We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good Some bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport
Ranked #82 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Reviewed 10 February 2009

Well, this hotel did not quite live up to what I thought an Embassy Suites should be. Some of the staff was extremely friendly and accomodating, generally the staff during the day. The night staff was a little more hit and miss. We stayed a week on business. My room was exceptionally hot at night, and being on the second floor overlooking a parking lot, I did not want to leave my windows open. The AC did not work. On my last night I finally called to complain, at 10pm, and the "engineer" came with a fan. The hotel was nowhere near full, they could easily have moved me. Finally, when I couldn't lock my sliding door, I called again and was moved.

The hotel seemed reasonably clean, however, I developed a bacterial infection in my eyes (similar to pinkeye). It appears to be a 1970s apartment complex that was turned into a hotel--and not renovated in this century for sure.

The free breakfast is decent; the chefs who cook to order were all incredibly nice and efficient. The hotel restaurant was ok as well, nothing terrific.

The workout room was actually one of the nicest I have ever seen. Did not seem to fit with the rest of the facility.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelGal401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2008

The Embassy Suites has a great pool area, breakfast extraordinare and great suites. The rooms are large and have microwave, refrigerator and very comfortable. An outside entrance to pool and breakfast area. Specially prepared omelets, with a flair from the omelet artist are part entertainment and great tasting. We visited in December and there were people swimming in immaculate pool and hot tub surrounded by great landscaped. Grocery stores close and easy to find. Bed comfortable, showers well maintained. Easy to relax after a long day of travel, beautiful surroundings

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelerMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2008

I had to book a last minute business trip to Phoenix and selected this location. Of course, I was in a rush and did not check Trip Advisor before hand. After I read the reviews, I nearly cancelled my stay. I am so happy that I did not do that. This property really over delivered! Complimentary airport shuttle and complimentary local area shuttle was just so convenient. Don, the driver, was amazing, friendly and caring, who remembered every detail about where I was going, and took good care of me. The 2 lovely ladies at check in were friendly and ever so helpful. My suite was immaculate and quiet. The bed was one of the best and I slept better than I have in any hotel. Complimentary Breakfast and Evening Cocktail Gathering were excellent. Good coffee is my hot button and their coffee was pretty good! Every staff member except the person who checked me out, went over and above and seem to truly love their work. I wouldn't recommend taking a long walk in this neighborhood but I felt totally safe at the hotel. There is a 7/11 across the street which was fine. My suite had a refrigerator and microwave which was a great touch to store and heat up left overs. This property is 2 miles south of The Biltmore Shopping Center and the drivers will take you from door to door. I did not hear a sound at night so the construction was solid. Kudos to Embassy Suites on Thomas Road for delighting this very picky traveler.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpicynShellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2008

Did not expect an Embassy Suites to be so.....crummy (at $219/night). There is a sign in the lobby telling us how "excited" they are to announce renovations but I think "demolition" might be needed. The place is old--with lots of new, yellow (ugh) paint, but old nonetheless. My room was large (as expected) and had plenty of desk space (necessary for business work) and the kitchen was plenty adequate. There was a pall of shabbiness (painted big girl-room furniture in bedroom--puh-leeeeease) not brightened by the dim lighting. But there is plenty of brightness from the klieg lights in the parking lot that made me close my curtains even though I was on the top floor. Fitness room has been moved (no mention in the room-had to wander around to find it!) to a sleeping room with a bare bulb dangling from the ceiling. Would have found another hotel, but am only here for 2 days. Breakfast was excellent (as expected, and greatly appreciated).

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Motowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
embassysuites, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2009

Thank you for your review. I would like to inform you that since your stay at our property we have completed our NEW state of the art Precor Fitness Center. It contains the following equipment: 3 treadmills, 3 elliptical crosstrainers, 1 recumbent cycle, dumbells, leg sled, weight training system, 2 adjustable benches, ab x abdominal bench, strength trainer, stability balls, bosu balance trainer, medicine balls, foam rolles and streatch mats.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

Having booked this room awhile back without checking Tripadvisor first, I was dismayed when I finally read the reviews last week before our trip. Since it was too late to change anything we went ahead with out plans to stay at this hotel. We found that, yes, it's in an older neighborhood that is a bit run down in places. However, we never feared for our safety once. Security and hotel staff were always present in the parking lots and on the premises.

The front desk staff were helpful and kind. The morning chefs were fantastic and fun individuals. They took the time to help you with any requests you might have and were very cheerful in doing so. The pool area was clean and neat to see at night with the gas lamps that surrounded it.

The only major drawback to this hotel was it's age. Supposedly its going through a remodel, but I found that the aging property didn't reduce our satisfaction as a family of 6.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Hbmomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2008

It's actually a motel, and is located in a dangerous area. The motel is quite old and in need of a major overhaul or tear down. There was an airport shuttle and the staff was friendly and helpful. When I arrived it was 81 degrees, the hotel controls the heat/air for the entire building, the individual users can't. They didn't have the air on and the front desk gave me a fan after complaining. Even when air is on, it's still not that cold.

You have to drive everywhere to get out of the bad area. The pool and spa were nice and clean. The workout room consists of 3 treadmills.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
embassysuites, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2009

Thank you for your review. I would like to inform you that since your stay at our property we have completed our NEW state of the art Precor Fitness Center. It contains the following equipment: 3 treadmills, 3 elliptical crosstrainers, 1 recumbent cycle, dumbells, leg sled, weight training system, 2 adjustable benches, ab x abdominal bench, strength trainer, stability balls, bosu balance trainer, medicine balls, foam rolles and streatch mats.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2007

This is by far the worst hotel we've ever seen. SO much so that we left. It was dirty, rundown, and old, with mismatched and dirty furnishings. It's got a motel feel to it, with rooms opening to the outside center open courtyard and railings eveywhere you look, very dangerous set up for small children. We could not believe it was part of the Hilton family. The rate we had was $159/night. We left the same day, totally disgusted by the appearance and quality, and booked at the very nice airport Hilton for half the price.
The website photos are very, very deceiving. It was a nightmare of a place.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Boston25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Camelback East
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix Biltmore
Paradise Valley
Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix-Scottsdale
Camelback East
Hampton Inn Phoenix-Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Camelback East
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix - Biltmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport

Address: 2333 E Thomas Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85016-7827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range: £86 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only two and half miles from the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport and only two miles from Downtown Phoenix and the prestigious Biltmore Fashion Park. All of our Phoenix Airport hotel guests can take advantage of our 24-hour complimentary shuttle service to and from Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Phoenix Airport At 24th Street Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Phoenix Airport Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing