for the 1st night, but they did do a great job in explaining the situation, and lucky for them - we were willing to accept the inconvenience without much of a fuss. The following day I was impressed that the new manager and desk staff knew our names and that we were expecting our rooms to be ready. We eventually got our rooms, and we even got a very nice plate of cheese/crackers and apology letter delivered to the rooms that night.

The rooms are very nicely appointed, very clean, and comfortable bed. The restaurant was nice for breakfast, and the Icon bar in the lobby has excellent food as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BizDevRoadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

We appreciate your patience during the mix up with the reservation system. When a situation like that occurs, we are always on top of it immediately and do everything we can to ensure guest satisfaction. Thanks for hanging in there with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is a very nice hotel and it is in a good location if you are doing things downtown. All of the front desk employees were very helpful. Our room was nicely decorated and very clean, with plenty of towels, soap, shampoo, etc. in the bathroom. And, the bed was very comfortable.
We enjoyed a drink in the bar. The bartender was very friendly and knew how to make an excellent martini. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CMH162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us! It can be difficult to find an excellent martini but our bartenders at ICON Lounge make them that way every single time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Well done lobby and modern rooms, a very pleasant staff always asking if they can be of help. Great place to stay when you are in the downtown Phoenix area. The lounge and restaurant are also very good. The only thing needing of improvement is the pool area. Not a nice pool and they can do more with the space.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank emid43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

ICON Lounge and Marston's Cafe are indeed really wonderful places to eat and hang out when in downtown Phoenix. And our staff is the best you'll find anywhere! Thanks for the kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The staff here are very friendly and the rooms are very clean. There is a bit of construction going on but it is not an inconvenience. Very nice overall place to stay when downtown. The staff was also very helpful with food recommendations. Pomo right down the way serves great food!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank jstdoeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Our Ambassadors are the best in the business and they are genuinely friendly and caring for our guests. The construction you mentioned, is the remodel of every guest floor corridor, and the addition of fridges and safes to all guest rooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews