We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
UK
Level Contributor
585 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

This is our second stay at The Royal Palms Resort and Spa this year. The closure of T Cooks has had an impact on the standard of food available, perhaps the new opening will herald better days. The service we received from the valet staff, the housekeeping team and the pool staff was exemplary. The resort is a little oasis in Phoenix, with being so close to Scottsdale and the Biltmore area it is an ideal location. We will probably return early next year.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AUKTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,116
    233
    91
    44
    17
See reviews for
202
735
69
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
185 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is a unique beautiful resort with lots of garden paths and trees and fountains(10) and a delightful southwest/Spanish feel to it. There are a wide variety of rooms, suites, and casitas...all nicely furnished.(see note below about rooms). The staff is friendly and helpful. The were making do with a small restaurant, while totally remodeling the main restaurant and bar. We throughly enjoyed ourselves.
We had a number of spa massages. The quality was very uneven, from very good, to the type of person who does more rearranging than massaging. The spa facility is very nice.
I suspect the new restaurant and lounge will be a big hit, though peeking through the window, I am not sure about the modern parts.
Overall I would say that you cannot go wrong here and will definitely have a very memorable time.

Room Tip: all the rooms are a little on the dark side, and some small and some odd arrangements, so make yours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saintjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My husband and I live in the Phoenix metro area and wanted a little relaxation time. We took a few days "staycation" at Royal Palms Resort and Spa. This beautiful location at the southern base of Camelback Mountain and the close proximity to activities and shopping in Scottsdale encompass the best of everything.
We immediately noticed two distinct features of the property. The grounds are immaculate with an abundance of greenery; everywhere on the grounds there are places to sit and read, relax, or just enjoy the setting. Choose from a table by the pool, an umbrella table by a fountain/pool, comfortable benches by the fire pit, or one of many little nooks with seating. My favorite nook was just west of the pool --- a wooden bench with a padded seat and throw pillows, a fountain, and much greenery.
According to another poster, we missed a special dining experience because the T. Cook Restaurant is being renovated. No, we did not miss a special dining experience. We loved the Cervantes Bistro. It is housed in a comfortable, enjoyable setting and, though the menu was somewhat limited, we had delicious food and great service.
Our room was in the Montavista building. We were right by the pool and spa. Some previous reviewers commented on traffic noise. Our room faced Camelback Road and it was absolutely no problem. Camelback Road is busy, but not noticeably loud. Late at night it was almost deserted.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and foresee another relaxing get-a-way "staycation" to Royal Palms.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights in early Sep 13 needing some r&r at the end of a long roadtrip. The hotel is perfect in every way - relatively small but with every convenience. The staff are really nice, the rooms are great. We had a room with a patio where we made our own breakfast in the mornings (cereals, yoghurt etc). The pool and pool area are really lovely, as are the grounds in general. The hotel is technically in Phoenix, but actually much closer to downtown Scottsdale than many Scottsdale resorts are. all in all, worthy of #1 spot on TripAdvisor. Russell Barash & family

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marubenjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This property is among the most beautiful I have ever visited. This historic hotel has traditional rooms, individual casitas and villas. We stayed in a casita with spectacular decor and amenities. There are no bad rooms. The casitas offer a bit more privacy though. The architectural details, works of art and general ambiance of the property transports you to Mexico in another time. The view of Camelback Mountain is gorgeous. The service was equally great. Attentive and highly professional. The general atmosphere is laid back. The signature restaurant was closed for renovation but will soon reopen with a new menu, new decor and new regular live music. As locals, this was a "staycation" for us. For people visiting the area, I highly recommend this property. Its close to Scottsdale, downtown, golf and good hiking (not in summer!). I am looking forward to the new mixologist and restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyAZ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Staff was amazing & at my service 2 accommodate my needs. They were quick to comp me in my unfortunate circumstances, but after a 4 day stay, this became a pain for both myself and the staff, as it was 1 thing after another. Unfortunately this place was a disaster! Place under construction, smoke alarms firing off, bugs in room, ordered food & 90 mins later find out it never went through. 24 hour pool with no towels " they ran out " expired beer in room fridge. The restaurant was closed ( we were never informed prior 2 booking ) so the only dinner choices for 4 days were steak OR salmon! Literally 2 dinner choices!!! VERY limited menu, with very little staff. We always waited at least an hour to get our order. Maybe after they complete construction & hire more employes this place with be amazing, but the lack of staff, infestation of bugs in my room and the disorganization is enough for me not to return ESPECIALLY bc the prices are very high, so you'd expect that this place would be cleaner then your local motel 6

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshleeAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

My partner and I needed a get away where we could unwind relax and be pampered for a long weekend
We selected the Royal Palms from trip advisor reviews and pics. From the moment we arrived we realized that we had made the right choice. The staff excelled at making us feel at home comfortable and relaxed. Our private villa was perfect spotless and the bed amazing
The housekeeping staff was beyond amazing always keeping up with our needs without asking.
The pool was lovely and intimate and again the staff excelled at learning what we liked and anticipated our every need
This is a place that is truly magical and rejuvenating -the grounds are spectacular and perfectly manicured
I can not say enough about the staff at this hotel

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank samjacobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Property: Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Address: 5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018-3020
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Palms Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manor of Taste, Royal Palms provides an engaging and unforgettable journey for all senses. Built in 1929, this enchanting Spanish Mediterranean mansion offers 119 artfully appointed casitas, estate rooms and villas. On every stroll through winding cobblestone pathways guests will discover romantic nooks, crackling fireplaces and splashing courtyard fountains. Intimate and tranquil, Alvadora Spa indulges the senses with natural beauty and the finest spa amenities. T. Cook's crafted, thoughtful and bold approach to food, complemented with The Mix Up bar's inventive mixology, is yet another reason to make Royal Palms a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Phoenix
Royal Palms Resort And Spa Phoenix, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing