We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spring Training Weekend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Phoenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
Ranked #29 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Spring Training Weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Great hotel in central Phoenix! Comfortable, clean, efficient, safe and fun. Directly across from convention center, just up the street from DBack's stadium and Suns' arena. Plethora of restaurants and shops in the area, movie theatre, coffee shops. Self-park $12/night one block south of hotel. Hotel has helpful and courteous staff. Right in the middle of all spring training facilities - 30-40 minute drive in any direction. And at $139 prepay special it was a steal!

Room Tip: Higher level gives you great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank francis54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegencyPhoenix, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Phoenix, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Hyatt Regency Phoenix. I am glad you had a wonderful time during your Spring Training Weekend! We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    601
    324
    104
    52
See reviews for
167
216
86
1,121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Convenient location but the kind of hotel that feels stuffy. Check in was efficient but staff was officious and unfriendly. Had requested 2 beds and was told only our king room was available. Seemed odd as hotel was no where near capacity. Room was good size. Excellent quality toiletries. Bed was not that comfortable, with lumpy linens, and room was a little noisy through the night. Think it might have been because we were on the fourth floor right above the pool area. Didn't feel luxurious. Pool area, on 3rd floor, was in shade for the morning so we sat in the adjoining courtyard and enjoyed the sun. Ate supper in the lobby pub. Huge quantities and excellent food and the waitress was extremely helpful in providing directions. The hotel is feeling a little dated, especially in the common areas. Downside was the extra charge for internet and parking.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arenamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

wE TOOK OUR 11 YEAR OLD GRANSON TO phoenix FOR THE NASCAR RACE. tHE COMPANY WE USED FOR TICKETS, BUS TRAVEL FROM HOTEL TO RACE TRACK,
The l;ocation was great, many restaurants at hotel plus more close by. Room service was greatly appreciated after a full day at the racetrack.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4raisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegencyPhoenix, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Phoenix, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments about your Nascar weekend! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay while here at the Hyatt Regency Phoenix. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Good view on the 15th floor facing East. Unpacking when we arrived - only 5 hangers. Hard for one person, much less a couple to hang 5 nights of clothes on 5 hangers. Requested more and they brought 5 more. Made it work by doubling up clothes. Also, only one drawer for folded items - so my husband used the suitcase and I used the drawer.

Bedding was stiff, scratchy, and always coming untucked - mattress pad shifting made the bed lumpy. The baffled comforter had most baffles with little or no fill which was lumped as well. Towels worn thin with strings and bare spots in the terry - also scratchy. Only one easy chair to sit in even though the room was plenty large enough for 2. The finish was wearing off the chair and the upholstery was showing signs of wear.

Used coffee one morning and neither the coffee nor the cups replaced the rest of the stay. Also, in a high end hotel, why not a ceramic mug instead of paper?!? And, if you were a tea drinker, you had to call to request it. Also, even though we were out of our room by 8:30 every morning, our room was, except for one day, never cleaned until 4:30. And the toilet deck was not cleaned the entire time we were there. The first time I used it, I actuall took one of my own facial wipes and cleaned it myself. Also, would be nice to have a few more towels. The bath towels are small and only 2 to a room, so I couldn't wrap my hair and dry off and have one for left for my husband.

Went to the dining room for breakfast the 1st morning. Way overpriced for what you get. We chose the buffet for $15 and were told eggs cooked to order were an additional $3! Should have figured there was a problem when we saw the dining room nearly empty. The 2 staff at the buffet never even acknowledged our presence and were deeply involved in their own conversation. Never ate there again - instead went across the street for a better/bigger breakfast for a much better price. It was full - mostly Hyatt guests! Hyatt would be well served to review offering and pricing.

Pool was nice, but need more lounges. Workout room was nicely equipped and enjoyed headphone use. Also, when the concierge found out the taxi driver ripped us off on our trip from the airport ($25 - should have been $15), she gave us a voucher for the return trip. We appreciated that. Also, my husband brought the wrong charger for his phone and the desk provided him with a loaner. Again, we appreciated that. The common rooms on the first floor were very nicely appointed and there was water - one plain and one with fruit for subtle flavor. With that introduction to the hotel, we were surprised at the weariness & commonness of the guest room.

In our opinion, a hotel that bills itself as a luxury hotel and charges accordingly, should pay careful attention to the decor, details and amenities.

This is the first time we have stayed at a Hyatt - our convention was using it, so we felt it was the best option. Our hotels of choice have always been Hilton and Marriott properties. With this stay being disappointing, I think we will continue to be Hilton and Marriott customers. BTW, Marriott sheets are so luxurious, that in response to customer request, you can order them for use on your own bed!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chefmo502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is one of those hotels where you stay for a night or two and forget them immediately after check-out. There is nothing particular to complain about but there is nothing to remember either. The staff is friendly, as they should be. The rooms are "American" size, well equipped with a bit bizarre coffee/tea machine. But those paper cups!!! Why not china??? The bathroom is small compared with the room. The shower is over something what is too deep for a shower tray and much too shallow for a tub. What's the point? Both room and bathroom are reaching the point when refurbishment would do. I have tried the breakfast once only and it was awful!!! I wanted to drink Domestos to get a rid of grease in my digestive system. Don't go there! On the positive side, there is a really good bar with nice relaxed atmosphere. Another good point is on-line check out. Very helpful and saves time. The location is good, fairly close to the airport and Downtown main attractions. Overall, good, average place to sleep, lacking atmosphere. Not the place where you want to come back to but you probably will for its convenience.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zibby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Two Harbors, Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

First the good things: I really liked the decor of the hotel, both in the common areas and in the rooms. The openness of the lobby area was especially nice. The location is great; a number of dining and entertainment options are within walking distance and it's right across the street from the convention center,

The front desk staff was friendly, helpful and engaging. My room was extremely quiet, the bed, sheets, pillows and towels were fine. The internet was okay and my room had a nice little balcony with chairs and table and a pleasant view.

The hotel was heading toward a higher rating when on the last day of my stay, the housekeeping crew decided to skip my room-- unmade bed, no fresh towels, nothing. I got to the hotel in the evening and really didn't want to bother trying to get someone up to do the room.

And... most of the walls in the room were covered with wallpaper. The little bit that was painted had this black smudgy stuff on it, especially in the corners and where the wall met the ceiling. Seemed odd that a hotel charging these rates couldn't get the walls scrubbed or some fresh paint applied.

All-in-all a nice hotel, but the housekeeping crew needs to hit all the rooms and the walls needs some attention.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegencyPhoenix, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Phoenix, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Hyatt Regency Phoenix. I am happy to hear that the decor, location, and staff were excellent. I was concerned to hear that you had an unfortunate experience with housekeeping. I want to ensure you that daily cleanings are the standard and I apologize your room was missed. We hope that you understand this mishap and will return to the Hyatt Regency Phoenix to have a more smooth and pleasant trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Location:- excellent for convention center, downtown bars and restaurants and nearby Chase Stadium and US Airways arena.

Transportation:- public transport tram a couple of blocks away. Worked well for the whole trip.

Check-in and check-out:- stress free. Friendly staff at check-in. Automated check-out (no queue).

Property - common areas are modern and well maintained. Lovely lobby, inviting common area...

Bars and restaurants:- Einstein Bagels (great service, food/drink as expected). Networks - great happy hour. Staff not particularly friendly. Compass restaurant - miserable staff and terrible, over-priced food. Steak was the worst steak I have eaten in the States. Lots of other decent restaurants nearby (Squid Ink for sushi/noodles is wonderful).

Room - looks good. Amazing view over the mountains. Bed comfortable. Safe fitted MacBook (plus other items). Heating control good. However, shower dark (light in bathroom is small, and other side of shower curtain - either flood your bathroom or shower in the dark!). Bath did not drain (every day - and housekeeping were aware but this was never resolved). Walls thin and noisy plumbing (woken up by neighbours using their bathrooms every-day - loud pipe noise). 5 coat hangers and 1 drawer for cloth storage. Room looking generally worn.

Other - lovely garden area on Level 3 (near but away from pool) and sofa area on 2nd floor is great area to meet friends/work in a common area. Internet speed fine for sending and receiving e-mails/updating Facebook. Never had to wait long for an elevator (even at breakfast time!).

Overall a positive experience, let down by the Compass restaurant and some issues within the room.

Room Tip: I was in 1435 and had a great view of the mountains....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cacti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#5 of 174 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#20 of 174 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Phoenix

Property: Hyatt Regency Phoenix
Address: 122 N 2nd St, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2379
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#29 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#37 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#51 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Phoenix 3.5*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate destination for business or pleasure in the city's dynamic downtown area. A towering 8-story atrium provides an inspiring atmosphere perfect for events of all types and sizes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hyatt Regency Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Phoenix
Hyatt Regency Phoenix Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing