We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basically room and bath were clean. Mattress was too soft...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area
Ranked #123 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    80
    96
    97
    121
See reviews for
135
93
83
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We did not stay here but used the park and fly option. Yes, we saved $$ on parking but we did NOT receive a reserved parking space and paid to park in a open area to the public. It left us concerned about the safety of our vehicle and the staff seemed unconcerned. We will not park there again. Why do they collect cash for parking spaces they do not own?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huachucakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
821sandy, General Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
When you picked up your car, it was safe, right? The parking space was on our property, and we keep a watchful eye on all our parked cars. Thank you for your concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
134 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

No complaints about the room. It was clean, quiet and the bed was comfortable. The only reason I did not rate it higher was due to the check in. I made my reservation through Kayak and it was for the park and stay option. The girl at the desk said her reservation only showed the hotel stay and that I would have to pay for the parking.

I then showed her the printed copy which clearly stated it was park and stay. she looked at it and then said, "I'll let it go this time" as if it were my fault and she was doing me a favor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank kimjady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
821sandy, Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Only Howard Johnson website has the park and fly package and guest did not have a park and fly package through kayak this why guest was asked to pay for parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I was not expecting much but found the hotel if fine.
Good things: Served breakfast at 4 am. I am from eastern shore and was really happy to hear that they started to serve breakfast at 4. am.
Reception service fine. Asked the reception to arrange for a taxi and got within 10 min.
Bad things:
The rooms were little smelly..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Customer954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
821sandy, Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Econo Lodge Airport
#82 of 174 in Phoenix
423 reviews
Central City
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North
Camelback East
Hampton Inn Phoenix-Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Residence Inn Phoenix Airport
Camelback East
Aloft Phoenix-Airport
Aloft Phoenix-Airport
#47 of 174 in Phoenix
619 reviews
Sleep Inn Airport
#113 of 174 in Phoenix
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area

Property: Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area
Address: 4120 E van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85008-6912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson Airport Downtown offers free 24 hour shuttle service to and from Sky Harbor International Airport, free 24h. shuttle to from Airport. which is less than a mile away, and is located three miles from downtown Phoenix, Tempe and Scottsdale. For your pleasure, there is an outdoor pool with relaxing lounge area. Guests can enjoy a complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast from 4:00am until 9.00am. Our wonderful breakfast consists of "Make Your Own Waffles", 3 types of Kellogg Cereal, 2 types of Minute Maid Juices, fresh fruit, Maxwell House fresh coffee, & much more......The hotel Business Center has fax and copy capabilities as well as a computer and printer, and complimentary wireless high speed internet. The hotel offers ice and vending machines, free parking, free 1-800 calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Airport Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Ramada Hotel Phoenix
Ramada Motel Phoenix
Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing