We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Softball Tournament Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Downtown North
Ranked #32 of 173 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We arrived at the hotel late at night from San Diego because we were competing in Phoenix for a softball tournament. The front desk notified us that we would have to be moved to the Hilton Garden Inn down the street because they had a maintenance issue and were sold out. I work at a hotel and I understand this sometimes happens. Our softball manager just had the four of us sleep on their sofa beds for that night and the hotel comped OUR ENTIRE STAY for us! Wow! I wasn't expecting them to give us anything but they were so generous! The hotel is very nice and all interior so rain or shine (I'm sure it doesn't rain much in Arizona) you can enjoy the pool and the bar. It is very centrally located and close to the light rail so you can travel to nearby areas for food and clubs. The only thing I was disappointed about, which I can't complain much because I stayed for free, is that they didn't have a complimentary breakfast for their guests. If I was on business and had to pay 15 dollars for the breakfast buffet that wouldn't be helpful if I was on the go.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adkin0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 773 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

The hotel is nice, but it appears that it was once an Embassy Suites -- has the open atrium design. Front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. Soon after arriving in room -- which was very large, nice and clean (but odd smell), the fire alarm went off. I opened door (11th floor) to smoke. Went down 11 flights of stairs to find out staff had caught table clothes on fire by sternos (setting up for a banquet.)
Breakfast buffet--quick, average (but hot) food. Dinner restaurant should be avoided, very salty food, not pleasant in presentation and very expensive.
Would definitely go back there for business. (Not close to a lot.)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShelbyJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This hotel is a little older, but well maintained and the rooms are very comfortable small suites, with a refrigerator and microwave. Even though it is a central city hotel, the way the building is positioned on the block made it very quiet, at least in our 10th floor room. Some reviewers have mentioned that they believed it used to be an Embassy Suites, I dont know about that, but it is definitely similar with a large open atrium in the center and glass elevators up and down. The location is a block away from the light rail station, so makes a quick, easy inexpensive trip to the sports venues and other downtown locations. We were here for a diamondbacks series. It has a interior pool with adjoining fitness room. The fitness room is well equipped for this type of hotel, with 3 treadmills and an eliptical, a bicycle, and a weight machine. We only had breakfast at the central atrium patio restaurant, but it was good and reasonably priced. If there is any downside there is not an abundance of other eateries within walking distance. The price we obtained through hotwire was very reasonable for a suite.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BongoColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

A very nice hotel, somewhat similar to an Embassy Suites (except that breakfast is not included unless you are Hilton Gold or Diamond). I found the room to be large (separate living room and bedroom, with a fairly large bathroom) and experienced no noise problem. Wireless internet costs $9.95/day unless you are Gold or Diamond. My room was close to the point of needing a facelift (wallpaper and carpet getting dated), but the room was clean and comfortable. The buffet breakfast was also good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaintLouisTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Excellent hotel! The rooms were the best. Seperate bedroom and living room area. Large desk for working, small fridge, and small microwave. Very quiet and peaceful. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Oh yeah, big bathroom with large closet for hanging clothes.

Room Tip: Rooms on Thomas Road are sunny and have view of downtown Phoenix.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

While this hotel may be located a distance from the convention center area- the shuttle service made it so easy to go back and forth to the convention center multiple times a day. Our favorite shuttle driver was Johnny... He really knew a lot about Phoenix and recommended some great things to do.

The hotel itself was very pretty. The glass elevators make the mundane activity of riding an elevator a breathtaking adventure. There were so many pretty plants in the hotel and they were real plants. The koi pond was very calming to look at.

Hotel gym was pretty small, but they had passes to a larger gym if you were interested. I didn't go because I was happy with the cardio machines located on-site.

The rooms were very comfortable. Having all of that space made the stay very relaxing for two colleagues to share the room while attending the convention.

Everyone at the front desk was really helpful and kind. They recommended some great restaurants within the shuttle range too.

I would definitely stay here again. This was a great experience and home away from home for the five nights I was there.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the more you get to ride in the pretty elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

All rooms in this hotel face an open atrium (like an Embassy Suites, which it may have been at one time). The noise from the atrium and corridors is not blocked very well by the room door and it is very distracting. To make things worse, the hotel is frequently host to high school groups (cheer leaders, debaters, etc.) For 5 of 7 days we were there, we were inundated with teenagers who made the hotel their personal playground (with no security in sight).

I must say that the employees of the hotel worked very hard to see that we were satisfied. Unfortunately, the hotel's business model of hosting high school groups doesn't make this very possible.

We will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Tip: If you do stay here, make sure that your room is not adjacent to the elevators. Avoid that xt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Deer Valley
Drury Inn & Suites Phoenix Happy Valley
Encanto
Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Mountain
Comfort Suites Phoenix North
Comfort Suites Phoenix North
#102 of 173 in Phoenix
134 reviews
Camelback East
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix Biltmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Downtown North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Downtown North

Address: 10 E Thomas Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85012-3114 (Formerly Hilton Phoenix Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Encanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#25 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#31 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: £125 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Downtown North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in for a relaxing stay at our Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Downtown North hotel. Located in the city's midtown/downtown Central Corridor, we are just seven miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX) and two miles from the Phoenix Convention Center. Start your day with a free made-to-order breakfast. Relax in a two-room suite with a private bedroom and a separate living room with a sofa bed, perfect for families or business travelers. Amenities include complimentary WiFi, sofa bed, wet bar, mini refrigerator, microwave and 55-inch flat-screen TV. Stay active with a workout in our fitness center or take a dip in the indoor heated pool. Stay productive in our business center or host a meeting or special event in our 2,100 sq. ft. flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Downtown North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Suites Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Phoenix
Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Hilton
Embassy Suites By Hilton Phoenix Downtown North Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing